Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars! I want more!
She is THE Dante "Danny" Valentine, world-class Necromance who retired at the top of her game after a hush-hush bounty hunt that nobody can dig up any information on except for the Nuevo Rio Mob War. (Previous book "Working For the Devil".) She was genetically altered by a Fallen demon, Japhrimel "Japh". Danny still has the mark upon her left shoulder, where Lucifer made...
Published on 13 Oct 2006 by Detra Fitch

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A slightly disappointing sequel
Dante Valentine is a very changed woman from the Necromance bounty hunter whose career we followed in Book 1. Oh, Dante still communicates with the god of Death and can channel the spirits of the deceased in order to help resolve legal issues, but her experiences with Lucifer and her involvement with the fallen demon Japhrimel have left her mentally and physically...
Published on 29 Oct 2011 by Seren Ade


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A slightly disappointing sequel, 29 Oct 2011
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Dante Valentine is a very changed woman from the Necromance bounty hunter whose career we followed in Book 1. Oh, Dante still communicates with the god of Death and can channel the spirits of the deceased in order to help resolve legal issues, but her experiences with Lucifer and her involvement with the fallen demon Japhrimel have left her mentally and physically altered. Dante is in a lot of pain - both bodily and emotional (her voice and hand damaged by the Devil's grip, the now-vanished scar sites from the torture she had suffered as a child still causing phantom pains, and the mark of her bonding to Japh has gone strangely chilled), on a fast track to burning out and is taking her former lover, and ex-Mob boss Jace Monroe, along with her. The Dante's friend Gabe asks for her help in investigating the mysterious murder of a fellow necromance: whose body was discovered alongside a note bearing the legend 'Remember Rigger Hall'.

Remembering Rigger Hall is the last thing either Dante or Gabe's partner Eddie want to do. The hall had been a state-run institution for psi-gifted children. Unfortunately, a sadistic abuser had managed to worm his way into the Headmaster's post - and used his position of power and access to vulnerable children to create his own personal playground of torture. Both Dante and Eddie would rather see Rigger Hall stay firmly in the past, but the serial deaths of several of Rigger's alumni mean that the horrors of the past have to be faced.

After the very interesting world built up in Working for the Devil: The Dante Valentine Novels: Book One (Dante Valentine Novel 1), this book comes as a little bit of a disappointment. The areas for disappointment are less focussed around the plot - which is quite face-paced and exciting - than around Dante herself. Having been a prickly and abrasive, but nonetheless quite caring character, successfully overcoming a tough background, Dante is now almost wholly absorbed in her own grief, pain and confusion - to the exclusion of those around her. Credible enough, perhaps, but rather less-than-endearing in a first-person narrator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars! I want more!, 13 Oct 2006
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Man Rising: The Dante Valentine Novels: Book Two (Paperback)
She is THE Dante "Danny" Valentine, world-class Necromance who retired at the top of her game after a hush-hush bounty hunt that nobody can dig up any information on except for the Nuevo Rio Mob War. (Previous book "Working For the Devil".) She was genetically altered by a Fallen demon, Japhrimel "Japh". Danny still has the mark upon her left shoulder, where Lucifer made Japh her familiar. No one would have ever believed it had they been informed that there was one thing that terrified Dante almost to the brink of death - Rigger Hall.

Until the age of thirteen, Dante had her caseworker, Lewis. When he died, Dante's life became a living nightmare. She was a collared girl pushed into the Hegemony Psi program. An orphan sent into Rigger Hall. Headmaster Mirovitch ruled Rigger Hall with an iron fist. No one knew he was a Feeder. He was well-camouflaged. The school was his private playground filled with disposable psions.

To keep her sanity, Danny has blocked out everything about that time. But now psychics all over are being brutally murdered. The school is the only link. Dante must face her past or there may not BE a future.

Things get even worse when Lucifer calls her. He is looking for Dante's lover - the one he has already killed. As strange as that sounds, Danny has no time or urge to contemplate the Devil's lies. She has no idea which fiend or friend to trust. Her time is running out, in more ways than one.

***** Almost as excellent as the first. Readers who pay close attention will (sometimes) see some clues as to what will happen in Dante's near future. Since Dante is secondarily gifted with precognition, I thought these flashes to be a brilliant addition to the story. BRAVA! Author Lilith Saintcrow fleshes out her main characters even more in this novel. Danny was made even more believable to me when I learned that she actually has some flaws. New characters are introduced as well. Danny makes some powerful new friends that may come in handy during the next episode. On that note, according to the teaser chapter at the end of this story, the next Dante Valentine novel will be released in July 2007 and titled "The Devil's Right Hand". Highly recommended reading! *****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man Rising: The Dante Valentine Novels: Book Two (Paperback)
Love the books and I can't stop reading them. At times I can relate to Dante through all her adventures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Dante Valentine" series book 2, 12 Dec 2010
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dead Man Rising: The Dante Valentine Novels: Book Two (Paperback)
In a futuristic world where the supernatural is acknowledged, utilised and feared, Dante (Danny) Valentine; Necromance extraordinaire, has still not come to terms with the climatic events that occurred in book 1. Danny goes from one bounty to the next or buries her head in yet another ancient demon text in the hopes of learning what she has become, unwilling to acknowledge her grief over Japhrimel's death.

When a Necromance is murdered, Gabe asks for help on the case. The only clue points towards Rigger Hall, and although Danny's childhood torture is only hinted at in book 1, in "Dead Man Rising" there is nothing held back.

What Danny and other psion children endured is horrific, and though the reader can understand her inability to trust Jace, this grows somewhat tiresome as the plot progresses. Jace proves time and time again that he has her back, yet Danny is just plain cruel in response. She keeps Jace hanging on a thread, relying on his love for her for support, yet Danny keeps him constantly hanging. Ok she's having difficulty getting over Japhrimel, still grieving and honestly, what man could compare to a Greater Flight demon, but her lack of regard for Jace, and the fact that she realises she is using him but fails to stop marred the honourable character she is supposed to have.

I'm thoroughly enjoying this series, with its exciting blend of magick and science and a flawed but feisty heroine. LS provides even more action than found in the first book of this series and an equally high body count. Tension builds as Danny investigates some gory murders and tries to keep the next target alive, and yet again this author surprises with her twists and turns, culminating in yet another unexpected moment of deep personal pain for Danny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars when I find something I like I usually grab right onto it, 11 Nov 2010
This review is from: Dead Man Rising: The Dante Valentine Novels: Book Two (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book, but I don't think anyone would like it out of order. This is book two of the series, and you really must read book one to get it. It's a bit difficult wading through the made-up terminology in this series (but not nearly as hard as Clockwork Orange, so don't let that scare you away.) You might want to read the glossary at the back of the book before starting this novel. The great thing about this series is how emotional the writing is - it takes you on an incredible journey.
Dante Valentine is a necromancer who became part demon in the first book, and in this one she is grieving the loss of her demon lover Japhrimel(killed in book one). Her ex-boyfriend Jace gave up running a mob family and has been looking out for her on the bounty hunting she insists on doing to keep her from thinking about Japhrimel. It seems that Jace is doing his pentance for leaving her without an explaination over three years ago, trying to win back her trust. Dante is tortured by the loss of Japhrimel and freaked out about her change into a demidemon.
Soon, Gabe (best fried, Necromancer, and cop) calls Dante in on a serial murder case featuring former students of Rigger Hall - Dante's alma mater. Rigger was shut down due to the discovery that the headmaster was raping and torturing students, Dante included. Solving the case dredges up all sorts of horrible memories Dante doesn't want to face.
The ending involves the loss of someone important to Dante, and gaining someone else in her life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Stuff...Again, 6 April 2009
By 
G. Davey (wilts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Man Rising: The Dante Valentine Novels: Book Two (Paperback)
Having whetted my appetite for Lilith SaintCrow with the Jill Kismet series, I was casting around for something to keep me going until she releases the next one and thought I'd give her earlier works a try. I'm glad I did. Dante Valentine is an interesting protagonist, she's a grumpy, hard headed, no messing kinda woman yet buried under all the spines and armour is a big, giving heart. This book had me enraptured. And in floods of tears - be warned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where was the editor?, 13 Feb 2009
By 
M. Malone (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I suffered through half the book. I couldn't take it anymore, while the story was halfway enjoyable the writting is beyond bad...the constent moaning of the main character that she isn't human anymore, a hand hurts, a shoulder is painful and not to mention that she has to supress a laugh and a giggle in scary situations is just plain annoying. I'm surprised that the editor hasn't picked up on this...my verdict don't bother reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not close to the first, 2 May 2009
By 
Claire Mill "Cem" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Man Rising: The Dante Valentine Novels: Book Two (Paperback)
This book is the second in the Dante Valentine series and I really didn't enjoy it nearly as much as the first one. It's set about 10 months after the first. Dante spends about 3/4 of her time whining about pain in her shoulder, how much she misses Japhrimel, how bad she feels about how she's been treating Jace, and about being a part-demon. It's taken me a month to finish this book because Dante's constant whining made me want to slap her. I felt like I was having to trudge through it to get to the story. The plot is all linked in to the pain Dante's feeling and everything, but if you look at the actual plot, pick out the real parts of the story, it would probably be half the length.

Dante is called in to help with a series of violent murders involving supernaturals, pisons. They're all connected to Rigger Hall, the evil school Dante went to as a little girl that still causes her nightmares. Dante has to figure out who's doing the killings and stopping them. This story really wasn't all that interesting either. I suppose we're meant to feel sorry for Dante and understand all her pain and everything, but it really does get tiring. And almost brings the story to a halt as well. It takes a long time for the plot to progress with pages of whining from Dante. The final fight and closing to the case is really quick and sudden. And half of it is ignored because Japhrimel is resurrected and appears at that moment. As her love, it should be a big moment, was actually really boring. All in all, a very forgettable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed Japhrimel!, 8 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man Rising: The Dante Valentine Novels: Book Two (Paperback)
Only reason why I couldn't enjoy this book that much was because i missed Japhrimel... Silly really but there... Can't help it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dismal fare, 22 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: Dead Man Rising: The Dante Valentine Novels: Book Two (Paperback)
Lilith Saintcrow can't write for toffee, despite her splendidly gothic moniker. Her protagonist, Dante, is handy with a sword, and can beat any man she wants to a bloody pulp, but mostly she cusses her friends and makes feeble smart-ass to her enemies - neither generates much in the way of character. For such a hardened private dick type character, she also spends a lot of time fighting the urge to fall in love with hunky, broad chested male characters - and failing - only to see them die, cruelly, at the end of the novel just so she has an excuse to stay uncivil and drink some coffee. If you crossed terse misogynist PI Mike Hammer with the heroine of a Barbara Cartland novel you might end up with somehting close to Dante, the sword-waving necromancer of Dead Man Rising. But you'd also probably puke all over the resulting violent, sentimental, charmless nonsense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Man Rising: The Dante Valentine Novels: Book Two
Dead Man Rising: The Dante Valentine Novels: Book Two by Lilith Saintcrow (Paperback - 7 Dec 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews