Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a way to put you on till Halo 2...!
Eric Nylund successfully follows up on the great story telling from the Fall of Reach (and to almost the same extent, The Flood, which doesn't quite have the same edge) with this frankly excellent book that brings a much loved sci-fi universe to life as much as the gaming experience has for millions of xbox owners everywhere. I finished this the same day I got it - it...
Published on 7 Feb 2004 by whiteknightmwr

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of light entertainment
I found this to be an OK book, quite entertaining but some of the writing was pretty poor (as picked up in other reviews). This is a shame as the story was actually well thought out and it would have been a much better book with a bit of editing and proof reading before going to print. In summary, fun but not a keeper.
Published on 15 Dec 2012 by Andy S


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a way to put you on till Halo 2...!, 7 Feb 2004
Eric Nylund successfully follows up on the great story telling from the Fall of Reach (and to almost the same extent, The Flood, which doesn't quite have the same edge) with this frankly excellent book that brings a much loved sci-fi universe to life as much as the gaming experience has for millions of xbox owners everywhere. I finished this the same day I got it - it had me hooked from the first page. New characters are introduced, as are old friends and one or two surprises that will draw you in even more...
If you have the first two, get this. If you haven't got the first two, get ALL THREE - you won't regret it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return Of Greatness, 10 Aug 2004
Were do I start, after reading the 2 previous Halo books I had to buy this, expecting this to be a book about the upcomming Halo 2 I was really excited....however, when it finally came through the door and I started reading....I WAS HOOKED !!!
This is a far better book than the previous ones (Ok, maybe not "Fall Of Reach"). This takes place in between the 2 games and tells of the struggle of the Master Chief after the destruction of Halo.
Gripping and amazingly done by the returning auther of "Fall Of Reach" this book should be added to your collection, even if u havnt read the first 2 books you can still get into if you've completed the game, however some bits you might not get without reading the first one.
Overall this gets 5 stars, well worth the bargin money and not a waste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional tie-in, 24 Aug 2004
Well, what more needs to be said, other than excellent!
A well written and satisfying book. And also frustrating!- It's a few months till the next game comes out and I have to wait till then to find out what happens!
The story is well above the level of most tie-in books and I would recommend it as such to any non-gamers out there, too. It links the events of the first game and the new one very well indeed.
One of the strengths of the books is the depiction of the "ordinary" soldiers and their reaction to the Spartan super soldiers, as well as their feelings and motivations.
Overall it's recommended to anyone, except those after pure gung-ho guns and action with no story - this covers all the bases. A crowd pleaser, all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BRILLIANT INTERPRETATION OF THE GAP BETWEEN THE GAMES, 28 July 2004
By 
J. Hildreth "J.A.@zarnok" (Bath uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an EXCELLENT read for those of us who want to learn a little more about the universe of HALO. I particualy liked the way the other Spartans are introduced, as well as the first chapter which explains a little more about 'The Fall of Reach'. However I won't give away anything else about the book as it truly is one of the best I have ever read. I recommend this book whole-heartedly to anyone, but the people who would enjoy it the most are: Fans of HALO and/or people who enjoy reading military based books such as the Tom Clancy series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 8 May 2005
This review is from: Halo: The Fall Of Reach (Paperback)
Computer game tie-ins are generally not well thought of by book readers, and quite often this is justified. Not so, however, with the Fall of Reach. It's obviously not just been written to capitalise on the success of the games, and has been written in conjunction with the game writers. As such, the book takes the depth of the Halo story and builds upon it to create a rich and immersive world. Halo: The Fall of Reach is a prequel to Halo, and gives us details of how the Master Chief and the others came to be Spartans, the appearance of the fanatical Covenant, the fall of the human fortress world Reach and the escape of the Pillar of Autumn to Halo.
There are one or two let-downs. Nothing has to do with the story, more with the editing. Parts of the text seem to have been copied and pasted into random places, and various words seem to become confused, as if an object has been named one thing, that name has been forgotten and replaced with something else.
These flaws are minor, and do not detract from the story at all. If you're a fan of the game, or even if you're not, this book provides depth and detail to the Halo universe that is hard to put down, and harder still to dislike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved every page., 27 July 2006
This review is from: Halo: The Fall Of Reach (Paperback)
I loved every page of this book, the very beginning of the book is brilliant but it did start to get slow once it got into the Spartan 117's training.

Other than that myself and all my friends, who I've let borrow the book, have all given it a thumbs up and it's suggested this book is given to anyone you know who like Halo and like to read.

5 out of 5 (Eric Nylund, I salute you!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a way to get your Halo fix!!, 25 July 2004
By 
r j miller (nr bungay, suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This book is amazing. Truly. Not just because its bridging the gap between the Halo games for us fans but because its got everything you need. Mystery, suspense, clifhangers, jaw-dropping action, surprises and of course a well constructed story that is perfect from start to finish. I don't want to ruin it for anyone, but for all you Halo fans out there theres some stuff in there that will make you think of the Halo saga differently and make change what you anticipate in Halo 2. Don't sit there reading this! Buy it! Then buy the other two. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eric Nylund rules!, 13 July 2005
This review is from: Halo: First Strike (Paperback)
The best one of the three. Eric Nylund returns with his writing expertise to give us the 3rd in the series. It is brilliant it tells us how SGT Johnson survived, how masterchief got back to earth, and what mystery lies under Reach's surface.
Eric also gets us back into the place when you think you're actually there. Full marks to one of the best stories I have ever read. I only hope they make one based on halo 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Master Chief Is Born, 27 July 2007
By 
CJ (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo: The Fall Of Reach (Paperback)
Books based on games are always a gamble, but with the rich plot of the Halo games and the efforts Bungie have made to create a detailed universe I decided to give the books a chance. I have to admit that I am surprised by the quality.

The Fall of Reach covers the events leading up to the first Halo game. It details the creation of the SPARTAN-II soldiers, the Master Chief's background, the beginnings of the Human-Covenant war, and also backstory on some of the periphery characters in the game, such as Captain Keyes.

The book moves at a rapid pace so covers a lot of ground. Nylund's style is a little too excitable and he could maybe flesh his characters out a little more, but he writes action well and considering the subject matter it is a well thought out novel.

Frankly, it could all be very silly but what you end up with is a gritty and mostly credible tale set within the Halo universe. If you have enjoyed the Halo games, give The Fall of Reach and the other books in the series a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nylund takes the Halo franchise and makes it his own, 7 Mar 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo: First Strike (Paperback)
I imagine that it is tremendously difficult to write a spin-off novel of a film or game without it becoming an extremely superficial read. That said, Nylund has managed by his second Halo book to take over the reigns from Bungie Studios and steer the Halo universe into a densely structured, character-centric, cyberpunk tinged tour-de-force.

There are parallel plot lines throughout this book, overlapping and interconnecting that kept the overall story unpredictable whilst never letting my attention off the boil. The science-driven plot devices are superb too, and in particular, his technical understanding of artificial intelligence is used to his advantage in writing Cortana's part of the story (the ai character).

Having played through both games twice and now on to Nylund's next book "Ghosts of Onyx", I feel so enthralled that it is difficult to compare the experience to that of any other media based entertainment I've had so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halo: The Fall Of Reach
Halo: The Fall Of Reach by Eric S. Nylund (Paperback - 7 Feb 2005)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews