Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting back on track...
.......I hated having to wait to read this, but my kids seemed to think feeding them was more important!!

This was a very welcome return to moving Anita's story onward - the powers she is growing, the reason behind some of the Vampire rules, and hearing about 'Harlequin' - the Vamp police. I really enjoyed reading this - for some time I have been able to pick...
Published on 30 Jun 2007 by Skargasm

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the last few..
I have remained loyal to LKH despite deploring her last 3 or so books and feeling that she had lost her way slightly, I am glad that I did as this book was a return to form for me. Whilst admittedly this book is not as good as her early works, I was pleased that the plot was more robust and that some of the more interesting storylines came back into play. Anita as a...
Published on 29 Jun 2007 by Clare


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the last few.., 29 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Harlequin: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter: Volume 14 (Hardcover)
I have remained loyal to LKH despite deploring her last 3 or so books and feeling that she had lost her way slightly, I am glad that I did as this book was a return to form for me. Whilst admittedly this book is not as good as her early works, I was pleased that the plot was more robust and that some of the more interesting storylines came back into play. Anita as a character is still probably the least likeable in the book for me though so the books will have to remain on form to keep me reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A definate improvement, but not a return to form for Hamilton, 26 Aug 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Harlequin: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter: Volume 14 (Hardcover)
Despite my increasing dissapointment with the Anita Blake series I decided to buy the latest book. The first 9 books in the series are still to this day some of the most enjoyable supernatural/fantasy books I have ever read and I must have read them at least a dozen times each. What really hooked me was Hamiltons ability to write really sexy male characters and then build massive amounts of tension between them and Anita. With the introduction of the "arduer"- a need for Anita to feed through sex rather like a vampire feeds on blood - the series rapidly spiralled into barely disguised porn with very little plot.

So I was pleasently surprised with "The Harlequin" which had a great deal more plot than the last couple of books at least. This book was also much better edited than the last one, although I was confused to find that the name of one character kept changing between "Mercia" and "Columbine" in what I can only assume was an editing mistake since one doesn't appear to be an abbreviation of the other.

Some disspointments in this book are that Dolph Storr (head of RIPIT the supernatural police division) is now truly a one dimensional character. He was quite dynamic and strong in the early books and now all he does is turn up in these books to demand a list of how many monsters Anita is currently shagging and then having a temper tantrum. Jason makes an appearence in name only and Hamilton makes a great deal of pages from the same tired themes that are brought out with each book. Anita's worried she's sleeping with too many men, she's upset that the police don't like her anymore, she's upset by Richard.....it really feels like Hamilton is getting very repetitive to sell more books when really she ought to have put this series to bed by now (no pun intended).

So am I recommending this book then? For die-hard fans it's at least more readable than the last two. For newcomers to Anita, I advise you to rush out and buy the first 9 books and then pretend the rest of these didn't happen. You really wouldn't be missing a whole lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting back on track..., 30 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Harlequin: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter: Volume 14 (Hardcover)
.......I hated having to wait to read this, but my kids seemed to think feeding them was more important!!

This was a very welcome return to moving Anita's story onward - the powers she is growing, the reason behind some of the Vampire rules, and hearing about 'Harlequin' - the Vamp police. I really enjoyed reading this - for some time I have been able to pick up and put down the Anita stories and not worry too much. This one I had to read in one sitting because I wanted to find out what happened.

It was fab to see how Peter is getting on, and how honest his feelings/reactions to what happened to him. And strange though it may seem, it was good to see Olaf back as well. The sheer menace of his character is amazing.

Some bits made me smile - who is bigger than who between Micah and Richard, whilst other bits made me sad because deep inside I always wanted Richard to get over himself and be with Anita properly.

A really good book, and am happy to say I await the next Anita story with true anticipation. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On the up (no spoilers), 13 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Harlequin: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter: Volume 14 (Hardcover)
Having been slightly disappointed with recent offerings in this series Harlequin was a welcome improvement. I really enjoyed the story and there was enough plot to keep me turning the pages. With the AB books being written in the first person you are always going to have a certain amount of content dealing with the character's thoughts and issues. As to the changes of other characters I can only offer the observation that none of us remains the same as time passes. We are all shaped to some extent by our life experiences so it is unlikely that any one character is going to be exactly the same book after book. I personally feel that the writer is back on track and I am looking forward to the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better but still far from LKH's best, 12 Jun 2007
By 
G. Jones (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Harlequin: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter: Volume 14 (Hardcover)
As the previous reviewers noted there is less sex than in the other recent Anita books. There is more of a plot than the previous novel but the book still lacks the detective aspect that I enjoyed so much in the early novels.

Anita is once again the object of desire for every male she comes into contact with, Anita is once again gaining in powers at a ridiculous rate. The book was readable and in parts enjoyable it is still too heavy on the Anita-worship and there are too many characters in play at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Still not what it used to be!!, 16 Nov 2007
By 
P. Armstrong "parmstcoco" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Harlequin: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter: Volume 14 (Hardcover)
I believe this is the final nail in the coffin for me. If you've read the last few books, well its the same again, richard is a pain in the arse, anita sleeps a bunch of men and theres a crisis bla bla bla.
However it is better than the last two books, bit more story and a bit less sex. Nothing on the first, say, nine books.
My big issue with this is how anita has developed and has become so difficult to like, i don't see where laurell will be going with this. Ugh nevermind, i recommend this to people who have enjoyed the last few books. If you are new to this DO NOT start here! and avoid at all costs going past number 10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than some, still too much sex, 24 Sep 2007
By 
Wyvernfriend (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Harlequin: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter: Volume 14 (Hardcover)
I'm not a prude, I like a bit of sex in a story if that drives the story forward or adds in some way to character development. This series seems to have thrown away character development in favour of sex scenes or angsting about sex.

This isn't to say that there isn't some plot in the book (phew!) but I felt a great urge to kill several characters or slap them until they woke up.

Several of the male characters are just blending into a few cliches and it's becoming to be a situation where I can't understand why some of the other master vampires haven't just nuked St Louis to get rid of this monumentally powerful person who is threatening everyone.

Despite the angst and the paper-thin characters this does feature Edward, for which it can be forgiven lots, and he isn't completely destroyed as a character.

Interesting but it's really getting to the stage of being repeditive and lacks a push to keep it going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Returning to form, 2 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Harlequin: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter: Volume 14 (Hardcover)
The Harlequin, while not on par with Guilty Pleasures, sees a good return to form for LKH. In the previous few books the ardeur seemed to be more important than character growth and plot lines.

Thankfully, The Harlequin is back to a more plot based journey and sees Anita learning more about herself and her abilities gained through her two triumvirates. While the Ardeur is still part of Anita she now has complete control over it for the most part and can chose to let it feed.

That's not to say there is no sex, however, it is still part of the series but at least in this book it is more intertwined with the plot than sex for the sake of sex.

If you were a fan of the earlier books this is definitely back on par with them and has left me looking forward to the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time for an end to Anita?, 30 Jun 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hmmm, when I saw the low star rating on this one I wanted to balance it out and add some stars because I enjoyed it. But first I read the other reviews and, to be honest, I agree with them.

There is too much pointless, plot-less sex in the books (since about book 9) and now any storyline is stuffed behind Anita 'thinking' about sex, relationships and other general moaning. It's not that much fun to read yet read it we (fans) all still do. I finished the book really quickly and I do love all the characters and the politics, but where's the Goddamned story?!?!!? The books are never as good as the early plot driven novels - One thing I get really annoyed at is Anita's immense powers that never seem to amount to much. A sign of dragging the series out too long maybe?

I know that here on amazon.co.uk we're British and maybe sex isn't something we're totally hindged on (The american reviews often praise the sex) and I have to say the sex in the Merry Gentry books is perfectly pitched - I really enjoy that, but we're only on book 6 there, by book 14 that too may not be enough to keep me reading.

I just wonder if it's time for the conclusion of Anita Blake?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't get enough, 22 July 2007
By 
D. Shaylor "Avid Reader" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I discovered Anita Blake last year and have bought all to date and I cannot read them quick enough. It makes you wonder just what life could be like if there were such entities out there such as those in the very books that we are reading.

For anyone who likes the "darker side" type of books this series is a must, cannot wait for the next book.

Imagination is a wonderful thing:-)))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa4a3b6fc)

This product

The Harlequin: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter: Volume 14
The Harlequin: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter: Volume 14 by Laurell K. Hamilton (Hardcover - 7 Jun 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews