Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars space operatics
Elizabeth Moon's books are typically light, fast-paced and extremely easy to read. Space Opera that takes it cues from 60's and 70's classics as well as the hornblower-esque character development. Great if you like action, female leads and pretty tight writing. But PK Dick it aint - if you like your SF intellectual, look elsewhere. But if you can get into the pulp mood...
Published on 30 July 2007 by A. J. Millar

versus
8 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry but no thanks
I bought this on the strength of other reviews. It is, quite possibly, one of the worst books I have ever read. It is slow, dull and plodding with very poor characters about whom I do not care. I could describe it as 'Catherine Cookson does outer space.' But that might be an injustice to Catherine Cookson and all her fans. If you want intelligent sci-fi buy Charles...
Published on 28 Aug 2007 by Everyman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars space operatics, 30 July 2007
By 
A. J. Millar - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trading In Danger: Vatta's War: Book One (Paperback)
Elizabeth Moon's books are typically light, fast-paced and extremely easy to read. Space Opera that takes it cues from 60's and 70's classics as well as the hornblower-esque character development. Great if you like action, female leads and pretty tight writing. But PK Dick it aint - if you like your SF intellectual, look elsewhere. But if you can get into the pulp mood and enjoy a goodlooking battle, check this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slow start but a good read, 24 April 2011
By 
H. M. Holt "souloftherose" (Tring, Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I discovered Elizabeth Moon through her excellent stand-alone science-fiction novel, Speed of Dark last year and decided to investigate some of the series she'd written.

Trading in Danger is the first book in Moon's Vatt's War series. Described as military science fiction, we follow the story of Kylara (Ky) Vatta who has chosen a military career over the safer option of the family business. But she's forced to resign from the military academy after her innocent attempt to help a fellow student results in a PR storm which threatens to disgrace the academy.

Her father sends Ky off to a distant part of civilised space as Captain of one of the oldest ships in the family fleet on what should be a safe and routine trading trip. But things don't quite go according to plan and soon Ky must draw on all her military training to ensure she and her crew survive.

After a rather slow start (70 pages in it was still all trade and no danger) I enjoyed this story. I'm still not sure what I think of the military science fiction sub genre. I missed the world-building that I enjoy in other science fiction novels; Ky's universe felt like ours just with more space ships. But the characters were good and once it got going I was gripped by the storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced and a joy to read, 18 Mar 2012
First off Elizabeth Moon's books are light, fast and a joy to read. This is Space Opera, with capitals, so don't go into it expecting explanation for any of the tech; it just works like the sufficiently advanced magic. Trading In Danger has a strong female lead, a great horn blower in space vibe and great action later in the book. Takes a bit of time to get going but this is the start of a five book series and believe me it just gets better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars (Book 1) It does what it says on the tin..., 12 Feb 2011
By 
M. Thompson "Mike Thompson" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book, indeed series, is a fun read with good characterisation and a believable/consistent story environment. Setting the scene for the rest of the series, the author uses her military experience to the full to show part of the military training environment and how the military applies rules. In addition, I guess that the author used her experience in co-authoring the book-series 'Sassinak' creating a main character with a similar 'feel'.

The Product Description, for this one in the series, is spot on is what the book covers - and hence the book does what it says on the tin and is therefore in some places is predictable. Some of the fun though is in the predictability of the story direction. However, the next book takes on a direction that is particularly predict table and some of the characters that appear in this book reappear later to do important story line actions.

The main character is set up as someone who 'takes in strays', which actually is due to a few childhood incidents. Later there is a much darker side to her that the author explores - does this come from experience too or just imagined?

If you like a fun space ship/trading adventure, then this is the place to start. I had to finish all five in a row before picking up another story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VERY good beginning to a new series/trilogy., 23 Jan 2004
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trading In Danger: Vatta's War: Book One (Paperback)
Kylara "Ky" Vatta was thrown out of the Academy for trusting the wrong person. She returned home, avoiding media, to regroup herself. Her father, Gerard Vatta of Vatta Transport, decided Ky needed to go away until the media circus calmed down a bit. So she was sent as captain to take an old space craft on its last journey, to Belinta first and then to the scrap yard. She had a very small crew, but they were all veterans of space.
At Belinta, Ky learned that the planet had ordered agriculture "ag" equipment over a year ago from Sabine Prime which was picked up by another transport company and never delivered. Belinta was desperate for the equipment. No one named Vatta had ever turned down a chance to profit and Ky was no different. Ky hoped to earn enough money so that her ship could be repaired instead of scrapped. Once the personal contract was signed, she was off to Sabine Prime.
Sabine Prime gave Captain Vatta a bit of trouble, but not much, at first. Ky needed a new FTL drive before she could go anywhere. It was a vital part of the ship. Then she needed to purchase the ag equipment. The problem was figuring out how to get the money. FTL drives were very expensive. It all became worse when chaos erupted. Someone blew up the ISC's ansible platforms, so communications was all but gone. Then war ships came in. Ky's ship had no weapons and, with no FTL drive, no way to leave. She and her crew were defenseless and in the middle of a war between Sabine Prime and mercs!
**** Very good beginning to what appears to be a series or trilogy. The plots are all tied up by the end, but many sub-plots are left dangling. I would very much like to find out how one or two of them end up, especially the one from the academy.
The beginning of the book reminded me a bit of the Honor Harrington series by David Weber. Young woman, military back ground, done horribly wrong, underestimated, and very cunning. Yet by the half way mark, Ky had definitely separated herself from Honor in my mind. Ky has her own way of dealing with things and any emotional trash is put on hold until the crisis is over. All-in-all, VERY GOOD novel. I hope the sequel comes out quickly. ****
Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what the doctor ordered..., 18 Nov 2003
By 
Mark E. Cooper "Fantasybooks" (STANFORD-LE-HOPE, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trading In Danger: Vatta's War: Book One (Paperback)
I am a great fan of Moon's books. The Deed of Paksinarion is still her best work, I think, but this new series is excellent also. I hope the rest of the series are due out soon, because I really need to know what hapens to Ky and her crew. Moon has a way of making you really care about her characters, and Ky Vatta is one of her best.

Buy this one and hope the second book comes out soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agricultural equipment has never been so exciting..., 20 Oct 2004
By 
This review is from: Trading In Danger: Vatta's War: Book One (Paperback)
...although to be fair it doesn't really spend that much time at the fore. I enjoyed this novel and it really seemed to disappear quickly, despite trying to pace myself. There are amny exciting moments, and the book is not entirely predictable, although I suspect that some of the plot ideas that I was expecting will turn up later rather than sooner. Without giving too much away though the plot does have some level of predictability but is not completly rose-tinted. Better than some, but by no means all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trading In Danger: Vatta's War: Book One (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasant Change from the usual space-hopping scifi novel, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After all the macho, technical, hard sci-fi that I have been reading lately it was very pleasant to pick up a novel which had a really strong female lead character, who is willing to talk about and discuss her feelings. Well written and with a good storyline. I am very much looking forward to reading the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable and compelling space opera, 28 Nov 2013
By 
James Kemp (Merstham, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trading In Danger: Vatta's War: Book One (Paperback)
I came to this from a first chapter included at the end of the kindle edition of Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie. This is a different sort of space opera from Ancillary Justice, but the opening chapter was so gripping that I immediately ordered a copy so that I could read the rest of it.

The universe it is set in is sort of recognisable as a fast forward on our current one. The initial setting is in a naval academy that would be recognisable to anyone with military experience (and the author served in the USMC, no doubt she drew on that). That's just the starting point for the story though, and most of the action takes place on board an interstellar freighter.

The story is told mostly by the main character (Ky Vatta), although there are a couple of short switches of viewpoint to her father. This limited omniscience drives the story well, although the only character that is well developed is Ky herself. That said, she is a very interesting character, she knows she has flaws and tries hard to come to terms with them. The pace of the story is very good, and it kept me reading to find out what happened next, even getting to the end of the chapter wasn't enough to stop and I found myself reading it when I was walking along the train platform at the end of my commute!

In outline, Ky is kicked out of the local naval academy for helping the wrong guy. Her family run their own merchant shipping line and they send her off with an experienced crew in a ship destined for the breakers yard at the end of the trip. She succumbs to the Vatta instinct for 'trade and profit' and decides to make a side trip to fill a need for agricultural supplies at her first port of call. This takes her to another system. On the way in her ship's hyperspace drive fails, and while she's trying to scrape up funding for both the repairs and the tractor parts a war starts.

From there it becomes a very interesting sequence of events in dealing with the crisis and its fallout. Ky's ship ends up being used to intern the captains and senior officers of the other ships in the system, largely because it has no working hyperspace engine. This causes another set of interesting twists and turns in the story. Throughout the background to this we see a few glimpses of other things happening in other parts of the universe, which cleverly expands the background and lets the reader join some of the dots before Ky does it.

Overall an enjoyable and compelling read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trading In Danger: Vatta's War: Book One
Trading In Danger: Vatta's War: Book One by Elizabeth Moon (Paperback - 6 Nov 2003)
6.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews