Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars81
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2014
live it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2007
After reading the first book, i couldn't wait to read this folowing book to see what would happen, and i wasn't dissapointed it was an exciting second part! I can't wait for the final book to be released and hope that its going to have an amazing ending!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2010
Nice entertaining book, well written and good satisfying ending to the series - Trudi Canavan is a good author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2006
After the boring first book, this one slightly improves. The first book was 600 pages of battle plans and alliences. 30 pages were the actual war then another 30 pages as an aftermath.

Not a good first book but the world Canavan created was a good one and I trusted her to use all this back story she used in book one to create something great in book two. Unfortunately, we are still waiting for this 'greatness' to happen, which I am now certain will come in book three, because the end of book two was fantastic.

This book is almost the same as the first one, as it takes about 400 pages for the story to start, but once it does it's very good and gripping. Unfortunately there are some really ridiculous elements to this story and when I say ridiculous I am referring to Auraya's new subject in her love affairs. How stupid. I think Canavan has some weird fetish. It's just not convincing and comes out wrong on so many levels.

Many characters you got to know in the first book are redundant in this book. Tryss doesn't exist in this book apart from being briefly mentioned twice - you won't see him again. One has to wonder what the whole point of Danjin Spear was in the first book (he was useless enough then) but now he has no page time whatsoever. Canavan has a awful habit of adding useless characters in her stories (think back to her gay character in TBM).

The great thing about the book is that we are treated to the 'other side' as much as the Circulans side. The Pendatarians are in this often and are shown as noble. Their view on things are interesting. Another welcome addition is Imi's inclusion in the story (she was mentioned very briefly in book one; she is the princess of the sea people).

Don't worry if you enjoyed all the typos, grammar mistakes, and spelling mistakes in the first book and in the Black Magician Trilogy, they are all still here in this second volume in all of their infamous glory.

Over all, if you did enjoy the first book, this one is definitely better therefore you will enjoy it. If you found your patience running out with the first book this second one may well defeat you. But I suggest reading it out, because I sincerely believe we are in for an excellent finale.

This book is above average, but it doesn't merit four stars either.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2007
After finishing the Dark Magician Trilogy, I was delighted to find the Age of the Five books. Having dashed through book 1, I couldn't wait to get started on this one - book two.

Any fan of fantasy fiction will love this series - roll on book 3!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
Once more Trudie takes you on an adventure with more twists and turns,revelations and intrigue.Never letting the reader to grow bored.An utterly enthralling read.I Can't wait to start book 3.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
This book was even more gripping than the first in it's series, and came as a complete shock when it suddenly ended! Can't wait to see where it goes in part three.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
This is a story which is set in a time where magicians are sent away to train and is a fight between good and evil. It is an excellent read and is part of a series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
Enjoyed the book, I am looking forward to finishing the series, all the treads are coming together, the book hold your attention down al the different avenues.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
The plot thickens and the web is tightening is she a Wild?
I am already itching to read the final book - and I am beginning to dislike The Whites God's!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse