Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mooning over the Serrano Legacy
Heris Serrano was an officer born of a long line of officers. A life serving in the ranks of the Regular Space Service was all she had ever known or wanted - until a treacherous superior officer forced her to resign her commission. This was not just the end of a career path; it was the end of everything that gave her life meaning.

Heris finds employment as...
Published on 7 Mar 2011 by sjhigbee

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but uneven
I'm in general a Moon fan - I really liked the 5-volume Vatta series - and books that spark lots of successors (there are two Serrano trilogies) are usually good value. I've sort of enjoyed this one, but I've found it easy to put down when another book grabbed my attention.

The basic plot is that a woman space commander has to leave the Service after falling...
Published on 4 Oct 2009 by Nicholas Palmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mooning over the Serrano Legacy, 7 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: The Serrano Legacy: Omnibus v. 1 includes Hunting Party, Sporting Chance, & Winning Colours. (Paperback)
Heris Serrano was an officer born of a long line of officers. A life serving in the ranks of the Regular Space Service was all she had ever known or wanted - until a treacherous superior officer forced her to resign her commission. This was not just the end of a career path; it was the end of everything that gave her life meaning.

Heris finds employment as `Captain' of an interstellar luxury yacht. Being a rich old woman's chauffeur isn't quite the same as captaining a Fleet cruiser, but nothing Heris will ever do again could compare with that. Or so she thinks. For all is not as it seems aboard the Sweet Delight.

And there you have it - in next to no time, Moon has swept you up into Heris Serrano's adventure as this sympathetic, well rounded protagonist leaps off the page with just the right mix of spikiness and vulnerability. Moon also excels at pacing, alternating the building tension with the action, so that I didn't want to put this down - but read far into the small hours to get to the end of this blockbuster. Each story is sufficiently self contained so that if you're not fortunate enough to have these books back to back, I think you would still be able to read them out of sequence and quickly find your bearings - a trick that many other writers seem unable to successfully manage.
This series of books was written back in the early 90's, but Orbit's smart move in reprinting this omnibus edition proves their pedigree because these novels wear their age well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than competent scifi, 27 Jan 2009
This review is from: The Serrano Legacy: Omnibus v. 1 includes Hunting Party, Sporting Chance, & Winning Colours. (Paperback)
Whilst the Serrano Legacy Omnibus v1 isn't about to win any literary prizes, it's a competent enough story with sufficient twists, turns and enough character development to keep you turning the pages.

It's basically a Girls Own Story where Heris gets her man (in both senses); in difference to other hard sf, there is much more concentration on the characters rather than tactical situations. After reading far too much Peter F Hamilton (good at hard sf/tactical situations, pathetic characterisation) this was a breath of fresh air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but uneven, 4 Oct 2009
By 
Nicholas Palmer "Nick Palmer" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Serrano Legacy: Omnibus v. 1 includes Hunting Party, Sporting Chance, & Winning Colours. (Paperback)
I'm in general a Moon fan - I really liked the 5-volume Vatta series - and books that spark lots of successors (there are two Serrano trilogies) are usually good value. I've sort of enjoyed this one, but I've found it easy to put down when another book grabbed my attention.

The basic plot is that a woman space commander has to leave the Service after falling out with a psychotic superior officer, and takes up an apparently humiliating job as the captain of an elderly woman's luxury yacht. However, the yacht turns out to have been used for smuggling, so there are uses for her military training, and she gradually builds a relationship of respect with her employer which takes her into unfamiliar terrain. The "hunting party" is ostensibly a fox-hunt on a planet designed for such recreation (ugh), but the psychotic admiral turns out to have organised a manhunt of the captain's former crew nearby, with dramatic consequences.

It's well-written, full of ideas, and rich in nuanced characters. But it's also unfocused. One moment we're dealing with smugglers and pirates, next with the thought processes of a young girl caught up in the manhunt. There's quite a lot about riding, rather more than about spaceships. It's readable and there's lots to read, so it's probably a good bargain, just not her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Serrano Legacy, 4 Jun 2011
By 
W. Barrie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Serrano Legacy: Omnibus v. 1 includes Hunting Party, Sporting Chance, & Winning Colours. (Paperback)
I bought this book having enjoyed Moons Paladdin stories and thoroughly enjoyed all three of the stories,the female hero is a recuring theme of the authors work and is again very well handle and quite believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous series, 26 Jan 2007
By 
R. Plachcinski "stroppy_brunette" (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Serrano Legacy: Omnibus v. 1 includes Hunting Party, Sporting Chance, & Winning Colours. (Paperback)
The Serrano Legacy is a fabulous series which I reread on a regular basis. This omnibus carries the first three stories, which focus on Heris Serrano, a career officer who also has a long family history in Spacefleet. I know nothing about military life, battle tactics or spaceflight, but all is believeable and the battle scenes are gripping. I know quite a bit about horses, and Heris' introduction to hunting and eventing by her 'eccentric' employer is equally believable. The supporting cast is also excellent, from Heris' former Spacefleet crew to Cecilia, her new employer, and Cecilia's host of friends and relations. Watch out for Bubbles, who in the first story is something akin to Paris Hilton, but undergoes amazing character development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ravens, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read this book now close to 10 times and it's still one of the best reads around. Ms Moon has lad the framework for a rich and massive universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too much horsing around, 22 Mar 2014
By 
Couchgrouch (Birmingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Serrano Legacy: Omnibus v. 1 includes Hunting Party, Sporting Chance, & Winning Colours. (Paperback)
Well it seem severyone liked it, so I will be the fly in the ointment.

To quote the author herself: "On the shuttle ride down to the planet she heard nothing but horse talk...what it didn't make, she thought to herself, was interesting conversation."

Precisely! I bought a Science Fiction book to read, you know, science fiction, not something that could have been written by Dick Francis. Way too much horsey stuff.

The characters were mosly fine, though the bad guys stood out like sore thumbs, even if Serrano and Co couldn't see it. Auntie C however was so incredibly annoying that I took a star off my rating because of her.

As for the space battle at the end - weak, very weak; from the mutiny to the home-made mines and the shuttle attack, none of it seemed at all plausible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love love reading this series, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first came across Elizabeth Moon's books about 5 years ago, and still enjoy reading them. Now I'm building a digital library how could I not include this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fanstatic, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As ever with Moon great writing hard to put down and love the books in omnibus. Hard to put down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Expert, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to meet a female officer who knows exactly what she's doing and why, but isn't trying to be a man. Wonderful read - if Sci-fi can be said to be realistic, this is the real thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Serrano Legacy: Omnibus v. 1 includes Hunting Party, Sporting Chance, & Winning Colours.
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews