Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars werewolf meets vampire in a truely unique story
This is my absolute favorite book of the series. It keeps the the tension high and makes an exciting read which is a great mix of a horror and decetive themes. Tanya lets you get very close to the characters in this tale of a modern day werewolf pack being hunted by a most unexpected killer, who turn to an old friend of the family for help. Enter Henry Fitzroy, bastard...
Published on 17 Nov 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Blood ties series
Book was an easy read.
Good to read when travelling.
Enjoyable and just enough detail and mystery to keep me interested.
Published 18 months ago by Alison


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars werewolf meets vampire in a truely unique story, 17 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This is my absolute favorite book of the series. It keeps the the tension high and makes an exciting read which is a great mix of a horror and decetive themes. Tanya lets you get very close to the characters in this tale of a modern day werewolf pack being hunted by a most unexpected killer, who turn to an old friend of the family for help. Enter Henry Fitzroy, bastard son of king Henry V11, vampire and novelist who, with a little help from his friend, ex-cop, Vicki Nelson, finally solves the crime that the police can't touch. Overall a great read that I would recommend to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing 2nd book in the blood series, 5 Dec 2004
This review is from: Blood Trail: Blood Series Book Two (Victoria Nelson) (Paperback)
Henry Fitzroy (500years a vampire) has some friends the Heerkens family who need some help.
He introduces Vicki Nelson PI to Rose Heerkens and Storm (a large russet coloured dog). When Vicki asks "What kind of dog is he?" she gets an unusual response as Storm becomes a red-haired young man, Peter, Rose's twin brother.
They explain that two of their family have been killed, both shot through the head with a silver bullet at night and both were in wolf form.
Vicki sets off to the Heerkens sheep farm near the town of London (Ontario) to investigate, taking Henry with her to do the night work as she has no night vision. Halfway through her investigation Mike Celluci (her sort of boyfriend) turns up worried about her association with Henry. Mike ends up helping as the killer attempts to kill again and a new deadlier player enters the ring!
This is a fantastic book. The imagery is amazing, how she manages to convey so much without resorting to large chunks of description still baffles me but I love it. I can still see the farm with the young 'were' romping changing from human to dog, as she captures that playfulness of young dogs and puppies so well.
The characters of Vicki, Henry and Mike evolve a little more and the relationships between all 3 get more complicated.
From the start you get snippets of the killers thoughts and then ½ way through you become aware of who the killer is and of his motives and desires, whilst watching Vicki & co try to figure it out before more killings occur. But time is ticking and one of the killers has a dramatic ending in store for the werewolves!
How can this book be topped?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More BLOOD please, 22 Dec 2005
By 
Teddy (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Trail: Blood Series Book Two (Victoria Nelson) (Paperback)
This book continues the Blood series in the same gripping manner as the first, moving the reader further into the unfolding relationshipd between Toronto P.I., Vicki Nelson, Henry the romance-writing vampire and Mike Celluci her ex-parner in the police force as they attempt to prevent a family of sheep-farming werewolves from being picked off by an unknown marksman.
Loved it.
Luckily, there are more boks in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My first time with Tanya Huff, 26 Feb 2008
By 
David Sparkes "Sparky" (high wycombe,Bucks.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood Trail: Blood Series Book Two (Victoria Nelson) (Paperback)
This is the first book I have read by Tanya,and I must say it was excellent. A real "page turner" I have been reading a lot of Vampire/Werewolf/Demon books of late, from Charlaine Harris to Laurell K. Hamilton with quite a few pretenders in-between!!
But Tanya's, PI Vicki Nelson is not only very believable but the world and characters woven around her is just great.
The pages don't drag,I couldn't get through them quick enough.
I look forward to reading through the rest of the Blood series.
A very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Highly Recommend, 21 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Trail: Blood Series Book Two (Victoria Nelson) (Paperback)
I got into this book series after becoming hooked on the "Blood Ties" TV show. This book doesn't disappoint. Bar a few pages I find that the story moves along at a perfect pace. The writing completely pulls you in and you will soon find that a few hours have passed. The love triangle is perfectly pitched, with all 3 main characters having flaws. I love the fact that Vicki is a bit older and emotionally damaged but doesn't deny herself the simple pleasures in life. I would give this book 5 stars but Blood Lines is my favourite. I try and read all Blood books a few times a year!!!
Happy reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's the puppy domain!, 3 Mar 2010
This review is from: Blood Trail: Blood Series Book Two (Victoria Nelson) (Paperback)
A good second book to the story of Vicky Nelson and her men....If you liked the first one, you will read the second novel with interest. It tells you more about the story of the characters especially about Henry's past. Vicky and her new vampire collegue are the core of the story together with the supernatural family in trouble they get to help. Their relationship deepens while they get to a whole new stage where blood and feeding become an important part of trust and love. And Cellucci gets more and more involved, though unwilling, into this dark world difficult to understand and deal with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars things are hotting up, 20 April 2009
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood Trail: Blood Series Book Two (Victoria Nelson) (Paperback)
vicki gets a case involving werewolves so she gets out of toronto with henry to investigate. things start to hot up between them in between investigating who is killing the werewolves, but then cellucci shows up and things get even more complicated as there are still sparks between vicki and him. great read couldnt put it down!!!! keep forgetting that these books were written before everybody has a mobile fone which has a camera which would have helped vicki out!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Blood ties series, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Trail: Blood Series Book Two (Victoria Nelson) (Paperback)
Book was an easy read.
Good to read when travelling.
Enjoyable and just enough detail and mystery to keep me interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book Two. Well done!, 4 Nov 2012
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood Trail: Blood Series Book Two (Victoria Nelson) (Paperback)
Victoria "Vicki" Nelson became a private investigator after her eye disease (Retintis Pigmentosa) forced her off the Metro Police. Her best friend of over four years is Detective-Sergeant Michael "Mike" Celluci. Though Vicki is no longer with the Metropolitan Toronto Police Department, she and Mike still help each other blow off steam. Doing so often leads them to the bedroom. Their relationship is loose. They each see other people. Recently Vicki met Henry Fitzroy. Mike has no idea that Henry is a vampire or that the creatures even exist. Mike only knows that he does not like the man.

When Henry asks Vicki to help some of his friends with a problem, she knows that the problem may not be what most would call normal. Vicki and Henry travel to a sheep farm just north of London, Ontario. The sheep farm belongs to a family of werewolves. Vicki's job is to find the person, or people, involved in trying to kill them.

Between Vicki investigating during the day time and Henry during the night, good headway is being made. But then Mike shows up unexpectedly. Mike has been doing some background checking on Vicki's new boyfriend and he is convinced that Henry is involved in organized crime. Vicki is furious of course, but before she can get him to leave Mike learns what her clients are. Mike world not have believed it, except that he had seen a demon trying to kill Vicki only a month or so prior.

**** FOUR STARS! This is the second title in the Blood Series. Last story had a demon in it. This time it has werewolves. The love triangle finally finishes forming during this case. Mike and Henry realize that they both want an exclusive relationship with Vicki, and that neither are willing to give her up. As for Vicki, she is learning not to judge her clients by human standards, no matter how human they seem most of the time.

Huff has another winning story in this book. There are many typos (in the Kindle version that I purchased), but not as many as in the first story. Well done! ****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Blood Trail starts a few months after Blood Price ends, 15 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Blood Trail: Blood Series Book Two (Victoria Nelson) (Paperback)
Vicki and Henry have been seeing each other, seemingly romantically. Vicki's vision has gotten worse. Mike Celluci is still suspicious of Henry and has begun his own investigation into Henry's past. Otherwise, they've been living relatively calm lives in Toronto. There's a little more angst in this book since Vicki, a former cop is a big believer in the system and in right and wrong, she wants justice served through the laws of the land. She is torn since she knows that justice for the killer would be impossible to find in the courts of man without serving up the werewolves on a platter.
While I like the stories being told, I'm not fond of Tanya Huff's tendency to reveal who the killer is about halfway through the book, rather than let the reader see how our protagonists figure it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood Trail: Blood Series Book Two (Victoria Nelson)
Blood Trail: Blood Series Book Two (Victoria Nelson) by Tanya Huff (Paperback - 4 Nov 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews