Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Halo: The Flood
Halo: The Flood is one of the best books that I have ever read, it links in perfectly with both the game and the first book Halo: The Fall of Reach. The story is based around Master Chief Spartan 117 (less commonly known as John) after he is abruptly woken up on the Pillar of Autumn and is told to evacuate onto the ringworld. The book tells the story in much more detail...
Published on 12 May 2003

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Halo story continues
The first Halo book was really great, full of suspense and a very good introduction to the Halo universe and the Halo game. This second book follows the story of the game so for players of the game there are not a lot of surprises or new content. The writing style is not as good as the first one, probably because a lot of situations were literally based on the game. For...
Published on 2 April 2003 by Vandenheuvel Dirk


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Halo: The Flood, 12 May 2003
By A Customer
Halo: The Flood is one of the best books that I have ever read, it links in perfectly with both the game and the first book Halo: The Fall of Reach. The story is based around Master Chief Spartan 117 (less commonly known as John) after he is abruptly woken up on the Pillar of Autumn and is told to evacuate onto the ringworld. The book tells the story in much more detail than you can find actually in the game. If, however, you are more interested in the game it also gives you some useful tactics in combating different areas of the game by describing in detail how John deals with the situation himself. Throughout the book to the very last page you can familiarise youself with the characters in it. Also, as an added extra, it also tells the story from the point of view of different characters and their own various missions ranging from a covenant Spec. ops Elite searching out the Spartan to a Marine that is possessed by the Flood.
Overall, I would highly recommend Halo: The Flood even if you dont usually read books or if indeed you havent played the game Throughout the book to the very last page you can familiarise youself with the characters in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Halo story continues, 2 April 2003
By 
The first Halo book was really great, full of suspense and a very good introduction to the Halo universe and the Halo game. This second book follows the story of the game so for players of the game there are not a lot of surprises or new content. The writing style is not as good as the first one, probably because a lot of situations were literally based on the game. For fans of the series there is some interesting info though. We get more information about the Covenant and are introduced to some new characters and races that will play a more important role in Halo 2. The book also tries to fill in some holes that were left by the first book and the game. If you have never played the game before and are just looking for a good SF book, I recommend you read the first book (Halo : Fall of Reach). Of course if you are curious to know what happens to Master Chief after the first book this book will keep you happy. If you need your Halo fix because you cannot wait for the new game then this book is perfect. The all out action and Master Chief guarantee a quick and interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review by Jack Hackett (Ads), 17 April 2003
By A Customer
This is one of the best books that I have ever read along with Halo: The Fall of Reach. It really sets the scene, with much more detail in it about Halo and the Flood from all perspectives including human, covenant and the creatures unfortunate enough to be possessed by the Flood. The book tells the story of the game but with an almost 'behind the scenes' style of presentation. If you enjoyed the game, you will definitely love Halo: The Flood.
All in all, buy this book and it'll make you eager to play the game again just to find out more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book of the Game - exactly, 24 Aug 2004
The book is the direct story line from the game, and suffers a little because of it.
The other two books in the series are by a different writer and I can't decide if the lower mark is because of differing writing styles, or just familiarity of the subject matter.
One thing I did find difficult, is the lack of suspense, as I knew where each encounter was to occur. In it's defense however, one thing the book does well is to convey the characters reaction and feelings about the events in the game, which doesn't come across in the console version (probably because most of them are just cannon fodder!).
Overall, I enjoyed the book a lot, but the best bit was knowing, there was another book at the end of it with completely original material. A good game tie-in, and a good link between the 1st and 3rd books, which are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 July 2006
This review is from: Halo: The Flood (Paperback)
Like Eric Nylund's Books, Halo: The Fall Of Reach and Halo: First Strike this book is very well done, all the details are correct about charactors and I've learnt a few things that Bungie didn't put into the actual game.

This Book is perfect for all the Halo fans out there and for anyone who's not actually played the XBox game.

5 out of 5 (Enjoyed every page of it)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid Novel Of The Game, 21 Aug 2007
By 
CJ (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo: The Flood (Paperback)
The Flood is a novelisation of the events and expanded plot of the hit Xbox and PC game `Halo: Combat Evolved'. It tells the tale of the Master Chief and UNSC Marines who crash land on the mysterious halo construct and their fight with the Covenant to gain control of the ring.

Books based on games are a difficult thing to get right, but here William Deitz pretty much pulls it off. The Flood is a surprisingly gritty and well-written re-telling of the game's key events, spiced up with plenty of extra backstory. We get to hear about the battles being fought by the Marines as the Master Chief is off on his own missions, plus we see the tale told from the Covenant side.

Most, if not all, of the human forces portrayed in the book are supposed to be the elite Orbital Drop Shock Troopers (ODSTs), or "Helljumpers". This is OK but doesn't really fit with the Marines portrayed in the game, who seem much more like regular grunts.

New characters are introduced well and you care for the people involved. I was very disappointed with the fate of the majority of the humans at the end however. In the game there is virtually no mention (you assume they blew up on Halo, perhaps) but the book gives an explanation which I guess works but seems a bit over the top, plus removes all of the interesting new characters Deitz had created.

Worth a read if you want to find out more about the Halo universe, especially if read in conjunction with the other novels in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got the Game? This is a MUST!!, 20 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This book, along with 'Halo - The fall of Reach' is a great read for Halo fans. This book is the story of the game, but much more. not only does it follow the Master Chief, but it tells us about Captain Keys and what him and the rest of the Marines are doing during the Master Chiefs missions. It also follows the story from the covenant point of veiw! A great read and will give you a whole new veiw of Halo. If you get this book, I STRONGLY reccommend buying the other book in the series. This two is a great read about the Master Chief, why and how he was trained and how there used to be a whole team of Spartans, and how they came to Halo. Read this second book and you will understand the starting movie of the game a lot better. Brilliant books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This can only get better, 2 April 2003
This story would be best read after reading the first of the series Halo: The fall of Reach as it wouldnt make much sense and would probably be confusing.
I had a lot of anticipation for this title and i wasnt let down one bit. Having read the first book which sets the story and character profiles this continues the story of Sparten 117 Mastercheif and his fight to survive an alien force of immense size and power.
Its truly engaging once you pick it up you wont wanna put it down as every page is full of action and an amazing story that twists with a truly superb ending that leaves you wanting more which hopefully should be on its way.
This book should appeal to fans of Halo and fans of science fiction as the technology of the two forces is truly imaginative and possible without going over the top in short this book is great i cant reccomend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic addition to the game, a good read in general!, 12 May 2004
By 
Simply the best book I've read in years, that's a fact! Probably because of my love for the game and all things sci fi, but the book really does captivate you and brings accross all the best features of the game and practically brings them to life. The tragic story of the Spartan soldiers, why John, Spartan 117 is all alone when scores of them were trained. How he and the marines got to Halo in the first place and generally answers so many questions about the game.
It also makes a fantastic read in general so if you haven't played the game or have played on it a few times at a friends house and don't know the story, the Eric Nylund series of halo is fantastic and better than any other sci fi book I've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best..., 13 April 2003
Having read Halo: the Fall of Reach a week before, it was no surprise that this book would be good. However, this was truely amazing, i have completed the game head to toe and this book STILL managed to tell me buckets of info that i never knew. I was amazed, the battle scenes are executed with skill and effort and even if your not a fan of Halo; this book is still worth a look.
Honestly, i would struggle to see how any fan of Halo or science fiction alike cannot admire this book and the translation from game to book. When you read this book, the first thing that you notice is the attention to detail the author has given; you can be astoundingly consumed into the world of Halo SO easily, its scary...
Well worth a read. Definately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halo: The Flood
Halo: The Flood by William C. Dietz (Paperback - 7 Feb 2005)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews