Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


126 of 129 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jordan goes back to the beginning...
Firstly, it's nice to see that here, in comparison to the US amazon site, there's only one person reviewing the book who hasn't read it and has given it a one star. I can well understand fans annoyance at having to wait for the next book but no one is forcing them to buy this book, it is not an integral part of the main series, nor has it claimed to be.
This is a...
Published on 12 Jan. 2004 by D. Wright

versus
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Wheel spins yet again
It is almost impossible for a reviewer to seperate New Spring from the main body of the Wheel of time series. However does that do so will realise that Robert Jordan has lost none of his ability to write a good story. Apart from the last chapter (25) which is the same material as the short story from the Legends Anthology, the novella contains all new material. Sharply...
Published on 15 Jan. 2004 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Wheel spins yet again, 15 Jan. 2004
It is almost impossible for a reviewer to seperate New Spring from the main body of the Wheel of time series. However does that do so will realise that Robert Jordan has lost none of his ability to write a good story. Apart from the last chapter (25) which is the same material as the short story from the Legends Anthology, the novella contains all new material. Sharply written and with a noticeable pace to the story that has been lacking in the main books, New Spring provides wonderful insight into the workings of the White Tower, and the characters of Moraine, Lan and others who feature in later books. However, when one weighs the price of this short novel, the inclusion of the material from Legends, and the whole question of whether it is appropriate to release a prequel while the main tale hangs unfinished, one must conclude that New Spring, although deserving of it's place in the Wheel of Time corpus, is a well written but unnessacary addition at this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


126 of 129 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jordan goes back to the beginning..., 12 Jan. 2004
By 
D. Wright (Clapham, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Firstly, it's nice to see that here, in comparison to the US amazon site, there's only one person reviewing the book who hasn't read it and has given it a one star. I can well understand fans annoyance at having to wait for the next book but no one is forcing them to buy this book, it is not an integral part of the main series, nor has it claimed to be.
This is a prequel to the Wheel of Time series, now 10 books long. In Jordan's most recent interview (Jan 04) he states that he anticipates being able to finish in perhaps two books (he has been saying this since 1994 however, so be warned). While it has been advertised as an entry point to the series, I would not recommend it as such. Concepts are not sufficiently explained and to be honest the Eye of the World, the first book in the series, can work as a stand alone book. Try that before this.
The book comes in essentially two parts; the first concerns Moiraine and Siuan, two young women who feature later in the series. The story documents how they become fully-fledged Aes Sedai after many years of training and how they come to begin a search for the Dragon Reborn. This part of the book is great for fans in that we see a lot more of the White Tower than previously. We also see what could be deemed 'normal' AS training as opposed to that shown for Elayne, Egwene and Nynaeve in the main series. Jordan's writing style, in contrast to his more recent work, is concise yet retaining his trademarks to a sufficient degree to be interesting.
The second part of the novel is essentially the novella in Legends. If you've already read this, then the last 100 pages will simply be the same old material.
If your a fan and haven't got Legends, see this as simply more material. An enjoyable read even if it does not progress the series. As a non-fan, this could be a confusing novel that in the end stops before the real action begins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh please Mr Jordan....hurry up!, 30 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This book is an ok read, but my appreciation of it was much soured by my annoyance at Mr Jordan's continued inability to bring this story to a close. At least the Leighs managed to finish what they started in the Belgariad before they returned to cash in on prequels.
What an author asks of us is a person's most precious asset, time. I feel robbed of mine, partly because I have to waste so much time re-reading his previous books and the special webistes, just so I can gather the many strings and threads of the plot again!
This book does not serve as a good intro for new WoT readers, it is suitable for those people who have read all TWELVE (eventual) books, who want to reminisce. I would recommend Robert Jordan to anyone...but not until 2007/2008 or whenever he finishes his series - at which point I will once again count him a great author.
I wish he could have taken a leaf from Tolkien and not publish his life's work until it is finished!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Back to basics, 20 Jan. 2004
By 
N. Clarke (Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's prequel number one (of three) for Jordan as the end of the Wheel of Time recedes ever farther from sight.
Leaving aside the necessity or otherwise of further bloating an already mammoth series, examined on its own merits _New Spring_ has more to recommend it than the last few instalments in the series proper. Without the need to buoy up a multiplicity of storylines, Jordan produces a fast-paced, engaging tale. It's Lan and Moiraine: The Early Years, essentially; set twenty years before the other books, this deals with Gitara's Foretelling of the Dragon's rebirth, and how a young Cairhienin Accepted gains the shawl and finds her Warder.
The problem is the very 'expansion' that is responsible for this tale being republished. The original 'New Spring' novella from _Legends_ is included here with few changes (bar some extra incidents on the road to Chachin), and as such remains well worth the read - if you don't already own a copy of _Legends_. The new material tacked onto the beginning, however, will appeal only to real WoT masochists. An account of Siuan and Moiraine's ascent from Accepted to full sisters, it's sometimes entertaining in its portrait of the series' key players in their youth, but on the whole it's too redolent of the later books in the WoT - full of unmemorable characters and info-dump exposition, devoid of tension or much in the way of humour.
Newcomers should go to _The Eye of the World_ and its immediate successors, where the exploration of the White Tower is pulled off far more gradually and elegantly. Fans will probably buy this one anyway, but be warned: if you've read the excellent original story, there's little new here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Back to basics, 14 Jun. 2005
By 
N. Clarke (Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Spring: A Wheel of Time Prequel (Paperback)
It's prequel number one (of three) for Jordan as the end of the Wheel of Time recedes ever farther from sight.
Leaving aside the necessity or otherwise of further bloating an already mammoth series, examined on its own merits _New Spring_ has more to recommend it than the last few instalments in the series proper. Without the need to buoy up a multiplicity of storylines, Jordan produces a fast-paced, engaging tale. It's Lan and Moiraine: The Early Years, essentially; set twenty years before the other books, this deals with Gitara's Foretelling of the Dragon's rebirth, and how a young Cairhienin Accepted gains the shawl and finds her Warder.
The problem is the very 'expansion' that is responsible for this tale being republished. The original 'New Spring' novella from _Legends_ is included here with few changes (bar some extra incidents on the road to Chachin), and as such remains well worth the read - if you don't already own a copy of _Legends_. The new material tacked onto the beginning, however, will appeal only to real WoT masochists. An account of Siuan and Moiraine's ascent from Accepted to full sisters, it's sometimes entertaining in its portrait of the series' key players in their youth, but on the whole it's too redolent of the later books in the WoT - full of unmemorable characters and info-dump exposition, devoid of tension or much in the way of humour.
Newcomers should go to _The Eye of the World_ and its immediate successors, where the exploration of the White Tower is pulled off far more gradually and elegantly. Fans will probably buy this one anyway, but be warned: if you've read the excellent original story, there's little new here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better going backwards than forwards it seems..., 7 Feb. 2004
By 
Iceni Peasant (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After being so disappointed with Crossroads Of Twilight I approached this book with a little concern that it was just going to lengthen and complicate established plots and character development. I was however pleasantly surprised to find Mr. Jordan going back to the style of writing that had me hooked on the series in the beginning.
It was fascinating and intriguing to read the back story of Moiraine and Siuan as Accepted in the Tower and how they became aware of the Dragon Reborn and how it shaped their futures.
It was also nice to see what kind of man Lan was before he met Moiraine and how those two eventually met. Several elements from the whole series are answered in this book and neatly rounded off.
I am disappointed to hear the author maybe writing two more prequels rather than getting onto Vol 11 next....but this book was very good and interesting. The debate is whether he knows where Vol 11 will be at and HOW to finish the series....but this prequel is a huge improvement in interest value than Vol 10 was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite an amazing book, not that I expected anything less of Robert Jordan or his Wheel of Time Book Series., 2 Mar. 2014
I picked this book up rather randomly at a second hand store thinking that it was half of the first book ‘Eye of the World’ which is what I thought I had heard somewhere. I did this because I thought I might be able to give it to a friend or family member for Christmas. At only 400 ish pages then it isn’t too overpowering for someone who isn’t used to the Wheel of Time books.

However it turned out that I was wrong, very wrong, this book was actually a prequel to the Wheel of Time series. I hadn’t, and still haven’t, finished the Wheel of Time series … I am on book eleven at the moment and just about half way through it I’d say. Luckily as this was a prequel I was able to pick it up and read it regardless of where I was in the main series, and I was glad to do so.

My other Wheel of Time books (since book 9) have been on Kindle (or equivalent e-reader) so it was nice to finally have one that I could hold and turn the pages of. As I found it in a charity shop it had already been read a few times and had that nice old book feel to it, which added to the enjoyment even more. I do hold a special place in my heart for paper books.

It was the fact it was a paper book that led me to read it and not really put it down. I started before Christmas and finished it a few days ago, having brought it on the journey of a lifetime with me to Thailand!

The book was brilliant, I enjoyed it thoroughly … it was nice to have an idea to some of the backstory in any series, and many series would and probably should capitalise on this, we love to know more about characters whom we have grown to love (especially ones that have been around for a good 11 books).

I’d say my greatest disappointment was actually finishing the book, I longed for more back stories … It was sad news to read that although Robert Jordan had planned 3 prequels they may never see the light of day now, since his death in 2007. I hope that Brandon Sanderson, who was been co-authoring the recent books since Robert’s death, will be able to release these someday.

At £4 for the Kindle edition, and undoubtedly less for a used copy, buying this book is a steal and a very very fair trade off between cost and enjoyment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but the new material is unnecessary., 8 Feb. 2004
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Spring: A Wheel of Time Prequel (Paperback)
Back in 1998, Robert Jordan was asked to contribute a short (ish) story set in his Wheel of Time world to Robert Silverberg's Legends anthology, along with a number of other authors such as Stephen King, Terry Pratchett, Ursula K. LeGuin, George RR Martin, Raymond E. Feist and Tad Williams. Jordan decided to write the story of the first meeting of two of his pivotal characters, Moiraine Damodred and Lan Mandragoran, and their first steps on the road that would eventually lead them twenty years later to the Two Rivers and the discovery of the Dragon Reborn.

This was a big test for Jordan, whose narrative skills run (obviously) to massive novels packed with detail. Jordan himself acknowledged it was a challenge, but surprisingly it was one he rose to. In less than 100 pages, New Spring introduced some new characters, featured a major new city we hadn't seen before in the main series (Chachin, the capital of Kandor) and featured some fairly important plot twists that set up events later in the series. It was an economy of storytelling that I suspect most people thought Jordan was incapable of.

However, in 2003 Jordan announced he was taking a break from writing the main Wheel of Time sequence to expand New Spring into a novel, adding several tens of thousands of words of new material. Fan reaction was somewhat bemused, but given the negative reaction to Crossroads of Twilight Jordan taking some time off from the series to refresh his creative batteries seemed like a good idea, and the next main novel, Knife of Dreams was a vast improvement. In the meantime, New Spring: A Novel was released in early 2004 and was greeted with indifference. Its sales were not stellar (it's by far the most common Wheel of Time book to run across in remaindered stores), and the critical reaction was generally muted.

The novel version of the book is three times the length of the short story. The opening sequence is set during the Battle of the Shining Walls and we see what Lan was up to during the battle. We also get to see the much-reported moment when Moiraine and Siuan learn that the Dragon has returned, and then the political machinations in the Tower that follow the battle and Moiraine and Siuan's raising to the rank of full Aes Sedai. The original version of New Spring, expanded with some extra material, makes up the latter third of the novel and remains a rattling good read.

Unfortunately, the new material at the start of the book is almost totally superfluous to requirements. Yes, it's amusing to see how the White Tower initiates handle the almost overnight transition from callow Accepted to wise Aes Sedai, and the test for the shawl is vaguely interesting. Trivia-minded fans may also enjoy spotting all the references to other Aes Sedai from the later books and what they are up to at this point in time. The big problem is that the revelation of the Dragon's Rebirth, as reported in The Great Hunt, was ominous and powerful. Here Moiraine and Siuan's reaction is extremely muted, to say the least, and there is no real tension in their storyline as a result (not helped by the traditional prequel problem of the readers knowing who is going to survive the story). It's not until we reach the novella version of the story that any sense of momentum and tension kicks in.

New Spring (***) is readable enough and has some points of interest for major Wheel of Time fans, but it is also packed with unnecessary padding. Nevertheless, the original novella remains readable and compelling, and despite its short length still raises the overall quality of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jordan returns to form, 1 April 2005
This review is from: New Spring: A Wheel of Time Prequel (Paperback)
Like many other fans of The Wheel of Time series, I have been becoming increasingly disillusioned with the later instalments in the epic. However, this prequel is a good return to form from Robert Jordan.
A lot of the "padding" (e.g. long and pointless descriptions, women drinking tea and clutching and smoothing skirts etc.) has gone, which means that New Spring is much shorter than the more recent novels, which is a good thing in my opinion. There is also a lot of action and the storyline canters along at a good pace.
OK, some of irritations are still there (in particular, Jordan appears unable to develop female characters very well, as the younger Moiraine and Siuan as Accepted and new Aes Sedai are a little too similar in behaviour and character to Elayne, Egwene and Nynaeve and almost unrecognisable from the older versions of themselves portrayed in the novels that follow), but all in all a good novel that will be enjoyed by fans of WoT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Wheel Turns, 3 Feb. 2004
Robert Jordan has begun to speed up his Wheel of time after its slow down in the previous major books. This prequel is a fresh and sprightly story which moves at a faster pace, returning to the formula of the early Wheel of time books that kept you turning the pages.
It tells the story of Lan Mandragoran and Moiraine Damodred and the forging of a union that will shape the battle to come against the dark one. It is a story filled with humour, danger and excitment and if I hadn't read part of it before in the Legends collection I may have given it more stars. I look forward with some anticipation to the further 2 prequels expected in between the next major entries in the series.
Robert Jordan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Spring: A Wheel of Time Prequel
New Spring: A Wheel of Time Prequel by Robert Jordan (Paperback - 2 Dec. 2004)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews