Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars12
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2002
I've read this book 3 times already. The first time 6 months ago. The second was 5 months and 28 days. I've read it again just a few days ago and still cannot help but be enthralled...again and again. I know what is going to happen and still find myself unable to put it down...even at the expense of sleep.
It isn't just the way he writes (though that has alot to do with it) I love how he can tell a tale from one angle and you appear to have a clear cut hero and then he shows it from the other side and you are then cheering for the enemy from the original (magic engineer and colours of chaos). I wouldn't have ever thought to be thrown into dissarray like that...but I digress, well sorta anyway. Because in the previous "Fall of angels" Cyador was the enemy. Now we end up seeing it from the other side again, and once again end up switching sides. I love it.

Scion of Cyador is the second book in the story of lorn and if you've read the first, is well worth the money in getting, hell I'd pay twice what they're askin.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The rare, constant quality of Modesitt's work is again very present in this book, the sequel to Magi'i of Cyador. Although many of his books resemble eachother very much in the personalities of the main characters, the story, the world depicted and the struggles that they go through make his work very inspiring to read.
In contrast with Tolkien, Lovecraft, and others who have created well documented worlds and histories, Modesitt does not rely on the "recognition effect", where a certain power of the writing is invoked by mentioning what was or what is to come, which the reader is supposed to already know about. No, you can read each Modesitt book (from the Recluce cycle, at least) on its own.
This book, the Scion of Cyador, is no exception. It follows up on the story of Lorn, a white magus, securing a future for his country. But if you have read no other Modesitt book this one will still be meaningful. You are still being wound into the story, slowly and even painstakingly, until the characters and the world of magi'i and lancers have become real.
A very noticable element of Modesitt's style is the constant use of the present tense. Everything happens "now", you are watching it, this is not a story of what once was.
It is not a children's book, the style is too mature and "slow". But for me that just adds depth. Recommended? Yes, very much. All of the Recluce cycle books are very much worth reading.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
The Magi’i of Cyador and especially this follow-up Scion of Cyador belong to my favourite Epic-Fantasy novels. Within the Recluce-sage the books are number 10 and 11, from chronological point of view they are the first books of the history of Recluce.
Having survived the extended fighting both barbarian raiders and the giant beasts of the Accursed Forest, Lorn has proven himself to be a fine officer. He has been promoted within the army. But not only has his prowess grown, so has the number of his enemies and rivals. Too much success has made him a marked man. When he returns to his home, both he and his young family become targets while all of Cyad is in upheaval over the death of the Emperor.

Lorn is not the man to say a lot. He is the one who acts or handles. But when he acts or handles, you better not be his way. Or Cyador?

Lorn thinks and act independently. But for a very good reason. The action, the tension and the developments accelerates in this book to an exciting, wonderful climax. The more you read, the quicker you start to read, because the more curious you get to know how this story is going to end. Because Lorn is about the learn that his way of handling not only affects him, but also the people he holds dear.

The more I read, the more difficult it became to close this book and to put it aside.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
L E Modesitt takes us back to the begining of Recluce with this novel, Scion of Cyador. In someof his previous novels we had caught little bits about Cyador, the semi mythical land of the Whites, especially in the 3 books preceeding this duality (Scion is the second book of a 2 part story, the first being Magi'i of Cyador) and what we read was intriguing. a great land more modern in technology then anything else around, a land of people who came from 'The Rational Stars'. These hints of something opened up the possability of a very interesting story.

And an Interesting story it is. I'll not go into two much detail, but this is a story about Lorn, an officer in the Cyador army,who having survived several challenges in the first book, is in command of a port detachment in a backwater part of the country. Meanwhile Cyador is on the cusp of great change as they are on the verge of losing the technological advantage that they have held over the surrounding lands for the past 300 odd years.

This story is very well written, it's well paced and we get to see the story from several Cyadorian viewpoints (though not their inner thoughts). There is a nice mixture of action and drama and actions from the characters make sense. All in all an enjoyable book that can be read again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
In the concluding part of Magi'i of Cyador, Lorn is back in the capital trying to survive assassination attempts and the political scheming of parties trying to put their candidate on the throne as the Emperor dies. It is tightly written and moves at a good pace. Still a very three dimensional character. I enjoyed this book and the one before enough to buy them 'in paper' as I know I will re-read them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2009
Part 2 of another in the popular Recluse series. This and book number one are in my opinion two of the best. This is praise indeed as i and my family have enjoyed all of the Recluse books over the years. If you never read any other science fantasy books read these.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
wonderfully crafted as are all of this authors books. a great story. captivated from the start, I did not stop until the end. right through, no sleep, fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
Enjoyed this story - L.E. Modesitt creates enjoyable self-contained stories within the world of Recluce. I had to buy the book after reading Magii of Cyador!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2002
L.E. Modesitt's Recluce novels are truly becoming epic in scope (almost to the level of RJ's Wheel of Time). What I particularly like is that each book can be read in itself and yet the full series (12 now?) are all related. This is acheived mainly because each book tends to cover either a different time period in the history of the Recluce world or a different side of the Order/Chaos divide.
This particular novel charts the rise of Lorn from Mirror Lancer OverCaptain to rather dizzying heights while avoiding the many pitfalls set for him by Magi,Merchant and Lancer superiors.
As a novel in itself it is very good but, taken with Magi of Scyador and the rest of the Recluce novels, it earns a place on the bedside bookshelf.
If you are a Fantasy fan this is definately an author to start collecting books from. Best of all, perhaps, is that we don't have to wait upwards of 18 months for a new novel from Modesitt - he seems to churn them out at regular intervals.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2002
L.E. Modesitt Jr seems to crank out another saga from Recluce on at least an annual basis. They are all of a similar standard and move at similar speeds. If you liked the second one of this series that you have read you will probably feel the same way about this book.
It follows the career of Lorn from the conclusion of Magi'i of Cyador. Charts his progression through through military ranks and the trials and tribulations he faced. In many ways it feels like an extension of the first book.
While the book is well written it suffers a little from being a bit predictable. All in all a good but not outstanding read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.