Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely bloody brilliant!!
This is an incredible book. let me start by saying that I am already a fan - I have read the three 'Watcher' books and Saintcrow's otehr two books. I was looking forward to this one, and, not only did she not disappoint me, she exceeded my expections dramatically.

This book is awesome. The almost-didn't-see-it-coming love story and the unexpectedly striking...
Published on 24 July 2006 by Caitlynn

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Want something new, try this
Having come across Liliths work a while ago, it was with great interest that I picked up her latest offering. Now for most people Lilith is a new author but for fans of old she does have a continuing series that will more that grip you, yet this was the breakthrough novel, would she keep her magical past touches or would she sell out and deliver something that would be...
Published on 27 Aug 2006 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely bloody brilliant!!, 24 July 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working for the Devil (Dante Valentine Novels) (Paperback)
This is an incredible book. let me start by saying that I am already a fan - I have read the three 'Watcher' books and Saintcrow's otehr two books. I was looking forward to this one, and, not only did she not disappoint me, she exceeded my expections dramatically.

This book is awesome. The almost-didn't-see-it-coming love story and the unexpectedly striking ending left me positively gagging for more. And the sequel will be - arrrghh!! - How long??

Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant!! The best I have read in a while and I read ALOT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet!, 13 Mar 2006
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Necromance-for-hire Dante "Danny" Valentine is hot tempered, but has nerves of steel. She is THE best in the area and possibly in the world. Danny's Monday morning starts off worse than anyone could imagine.
Lucifer, the Prince of Hades, sends his most trusted assassin, Japhrimel "Jaf", to collect Danny and escort her to his presence. The Devil hires Danny to eliminate a renegade demon, Vardimal Santino. Against her wishes, Lucifer grants her a familiar, Jaf, and burns the demon mark upon her shoulder. Danny is to kill Santino and Jaf is to take the "Egg" that Santino had stolen back to Lucifer.
Santino is the serial killer who murdered Doreen, one of Danny's rare friends. Danny would hunt the demon down with pleasure, but wants nothing to do with Lucifer or Jaf. Too bad. She does not have a choice. Danny goes to Gabriele "Gabe", a cop and fellow Necromance (another rare friend), for a little help. The good news: Gabe gives the help. The bad news: Gabe and Eddie are going with her on the hunt.
The group heads out for Nuevo Rio, where Santino currently hides. That is when Danny comes across a Shaman, her ex-lover, Jace. The man had walked out of her life years ago with no warning or explanation. Yet he clearly expects Danny to forgive and forget. NOT! Yet Jace's help is vital. But how can they possibly destroy a demon that cannot be killed by any human or demon? And just what is Jaf not telling them?
***** I have not read all the Dante Valentine novels, but of the stories I have, this one is easily the best yet! This story not only clears up a few things from Danny's past, but also sets up the path for the next adventure. Author Lilith Saintcrow manages to connect her readers with the main character, Danny. THAT is hard to do since no one has Danny's dark occupation. The author also makes Danny's character believable by adding in little things, such as a side job in addition to the plot. One thing is for sure, Lilith Saintcrow is one of today's best writers! Highly recommended series. *****
Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book (and series), 5 Jun 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Falling into the darker edge of the urban fantasy genre, this book is a wonderful ride, and an introduction to a fantastic series. Dante Valentine is a character who has been hurt, and now does the right thing - no matter who it hurts. Forced to work for the devil, she is conflicted as he sets her to hunt down an old enemy of hers. The world is lush with a vibrancy seldom seen, and the characters are compelling. A warning that the series has a LOT of dark moments, but is definitely worth the read to come out the other side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing but fun, 1 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Working for the Devil (Dante Valentine Novels) (Paperback)
The genre for this title is an intriguing mix between goth horror and cyberpunk.

The characters are well described and the plot develops well allowing the reader to follow and try to predict future events with a twist at the end.

The author has an easy to read style embellishing the tale without over extending the story.

I will look for other titles by her in this genre and series.

For a fun read I recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Want something new, try this, 27 Aug 2006
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Working for the Devil (Dante Valentine Novels) (Paperback)
Having come across Liliths work a while ago, it was with great interest that I picked up her latest offering. Now for most people Lilith is a new author but for fans of old she does have a continuing series that will more that grip you, yet this was the breakthrough novel, would she keep her magical past touches or would she sell out and deliver something that would be considered safe and just something that fulfils a contractual obligation.

Fans of Lilith wont have to worry, she does keep her integrity and sticks to her guns and it will be something that will endear her to new readers. In fact, what are you doing, get out there and buy the book. If youre into supernatural fiction such as Laurell K Hamilton and Kelley Armstrong then here you go, its in a similar vein (no pun intended.) And yet you ask, why should you buy this book?

Lilith sets her novels into the future and also examines how the possible processes work, rather than just the answer of others of "its magic, I don't have to explain it." Its something of a touch of a great writer that will delve into these little queries and yet the way its written keeps it to the fore of the readers mind without getting technical but provides enough explanation to fulfil even the most must know reader.

If youre wondering how best to sum Lilith up then think of Working for the Devil as a cross between Anthony Piers - Incarnation series, a smidgeon of Blade Runner meets Kelley Armstrongs Otherworld, blended with a touch of LKH (mind you Lilith actually cares about the plot rather than having to add sex to sell it, so LKH be warned.) As a debut it solid and leaves the reader wanting more and lets face it it's a damn good way to go. Look out in the near future for the next novel in the series and its something that proves she's no one hit wonder and is a force to be reckoned with, oh and Big D, I've done the job now wheres the reward? Seriously though, if you like the supernatural it's a fun novel that will give you a pleasurable break from the modern world and leave you wondering, "what if."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Are we supposed to like Dante Valentine?, 29 May 2008
By 
Matt "I have eclectic tastes." (Driffield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working for the Devil (Dante Valentine Novels) (Paperback)
Firstly, I would like to make it clear that I enjoyed "Working for the Devil" enormously. Necromancy AND plasma rifles;what more could you ask for? The pace is relentless and it was basically a 2 sitting book; it would have been 1 but other people sometimes expect me to do stuff. Many aspects of the world Saintcrow has created are genuinely original and she succeeds in evoking a thoroughly threatening atmosphere. Tierce Japhrimel is also the coolest sidekick ever. However, if you are looking for writing of, say, Jim Butcher's standard you will be disappointed. A lot of information about the environment is handed out in ham-fisted info-dumps. Character development is pretty much restricted to Dante, although, given how monumentally self-centred the protaganist is, this might be a deliberate device to illustrate her world-view. The ending is rushed and has something of a deus ex machina quality to it with previous impossible things turning out to be straightforward after all. Finally, the actual words could have done with some aggressive line-editing. Most of the technical faults are really evidence of how little respect the publisher has for the readership of this kind of urban fantasy and could have been easily fixed.

More interesting is Dante Valentine herself. It has been noted by other reviewers that she is an extraordinarily self-pitying whiner and I won't go into this except to agree. What no-one else seems to have commented on is that she appears to be a psychopath. While she endlessly complains about the bad things that happen to her, she never seems to consider the morality of her own actions for a second. The only ethics she seems to recognise are the concept of a contract and the idea of blood-vengeance. She reminds me of "Angel Eyes" in "The Good, The Bad and The Ugly." I've nothing against anti-heros, I grew up on Elric, but Dante's apparently total lack of self-knowledge is a missed opportunity. Perhaps this will be addressed in later books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars decidedly average 2.5 stars, 21 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Working for the Devil (Dante Valentine Novels) (Paperback)
I'd have given this 2.5 if i could, but will be generous and bump up to 3!

here is the formula for these books: (see also the anita blake series before it went porno & the kelly armstrong ones) - imagine a really self centred, hard bitten & cynical yet beautiful and ultra talented heroine. ensure every man she ever meets falls in love with her like they have with no other so that they become utterly devoted and romatically enslaved. throw in a few supernatural things, lots of violence and some kind of plot....light,readable but all very ho-hum in the end.

she has some good ideas (the parallell demonic world) and the sci-fi elements are interesting, but it's all so lazily written, with lots of repetition (if she had one almost giggle inappropriately in a really tense situtation she had about 50) and no real attempt to create believeable characters - which is the most important thing in a story where everything else is unbelieveable.

i though i'd try the urban fantasy genreas a change from the usual fantasy writers, but i find the style more akin to erotic/romance/detective/crime novels than true fantasy, and therefore ultimately a bit disappointing.

I'm sure that when i was a 15 year old goth i would have loved these, however i threw away my black lace gloves a few years back now....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working for the Devil (Dante Valentine Novels) (Paperback)
Couldn't buy the other novels in the series without this one. I would be frustrated if I hadn't bought this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars WORKING FOR THE DEVIL., 14 Mar 2013
This review is from: Working for the Devil (Dante Valentine Novels) (Paperback)
What turns out to be part 1 in the Dante Valentine series, convinced I'd joined the series mid-way through I'm now even more confused by certain elements of the story which I presumed had been covered in previous book(s).

Set in a world far advanced of ours (my mind keeps returning to Blade Runner, The Fifth Element and that ilk) I found myself increasingly frustrated and irritated by the fact that I was just expected to know what all of the gadgets and gizmos were - once again something I thought I'd miss in previous offerings.

Not at all enamoured with our leading lady, Dante (Danny), either. Not just a tough heroine (a characteristic I normally quite like) I found her downright mean and lacking in any redeeming features.

All in all lacking in any real pace, at best I found Working For The Devil relentlessly boring, at worst, not worth the read. Thank goodness than for Japhrimel (Jaf') who, quite unlike any demon I've come across before, made the book at least remotely interesting.

Copyright: Petty Witter @ Pen and Paper.

Working for the Devil (Dante Valentine Novels)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Working For The Devil - Lilith Saintcrow, 26 Aug 2012
This review is from: Working for the Devil (Dante Valentine Novels) (Paperback)
Though I loved this book on so many levels, I can't deny that it infuriated me on more than one occasion. Set in a future world where supernatural beings are out and proud and feared by many, it was a little hard to keep up. It didn't matter much to me that I understood little of the world that Saintcrow created, I just wish there had been more explaining. Most people would be grateful for the lack of info-dump... I'm just not one of them. I like my descriptions. It makes it far easier for me to picture the world I'm reading about, and that's generally what matters most to me when I'm immersed in a novel. Most of it was pretty easy to grasp, but there were many complicated details that I tried (and failed) to not let bug me. Nevertheless, this was still a colourful book with plenty of action, a little romance, and a whole lot of badass heroine escapades.

I loved Dante. I truly did. I thought she was a fantastic character, and even though the majority of her backstory is a little blurry, I still adored her. If you put Charley Davidson and Faythe Sanders in a blender, you'd get Dante Valentine. She had Charley's wit and Faythe's general attitude, and I can't deny that it was a blend I adored. Her flaws irked me to know end, that I won't deny - she's stubborn, self-centered, manipulative, and impulsive, yet I still loved her. I have no idea how that happened. If there's one thing Saintcrow did a fantastic job with, it was Dante. Her boys, on the other hand, were a grey area for me. On the one hand, I loved both Jaf and Jace, but on the other, I didn't like either of them. I instantly knew when the name Jace popped up that he'd be my favourite male (simply because his name is Jace... don't get me started), but when he was finally introduced, he lacked sparkle. I still preferred him over Jaf, I'm just hoping the next book will give us more of Jace's cocky attitude. Even though I did prefer Jace, I can't deny that Jaf intrigued me. His development as a character throughout this book was beautifully written, and I adored the way his initial demon-ness gave way to a more human side of him towards the end. The other characters - namely Gabe and Eddie - were also well written, but again, I'm hoping for more development in the next book. Eddie's species intrigues me - mainly because I'm still not entirely sure what he is. I think Saintcrow explained it towards the beginning of the book, but I was so caught up in the overwhelming action that I missed it.

I've heard a lot of people complain about this book because of the foul language, and while I can definitely see where they're coming from, I can't say I had the same qualms. I get that it was excessive in some places, but seriously, it's not like it affects the story! Obviously I can't recommend this book to anyone who gets a stick up their butt when a hero/ine drops the f-bomb a lot, but to everyone else, I say read this book. The ending was heartbreaking and a little confusing, and I can't wait to get stuck into the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Working for the Devil (Dante Valentine Novels)
Working for the Devil (Dante Valentine Novels) by Lilith Saintcrow (Paperback - 1 Jun 2006)
7.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews