Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull, hard to put down read.
This book is an excellent read for someone who is interested in a diferent look at North American history, but also yearns for a touch of the fantasic. The first in a lovely saga that grips the reader from the first chapter. Following the young hero as he learns about his special place in the world and the battle of good and evil.
Published on 29 Jan 2001

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dreadful proofreading
good characterization, great dialogue and often funny. However I found myself getting increasingly irritated by the masses of typos. It was really distracting and spoilt the book for me. Sloppy proofreading is unforgivable and shows little respect for the reader
Published 6 months ago by Cathiem


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dreadful proofreading, 22 Sep 2013
good characterization, great dialogue and often funny. However I found myself getting increasingly irritated by the masses of typos. It was really distracting and spoilt the book for me. Sloppy proofreading is unforgivable and shows little respect for the reader
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Let down by lazy editing, 21 Dec 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like all of the works of Orson Scott Card, this is very well written, but is let down completely by the failure to proofread it properly and the dreadful laziness of its editing. His readers deserve more than this from his publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull, hard to put down read., 29 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Seventh Son: Tales of Alvin maker, book 1 (Paperback)
This book is an excellent read for someone who is interested in a diferent look at North American history, but also yearns for a touch of the fantasic. The first in a lovely saga that grips the reader from the first chapter. Following the young hero as he learns about his special place in the world and the battle of good and evil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most amazing series of books!, 9 Mar 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seventh Son: Tales of Alvin maker, book 1 (Paperback)
I love this author and this series is honestly one of the best I've ever ever read. Could not recommend it enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good start to the series, 23 Jun 2010
By 
simon211175 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seventh Son: Tales of Alvin maker, book 1 (Paperback)
This is a book I had wanted to read for a couple of years now, after reading The Grinning Man short story found in Legends: Discworld, Pern, Song of Ice and Fire, Memory, Sorrow and Thorn, Wheel of Time, but only just managed to get to. I wasn't disappointed.

The story starts well; with a fast-paced account of Alvin's birth, containing action, drama and some good old fashioned witchery. The first few chapters had me hooked.

I have to say though, the middle of the book slowed the pace right down, and dare I say - had some right boring bits that made it read more like a history book than a fantasy novel. I managed to get past this though, and thankfully it only seemed to last for around 50-60 pages.

The final third of this book saw a return to the form found at the start, and left me wanting more. I can't wait to read the second book in the series: Red Prophet (The tales of Alvin Maker).

I would recommend this book to anyone to read; it's funny, magical, thrilling and at times, sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The FSFH Book Review says:, 2 Jan 2006
By 
Ian Tapley "thefragrantwookiee" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seventh Son: Tales of Alvin maker, book 1 (Paperback)
Book one of the Tales of Alvin Maker.
This book tells the story of a boy who is born in remarkable circumstances to become the seventh son of a seventh son, a sign of greatness. As he grows older the boy, Alvin, begins to develop astonishing powers that give him a 'knack' for making things, he being the first Maker born 'since the one who turned the water into wine'. However, Alvin's opposite, the mysterious Unmaker, turns the ire of a fanatical priest against the boy.
Card tells of a fictional colonial America, when it is ripe with people with magical 'knacks', who have fled from the persecution of Europe's devout Christians.
The scene in which Alvin is born is really evocatively written and I loved the idea that water itself holds a grudge against Alvin. However, I have little interest in America's colonial history and the setting of this book is just too Little House on the Prairie for my liking.
I can't deny that the book is well written, but ultimately it comes down to personal taste and this isn't my cup of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warning: This Book Is Addictive, 10 Dec 2004
This review is from: Seventh Son: Tales of Alvin maker, book 1 (Paperback)
Orson Scott Card is a master storyteller and can invest the most mundane events with multiple layers of meaning.
In particular this book keeps you guessing as to the nature of his alternate America. Characters like Peggy and Alvin's Dad see elemental forces at work; water keeps trying to kill little Alvin. Characters like the tortured Reverend Thrower see classic good vs. evil. Alvin himself fears 'The Unmaker' a malign chaotic force.
Card himself was raised Mormon and is something of a contravertialist in SF/Fantasy circles. Yet this is a thoughtful book that relentlessly questions faith; questions Christianity. It's almost 'The Omen' with Damien as the hero. Yes, really.
Which is right? All of the above or none at all? Well I'm going to have to get the next chapter to find out. See I'm hooked...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Is this really the same author as Ender?, 26 Mar 2010
By 
Wibblah (Westminster, London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seventh Son: Tales of Alvin maker, book 1 (Paperback)
Having put Enders game up there with pretty much one of my favourite books ever, I was determined to give this book some time. Never mind that the seemingly simplistic dialogue, it's surely just hiding the underlying depth of the novel. After ploughing through the book I have to say it's not. Maybe it's just for a younger audience in which case this isn't an entirely fair review.

That said, I would argue even if I read this age 10 I would find some of the writing truly cringeworthy and woefully spun out. Whereas the Enders series starting amazingly and tailed off badly, this series doesn't really seem to go anywhere.

You have to ask whether this is the same author that wrote the masterful enders game?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 20 Jun 2007
This review is from: Seventh Son: Tales of Alvin maker, book 1 (Paperback)
This is true good young (and adult) fantasy. It's far better than any harry potter's book. A must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 11 Aug 2013
By 
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seventh Son: Tales of Alvin maker, book 1 (Paperback)
A great fantasy book, arrived quickly and I havent been able to put it down since.. I have also ordered the next two in the series.. ha!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab4726d8)

This product

Seventh Son: Tales of Alvin maker, book 1
Seventh Son: Tales of Alvin maker, book 1 by Orson Scott Card (Paperback - 3 Jan 1991)
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews