Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Hutson
After reading the synopsis I doubted the man would deliver a book that was to my usual Hutson taste. How wrong I was, Hutson is back on form and nails it with Dying Words.

What I thought was going to be a tedious Da Vinci type novel was actually from start to finish a classic Hutson gore fest. This book was very difficult to put down, Hutson fans should buy...
Published on 25 Nov. 2006 by Fishman

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Compellingly written, but falls down in the home stretch
I hadn't read any Hutson in a while so I was pleased to see that he's retained his short, clipped style which rockets forward at a nice pace. Things kick off with an exciting police chase through London, though with another Detective Inspector who behaves like a law unto himself and predictably doesn't get punished for it, then the book follows a series of murders in...
Published on 5 Nov. 2007 by Mr. I. S. Clements


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Hutson, 25 Nov. 2006
This review is from: Dying Words (Hardcover)
After reading the synopsis I doubted the man would deliver a book that was to my usual Hutson taste. How wrong I was, Hutson is back on form and nails it with Dying Words.

What I thought was going to be a tedious Da Vinci type novel was actually from start to finish a classic Hutson gore fest. This book was very difficult to put down, Hutson fans should buy it now.

If you are a gore fan new to Hutson, this is a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Compellingly written, but falls down in the home stretch, 5 Nov. 2007
By 
Mr. I. S. Clements (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dying Words (Paperback)
I hadn't read any Hutson in a while so I was pleased to see that he's retained his short, clipped style which rockets forward at a nice pace. Things kick off with an exciting police chase through London, though with another Detective Inspector who behaves like a law unto himself and predictably doesn't get punished for it, then the book follows a series of murders in seemingly impossible circumstances ( doors locked from the inside, no witnesses, no fingerprints, etc ).

Hutson's greatest strength is that he doesn't waste a word, which always makes you feel like you can read a little bit more, then before you know it you're up to the last twenty pages. Others may prize him for his gore but it's quite samey here, the first bloody murder scene does shock a little but after that it's business as usual. Blood becomes so normal you just accept it and move on, and there's few of the affecting descriptions of bullets or blugeons wreaking havoc on the human body as to add to the mystery we're never there when the crimes are comitted.

It all works well, right up until the twist is revealed, then things go downhill very rapidly. You feel cheated, all that investment on your part and carefully built suspense was leading to this? The book deserves a better final third because a good deal of it is quite solid, it's just a shame that the last stretch of it almost makes you forget that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hutson for horror..., 17 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dying Words (Kindle Edition)
Hutson fans should enjoy this story. If you know Hutson you know what you're going to get, and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Dying Words (Kindle Edition)
long time since I read Hudson. lost none of his bite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dying Words (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyable and with no problems thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of Hutson's better offerings., 3 April 2010
By 
SonicQuack (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dying Words (Paperback)
For the best part of this crime novel, Hutson provides readers with a repetitive tease chapter after chapter. It's a sloppy approach at delaying any real content and the sequence of grisly murders appear just often enough to keep the pages turning. The finale however takes a leap from Graham Masterton's work and is an interesting and surprising turn. The novel certainly lacks the mystique or tension of Masterton's approach, however previous readers of Hutson's novels will know what to expect. So, persistent teasing aside, there's a quality ending and some interesting enough characters to make Dying Words a quick and easy horror yarn, worthy of a few hours of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dying Words (Kindle Edition)
One of the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should Come With a Warning, 28 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dying Words (Paperback)
The warning being " don`t buy this junk ". What side of the bed Mr Hutson got out of when he came up with his idea for this book I do not know, but he should have climbed back in. Boring characters in a equally boring scenario. How he has the nerve to pass this junk onto the public I cannot comprehend, or maybe it`s his publisher I should b blaming. Either way it should have been relegated to the recyclig bucket to emerge for use in the bathroom. The ending is beyond belief and only the feeble minded among us would find it in any way acceptable. Why, you may ask, did I stick with the book until the end if I found so utterly boring? Well, I paid good money for it and felt obliged to stick with it. But believe me, if books came under `The Sale of Goods Act` this would have been returned after the first chapter and a refund demanded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read, 14 Jun. 2010
By 
Ms. K. Crawford (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dying Words (Paperback)
As always Shaun Hutson's style of short chapters and several story lines kept me turning the pages til I couldn't keep my eyes open. Seller top marks on speed and packaging
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dying Words (Paperback)
cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dying Words
Dying Words by Shaun Hutson (Paperback - 2 Aug. 2007)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews