Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Fantasy by a master Storyteller
The Sword of Shannara is a book from the same mould as Lord of the Rings. Its an epic fantasy set in a fictional world where good and evil intermingle, and Elves and Dwarves roam the forests alongside men. It tells the tale of one family's fight against the Warlock Lord; Shea Shannara is the last descendant of the great Elven kings and it's his family's magical heritage...
Published on 27 Sep 2002 by Miss Victoria H. Bell

versus
15 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and clumsy storytelling
I heard so much about this series of books and bought the omnibus edition to read the main trilogy.
Following the first story of Shea Ohmsford and his brother Flick on a quest lead by the mysterious druid Allanon and joined by a host of others from dwarf and man, they quest to find the legendary sword of Shannara to defeat the Warlock Lord.
In this first story,...
Published on 10 Aug 2004 by Iceni Peasant


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Fantasy by a master Storyteller, 27 Sep 2002
The Sword of Shannara is a book from the same mould as Lord of the Rings. Its an epic fantasy set in a fictional world where good and evil intermingle, and Elves and Dwarves roam the forests alongside men. It tells the tale of one family's fight against the Warlock Lord; Shea Shannara is the last descendant of the great Elven kings and it's his family's magical heritage that the world must rely on. The first book focuses on Shea's search to find the legendary Sword of Shannara, the only weapon capable of defeating the Warlock Lord. Shea's discovery of his heritage and him trying to come to terms with it while his world is falling apart around him makes for great reading.
In the Elfstones of Shannara, the task of saving the world falls on Wil Ohmsford, Shea's grandson, and an Elven girl. They must restore the ancient wards that protect the Elves and the rest of the world from the Demons imprisoned beyond them.
The third and final book of the trilogy is the Wishsong of Shannara. Wil Ohmsfords children have been born with the magic of the wishsong and it is this power that they must wield to restore the balance between good and evil. But be warned, this one's a bit of a weepy and is much scarier than previous books!
If you like romance, this has romance, if you want fighting, this has fighting and if you want magic, theres plenty to be had here. I couldn't put this book down, it is quite simply fantastic and any fantasy fan should have this in their collection! If you already have all three books seperately, buy this anyway so when you finish one book you are saved the inconvenience of having to get up to find the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth read, 4 May 2010
By 
Mr. Shaun Connolly (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sword of Shannara Trilogy (Paperback)
If you have read any of Terry Brooks' books before then you know the type of writer he is. I am near the end of the first book of the trilogy and although very good is a little predictable. I would however recommend it to anyone although if you carry your book around with you, this trilogy is quite heavy being about 100mm thick and mid way between A5 and A4 in size. It is however much cheaper that buying the three books seperately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, although not overly taxing, 8 Mar 2005
By 
Aaron C Reskew (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Sword of Shannara Trilogy (Paperback)
I first read the Sword of Shannara when I was about 13 and absolutely loved it. The Elfstones and the Wishsong soon followed.
Now aged, shall we say, a little more than 13 I still enjoy the books although I wouldn't recommend them to someone who wanted a deep involved plot.
Without giving too much away of the plot, the first book features Shea Ohmsford who is visited by a tall dark stranger, the druid Allanon. It turns out he is actually adopted and (surprise, surprise) descended from Elven kings. Naturally he is the only one with the birthright to wield the ancient Sword to defeat the evil Warlock Lord. So off he goes to kill the bad guy, facing assorted hazards along the way.
The second book, the Elfstones, is set one generation later. This time it's Shea's son who is needed to go into battle against legions of Demons and save the legendary Ellcrys, the tree that keeps the Demons banished.
The third and final book in the trilogy is the Wishsong, set further into the future again (I think two generations, but forget). This time a brother and sister have similar but conveniently different manifestations of the Shannara magic (yet preserve the Ohmsford name) and set out to defeat the Mord Wraiths.
The story is sufficiently involving to be worth a read, but it's a fairly light read. If you're looking for a light fantasy read I can highly recommend this series. If you want to have to really think about the plot and figure out the twists and turns you'll probably find it a bit thin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terry Brooks Shannara Trilogy, 15 Feb 2010
By 
D. J. Dray - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sword of Shannara Trilogy (Paperback)
An Excellent story following the fortunes of a land post apocalypse. A full supporting cast of elves, dwarfs, gnomes, trolls, druids and men, the story can be a little slow at times, but there are enough fast moving passages and twists to keep you hooked. Very "Tolkienesque", the parallels with "Lord of the Rings" are at time more than obvious, but there are enough differences to make it forgivable. On a practical note, the whole trilogy in one book is very uncomfortable to read, the book is just too big.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Written as if for children. Moderately amusing rather than gripping or absorbing., 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sword of Shannara Trilogy (Paperback)
Black and white, good and evil, very little subtlety or complexity of character depth or progression. Just like a Tolkien-wannabee though not without it's entertainment factor, hence my 4 star rating. Also note - this trilogy is HUGE (around 10 cms wide) and very heavy to hold when reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly fantastic, brillant read, 2 Dec 2009
By 
Ms. D. J. Hewson "Gaming Girl D" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sword of Shannara Trilogy (Paperback)
This Book comprises of 3 books. The sword of Shannara, The elfstones of Shannara and the Wishsong of Shannara.
All 3 have an epic storyline and fantastic character base. The writers ability to help you get to know the characters is incredible and I've never had a book that gripped me so well as this one did. I completely lost myself in it.
My favourite book personally would have to be the first one. The sword of shannara. It helps you get to know the characters a little better not to mention this is the starting point for the other two books as all books run in a timeline with roughly the same characters but of a different generation with one character in all three.
These books will leave you terrified, and giggling away aswell as sad and one even made me cry. I do have to put one comparison in it though as the first one is similar to Lord of the rings. Not entierly but the base of it, with characters going on a quest to find a certain something with a druid with magic powers. Thats really the only similarity.
But I can garentee once you read this book you'll want more of what Terry Brooks has to offer and go to buy more of his books. Have a read and ejoy. Loose yourself in the magical kingdom of Shannara.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Up to expectations, 17 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sword of Shannara Trilogy (Paperback)
I had previously read (years ago) the Sword of Shannara, but it didn't enthrall me. This time I got the first Trilogy (The Sword of Shannara) and read all the stories in sequence from start to finish. I found the story got my attention this time and I could not put it down. I have now just finished the second trilogy (The Heritage of Shannara) and have recently bought the next trilogy. Perhaps my perception of the story has changed over the years, and I am rather pleased that there has been a good gap, because I can now read the whole series in order from start to end, and getting it all in chronological order has greatly enhanced the series. I have become absorbed into the whole Shannara story, and can't wait to get on with the rest of it.

The characters have completely captured me and everyone has its own foibles. I could almost believe that fairies and goblins and dwarves really do exist. The story is imaginative and I love the maps, to which I am always referring to as I read. Terry Brooks has created a great work of fiction and I would love to see it on film. Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings made great films, why not Shannara? What an epic.

I want to know what happens to the descendants of the Ohmsfords, and the Elves. I wish there had been more of the Tree Squeaks and they had been given a bigger family. I almost cried when Faun died trying to protect Wren.

Wonderful, Wonderful. Terry Brooks has created a great epic and I for one have enjoyed it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hmm, well..its the best series ever!, 11 Feb 2004
By 
theguywholikesbooks..really (Great Britain.......somwhere) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sword of Shannara Trilogy (Paperback)
The first book SWORD OF SHANNARA has brilliant adventuring and it's fast paced with loads of action in it. There's so many characters and they all have unique attributes, like they aren't all good or bad. I don't want to give everything away so i'll just say that it's one of the best books i've read. THE ELFSTONES OF SHANNARA is the best book out of them all with all that action and suspense, making it the most atmospheric and exciting book ever. now... THE WISHSONG OF SHANNARA is a tricky one, its's got better characters then the others and by far the best ending but it can have some unnecessary talking, anyway who cares? Buy it! You'll really love these books, and 10 pounds is a complete bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and clumsy storytelling, 10 Aug 2004
By 
Iceni Peasant (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sword of Shannara Trilogy (Paperback)
I heard so much about this series of books and bought the omnibus edition to read the main trilogy.
Following the first story of Shea Ohmsford and his brother Flick on a quest lead by the mysterious druid Allanon and joined by a host of others from dwarf and man, they quest to find the legendary sword of Shannara to defeat the Warlock Lord.
In this first story, right from the first few chapters I became aware of the blatant use of Lord of The Rings plots and twists.
A lot of fantasy books also borrow from Tolkien in some way such as Robert Jordan and his Wheel Of Time series, but none of those writers seem to have borrowed so obviously.
I thought by the second book of the trilogy Terry Brooks would have found his own way, I was wrong. There's still huge borrowed imagery from LOTR. The 2nd story is set 50 years after the first, which is a nice touch, but has been done before with The Hobbit followed by LOTR!
The second story follows Shea Ohmsford's grandson Wil on a quest to help an Elven girl Amberle seek her destiny and save an ancient Elven tree and stop the world from being overtaken by demons.
I had heard so much about the series of books being "fantastic" and "superlative", but I don't find the writing very high quality at all. The author's characterizations are predictable, and his use of keeping the reader up to speed with the "story so far" by getting a character to "think for a moment on all that had happened since...." are so clumsy and amateur.
However, having said all this, the trilogy CAN be enjoyed as long as you don't expect too much and accept you're reading a scrambled version of LOTR!! It's a good bedtime book, which doesn't need too much thinking about.
If you're looking for the spectacular from your choice of fantasy book look elsewhere, but if you're not fussy and you're happy to jog along with a gentle harmless story then this is the book for you.
One thing I'm sure of, this trilogy is NOT the classic I was made to believe it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such an enjoyable read, 21 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sword of Shannara Trilogy (Paperback)
Although similar to LOTR these books are so much more enjoyable and easy to read. In addition you can read one at a time, as each is a separate story, so don't feel you have to slog your way through all three to get to the end. Each is a wonderful story, cleverly plotted and very gripping. A must read for any fantasy reader, definitely on a level with David Gemmell and David Eddings books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadaceeac)

This product

The Sword of Shannara Trilogy
The Sword of Shannara Trilogy by Terry Brooks (Paperback - 15 Jan 2004)
18.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews