Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first
I brought the first book because on the US amazon site there where very good reveiws for the first book 'Transformation'. I brought it from UK Amazon, and highly enjoyed the book. I waited for the release of 'Revelation', and brought that. This book was even better than the first. Revelation mainly follows Seyonne, him searching the truth of how his people came to be, why...
Published on 6 Oct 2001 by aaa@malazanempire.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first one
I was a little disappointed when I read this one, it just wasnt as engaging as the first story. I think what made the first one so good was the relationship between Aleksander and Seyonne, but in this one we just have Seyonne and his neurosis.
Published on 11 Oct 2009 by K. Bourouba


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first, 6 Oct 2001
This review is from: Revelation (Rai-Kirah) (Paperback)
I brought the first book because on the US amazon site there where very good reveiws for the first book 'Transformation'. I brought it from UK Amazon, and highly enjoyed the book. I waited for the release of 'Revelation', and brought that. This book was even better than the first. Revelation mainly follows Seyonne, him searching the truth of how his people came to be, why the demons are evil and why they do not just kill them outright. Aleksander plays a limited role in this, showing up in a few parts. The story in this book really has tons of surprises or shall I say Revelations. The demons are not what they seem, Seyonne is still not trusted and is thought to be corrupted, and has a watchdog you is more stubborn than Aleksander and Seyonne put together.
When Seyonne encounter's a demon unlike any other, he starts to become mad, confused, and that leads him into trouble with his own people, his own wife, his own friends. You are shown the world where the Demons come from and learn much more. The characteristion continues to build, and the world creation is alive even more. The Author does not waste words which many books tend to today, this book is Quality NOT quantity.
Overall: Moves at a decent pace. Keeps the reader intensly engaged. Enough action that should keep reader who like plenty of action satisfied. Plenty of Revelations which most you will be surprised with. And can be very emotionally moving. Carol berg is improving her skill of story telling with each book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revelations, 13 Jan 2004
By 
Katrine Berg "book addict" (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Seyonne is back in Ezzaria with his wife the queen, who is expecting their first child. But there are snakes in paradise: being the only warden left, he has to fight all the demon battles to free the possessed souls. And the council of Elders are having him watched,, to make sure he doesn't bring corruption into their life because of his previous history as a slave.
Then everything goes wrong, his child is born demon possesed and is lain out to die, he encounters a demon, who seems only to observate and not to torture his victim. Not wanting to kill the strange demon, he get exiled, and at the same time he's dreams starts to get visited with visions of evil.
This is the second story of Seyonne in the trilogi, where his eyes get opened and he find old hitten truths - revelations !
The book is just as catching and surprising as the first, and I couldn't let it down, eventhough I had an exam that needed some attention.
The charachters have layers and develop all the time. Unfortunately there's not much about Alexander in this book, but instead new people appear ready to fill his place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, 25 April 2002
By 
Mr. A. J. D. White - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revelation (Rai-Kirah) (Paperback)
Having read the 1st novel by Carol Berg and really enjoying it I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book her second.
I am not going to repeat what other reviews say about this book, but to say that Carol continues to let ehr well crafted characters grow and change as they discover more about what is happening in the world.
I did find the book dragged a bit in the middle, seeming to set a scene then just linger there for a long time before everything becoming very fast paced towards the end, but not rushed. If I where to tell you what the ending is you would probably think that it is very trite, but the way its handled and written left me awe struck by Carols pure skill at story telling, just a shame that it dragged a bit earlier (thou I never felt the urge to give up) my other reason for giving it 4 stars rather than 5 was the fact that there was so much about Aleksander, Blaise and Fiona that could have been told and wasn't, yes I know this is Seyonnes tale.
Anyway if you fancy something new and refreshing then I can highly recomend this and the previous novel Transformation, they are a seriers so should be read in order....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too much pain, 21 July 2006
This review is from: Revelation (Rai-Kirah) (Paperback)
I really, really liked this book. It's revelations are well elaborated and most intriguing, and altough not that much unexpected, they still have lots of new and fascinating ideas to offer. The only thing that is little bit disturbing is Seyonne's ordeals, which are... just too much in some places. I mean, being him, I'd probably go mad on the third page of the story. Not as if he didn't, at times.

After being released from his bondage, Seyonne's life did seemingly go back to normal, which in his case means he fights demons within human souls, using extraordinary sorcery and swordsmanship, trains every day until he falls from his feet and tries to forget past horrors of his personal history. After killing the Lord of Demons two years ago, he did reconcile with his only love, Ysanne, they married and are now awaiting their first child. Everything seems well and good. But is it really so?

Seyonne's elders believe him corrupted and are trying to get proof of it by watching his every step. His child is born in his absence and now everyone pretends it never existed. With his son mysteriously forgotten, Seyonne's relationship with his wife goes to ruins. On top of that, during a demon fight, absorbed in surge of rage, he kills not only the rai-kirah, but the victim as well, and as soon as he explains himself to his superiors and somewhat justifies his action, he confronts a demon who seems to be... deprived of all evil.

Seyonne's quarrel with his own people over the deepest truths of their very existence leads him in the end to departure and bitterness. He is determined to find his missing child, but finds the hard and painful revelation of the true relation between demons and Ezzarians besides...

More action and sorrow-filled than the first book in the series, but more brutal and bitter as well, Revelation is a fascinating and worthy sequel and middle part of a brilliant tale of longing, homecoming and sacrifice.

But Carol really didn't have to torture Seyonne THAT much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, 19 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. Nicola Fusco (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelation (Rai-Kirah) (Paperback)
Love this book! It moved quickly, and was well written, now looking for some more by the same author! Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 2 Feb 2013
This review is from: Revelation (Rai-Kirah) (Paperback)
Brilliant book!! Transformation is my favourite book of all time and this is a worthy second part. You absolutely feel for the characters every step of the way and get sucked into the story completely. I love how you get answers to some of the big questions from the first book and everything you 'know' of the demon world gets thrown into confusion. Fantastic trilogy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Revelation (Rai-Kirah), 17 Jan 2013
By 
L. G. Phitikides (Lincoln UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelation (Rai-Kirah) (Paperback)
Yes,I did like it quite a bit as it was a good story line as a whole and kept my interest. Good reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first one, 11 Oct 2009
By 
K. Bourouba (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revelation (Rai-Kirah) (Paperback)
I was a little disappointed when I read this one, it just wasnt as engaging as the first story. I think what made the first one so good was the relationship between Aleksander and Seyonne, but in this one we just have Seyonne and his neurosis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not so much revelation as regression, 19 Aug 2002
By 
Edmund Kapusniak (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revelation (Rai-Kirah) (Paperback)
After her first book, I found this disappointing. Aleksander, so pivotal to the first story, appears only two or three times in this tale. Lydia, one of my favorites, only says about five words. Indeed, much of the book is occupied with torturing Seyonne or embroiling him in meaningless political maneuvering.
I was disappointed that the Seyonne in this installment did not seem to be the one we had left at the end of Transformation. If anything it was as if his own transformation had never happened, and he allows himself to be used and manipulated most horribly by almost everyone he meets. He acts like a slave. When will he truly grow some kind of backbone?
Again, our author takes Seyonne on a journey of transformation, and it is different enough from the first that it stays fresh and manages to stand on its own. And the change is no less meaningful than the first.
It's just unfortunate that he had to forget all he had learned in the first book to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE buy this book!!, 26 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Revelation (Rai-Kirah) (Paperback)
The first book in this series 'Transformation' was absolutely brilliant! The second is no different. Not only does everything follow on seemlessly but from the first page you are gripped into Seyonne's world and there were so many times I was literally screaming at the characters and threatening to put down the book. But I couldn't. Action, adventure, magic and a story telling style that's just as equal in power but unique in itself to the likes of Goodkind, Gemmell and Bunch. You must have this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revelation (Rai-Kirah)
Revelation (Rai-Kirah) by Carol Berg (Paperback - 1 Aug 2002)
6.61
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews