Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling adventure, romance, political intrigue & world building - an altogether riveting novel!~
"Kushiel's Scion" is the fourth book in Jacqueline Carey's thrilling fantasy series of life in the exotic realm of Terre d'Ange, a world somewhat similar to our Earth, during a period reminiscent of the Renaissance. The preceding "Kushiel's Legacy" trilogy, composed of "Kushiel's Dart," "Kushiel's Chosen," and "Kushiel's Avatar" are all extraordinary novels, and although...
Published on 23 Aug 2006 by Jana L. Perskie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit slow getting going
This book took a long while to get going. There's too much soul searching and much of it is very repetitive. Once it does get going it's quite interesting, though I think it would have benefited from extensive editing, and cutting out all the repetitive stuff.
Published 15 months ago by S. Amitay


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling adventure, romance, political intrigue & world building - an altogether riveting novel!~, 23 Aug 2006
"Kushiel's Scion" is the fourth book in Jacqueline Carey's thrilling fantasy series of life in the exotic realm of Terre d'Ange, a world somewhat similar to our Earth, during a period reminiscent of the Renaissance. The preceding "Kushiel's Legacy" trilogy, composed of "Kushiel's Dart," "Kushiel's Chosen," and "Kushiel's Avatar" are all extraordinary novels, and although it is not necessary to have read them in order to enjoy this one, they do provide a fantastic reading experience and a wonderful introduction to Jacqueline Carey's latest protagonist, Imriel no Montreve de la Courcel. "Scion" is also the first novel in a new trilogy which will chronicle the life of de la Courcel, the foster son of Phèdre nó Delaunay, the Comtesse de Montreve, peer of Terre d'Ange, and her consort, the Cassiline apostate, Joscelin Verreuil.

Imriel, a royal prince of the blood, was abandoned in infancy by both of his treasonous parents. Captured in childhood by pirates, the boy spent his youth in slavery, subjected to abominable & depraved torture until he was rescued by Phèdre and Joscelin, who love him as a son. Now, a handsome and accomplished teen, Imriel is experiencing the normal restlessness and insecurities of adolescence, but is additionally burdened by his past experiences. He finds it difficult to live down his mother's, Melisande Shahrizai's, reputation as an arch villainess who would sell her soul and her son, seemingly, for a kingdom and power. When he unwillingly become involved in court intrigue, Imriel decides to study abroad and takes on an anonymous identity to do so.

Much more than a coming of age tale, Ms Carey dramatically and skillfully changes her point of view from the mindset of a mature woman to that of an adolescent boy with an unusual amount of baggage. Unlike most young men of his age, Imriel must struggle with an infamous heritage and nightmarish memories. While this boy-man is not anywhere near as complex a character as the mature woman, Phèdre nó Delaunay, Imriel is no slouch either. He has yet to acquire Phèdre's life experience, and that is what this novel is about - acquiring experience, adventuring and building character. There are enough complexities in this tale to satisfy the most demanding and discerning reader.

The plot and subplots are unique and stunning. The excitement just doesn't stop. Ms. Carey combines swashbuckling adventure, romance, eroticism, political intrigue and world building. Her imaginative use of historic detail, diverse cultures, the creation of many varied characters and their development, make this series so special. A riveting novel - I couldn't put it down. Highly recommended

JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Establishing a new era, 16 Oct 2008
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kushiel's Scion: Treason's Heir: Book One (Paperback)
After a long break between the first series and now, fans have long since anticipated the arrival of the new Jacqueline Carey, however the question that's been bandied about the chat room's is will it live up to the hype as well as their expectations?

Facing this question, and having been a fan of the original series its been not only a long wait but one that made me apprehensive about picking up this first offering as I didn't want the magic of the first series to leave me, yet its something that in much a way that a moth is drawn to flames I found my hand wandering upon its arrival. Finally biting the bullet I picked it up and began. The tale, told from the point of view of the next generation of the original characters has had some significant changes as the magical aspect appears to have been powered down quite a bit which to be honest makes it more interesting to me as I'm a "spirit of man" type of reader. I like it when a character has to slog their way to their goal as opposed to clicking their fingers, that's no adventure plus the struggle allows the reader to see the character develop as well as allowing them to form a closer connection to them which in turn allows greater emotional attachment which builds the anticipation of each twist as you wonder what's going to happen along with how the character is going to escape.

Not quite what fans will have expected but the first offering in a new series is always going to have a hard time but by the end it's clear that Jacqueline has a clear grasp upon the protagonist and will undoubtedly improve in the next instalment. In all a slight disappointment but its solid writing that can only stand the author in good stead for future book's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you liked the first three books, you'll like this, 12 Mar 2009
I have to admit I was absolutely thrilled when I discovered that Carey was writing more of her Kushiel books. If you havent read the previous ones, then go and read those first. So grap Kushiel's Dart (Mass Market Paperback) first. The reason I'm saying this is because if you read this and you love it (like you should), it will slightly spoil the first trilogy. And the first three books are in my opinion just so much more facinating, but I guess that's just because they are about Phedre (people who have read them know what I'm talking about here).

This book starts a new trilogy from where the previous trilogy ended. The same world and lots of the same characters. Of course the times are now slightly different and there are new people thrown into the mix. The main difference however this time is that the protagonist changes from Phèdre nó Delaunay to Imriel no Montreve. And I admit this change did worry me. Phedre for me is the most interesting, most complex and most challenging female protagonist I've ever met in fantasy literature, hands down.

The world the book is set in is the same politically and sexually coloured fantasy world Carey so skillfully painted in the first books. There are gods, religions, political factions, cultures, countries. All carefully crafted, believable. It's like our world through a (fantasy) looking glass. For some the sexual and BDSM coloured overtones might be a bit too much. Yes there are both of them in this also, and again they are integral part of the world and the characters.

Now Imriel is an interesting character, weighted down by his own history and his own problems, but I admit, she isn't Phedre. I would have wanted to read something about Phedre, but Imriel will do more than fine. He might not be as complex character as Phedre was (but who could be), but his strugle with his own destiny, life and desires paints a troubled and complex character.

By it's own standards it is a great book. So, like I said if you liked the first three, you'll like this also. If you haven't read the first three, please(!) start with those. It wouldn't be right to read this first. But it is a worthy sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the firsst series to this also (Kushiel's Chosen).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars treason heir, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant!
Loved following the story of a prince of the blood!
Enjoyed every passionate, nail biting, heart breaking sentence.
Can't wait to read book two
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit slow getting going, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book took a long while to get going. There's too much soul searching and much of it is very repetitive. Once it does get going it's quite interesting, though I think it would have benefited from extensive editing, and cutting out all the repetitive stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kushiels scion, 7 May 2010
This review is from: Kushiel's Scion: Treason's Heir: Book One (Paperback)
I read this book without knowing that there were previous books, albeit in a different trilogy. This work covers situations that most people thankfully never experience these day's. Carey has done this with compassion, thoughtfulness and great sensativity. I have finally found another author who stands up there with Katherine Kerr and Bernard Cornwall. This novel will fill your heart with love for the charctures, compassion for the strength they have and what they have indured and above all, make you think. This is what the novel is about. It's pushes the boundries, makes you look beyond yourself, and makes you ask questions. One of the best books I have ever read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as great as her first series, I can't wait to read the rest., 1 Dec 2007
The first trilogy was brilliant, this first book in the new trilogy is just as good.

This is a brillantly written novel, as are all of Carey's work.
You get the same things you get in the first trilogy, great action, eroticism not just in deed but in thought and enough politics and intrigue to fill Five volumes of a lesser author's work.

There is only one diffrence in this book, and that being the main protagonist is male and not female. I know that Phedre is probably the best female protagonist in the fantsy fiction world, but don't let this put you off, Imriel de la Courcel is just as good.
Read this novel you will not regret it

P.S, After this trilogy has been concluded Carey is said to be writing another trilogy set in the same world just a couple of hundred years in the future.The main protagonist will be FEMALE.

I hope that this review was of some help to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carey & Kushiel do it again!, 23 July 2007
By 
Nubian K (London, England) - See all my reviews
I fell in love with Phedre and Joscelin (the previous 3 books about Kushiel) and came to care for Imri. I was concerned when I heard there were to be books based around Imri but I was pleasantly surprised. Carey takes her time to introduce all of the flaws and attributes in Imri and we see them as he does and we come to understand as he does, as Phedre did, that to be touched by a God, especially one as stern as Kushiel is to be cursed to be part of mighty happenings, to be rewarded (sideways!) and to be blessed with the knowledge that to be touched is to be loved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 3 July 2006
By 
S. Gordon (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a wonderful book. Like many readers, I'm sure, I was concerned that a follow up to the Kushiel Legacy was going to be lacking! I'm glad to report I was wrong. Jacqueline Carey is a wonderful writer/storyteller. I only wish that the next book "Kushiel's Justice" was availble now!!! Roll on June 2007.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kushiel's Scion: Treason's Heir: Book One
Kushiel's Scion: Treason's Heir: Book One by Jacqueline Carey (Paperback - 7 Aug 2008)
£7.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews