Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super 'hide-and-seek' type book,from Stella Blackstone.
Endearing cover opens to 32 high quality shiny pages with super 'collage-type' illustrations, from Clare Beaton, making it not too easy to spot the seahorse and where he is hiding on the relevant 2-page spreads!
This super book is further enhanced by basic general knowledge pages about 'Coral Reefs', 'Creatures of the Coral Reef' and 'Secrets of Seahorses', at the...
Published on 17 Jan. 2008 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK!

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good number of pages but no touchy feely areas
This is a board book which makes it durable and the pictures are lovely, but I mistakenly thought there were areas of materials for my boy to touch, but there isn't. In the pictures different textures etc. have been used, but none of them are touchable which is a shame as my 14 month old loves the touch and feel books. Simple story with lots of pages which is good.
Published 5 months ago by S Jarvis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super 'hide-and-seek' type book,from Stella Blackstone., 17 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Secret Seahorse (Hide-And-Seek Books (Barefoot Books)) (Paperback)
Endearing cover opens to 32 high quality shiny pages with super 'collage-type' illustrations, from Clare Beaton, making it not too easy to spot the seahorse and where he is hiding on the relevant 2-page spreads!
This super book is further enhanced by basic general knowledge pages about 'Coral Reefs', 'Creatures of the Coral Reef' and 'Secrets of Seahorses', at the back.

'Can you see the seahorse as he swims through the mysterious world of the coral reef?
You will meet all kinds of colourful sea creatures and learn lots of fascinating facts about them as you follow this easy-to-read rhyming adventure.'

Example of text:-

'I saw a secret seahorse deep down in the sea.
I tried to swim beside him. He was too quick for me.
He swam past reefs of coral, with colours flower bright.
He swam past flickering fishes, then disappeared from sight....'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unusual, attractive book, 21 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Seahorse (Board book)
This book has very attractive illustrations which are a mixture of embroidery and fabric collage using beads, sequins, etc. It's something a bit different from the usual children's illustrations - it would make a lovely present. The rhyming text is about searching under the sea for a seahorse, so the pictures have various underwater scenes including a lovely one with a mermaid. Like all the other Barefoot books I have seen, this is a lovely book to share with a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful pictures, shame about the text, 15 April 2009
I'd give this book 5 stars for the wonderful Clare Beaton illustrations alone, but the text lets it down. It's very clunky and extremely hard to read aloud. It's intended as a simple verse, but doesn't scan well and it has a lot of awkward conjunctions that make it a bit of a chore to read aloud to a small child. We just look for all the fishes and sea creatures. I love the creative use of fabrics and haberdashery, as always with CB's illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A joy to read, 25 Sept. 2006
By 
Debjani Mazumder (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Secret Seahorse (Board book)
My 18 month old daughter absolutely loves searching for the Secret Seahorse on every page. This book is a great way to introduce your little ones to sea creatures and is definetely a beautiful book you'll want to keep on you shelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good number of pages but no touchy feely areas, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a board book which makes it durable and the pictures are lovely, but I mistakenly thought there were areas of materials for my boy to touch, but there isn't. In the pictures different textures etc. have been used, but none of them are touchable which is a shame as my 14 month old loves the touch and feel books. Simple story with lots of pages which is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for little eager learners, 15 Sept. 2009
By 
Ms. A. J. Anderson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Secret Seahorse (Paperback)
My daughter has been reading this book in nursery (she will be 3 in Nov), and she knows every single word, so I had to buy the book to see it for myself. She absolutely loves it and reads it about 10 times a day - a great liitle book to get them started and very colourful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Barefoot books - love them!, 28 Jun. 2010
By 
Ms. R. J. Parkes (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a lovely book - the illustrations are unusual as they are made up from materials and sequins. The seahorse is hidden on each page. There are lots of different sea creatures - so lots to point out and talk about. Would make a great gift. Lovely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I thought, 1 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this thinking it would be a book with flaps with things 'hiding' behind it - in fact it's just pictures which I don't think are v clear for v young children. Not nearly as good as some of the other Stella Blackstone books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cute book, 23 Sept. 2010
If your baby likes How Loud Is A Lion, as our son does, then this is likely to go down well too. It's got a cute storyline which rhymes, and few enough words per page for our 18 month old to keep his attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but damaged in post., 28 Mar. 2014
By 
F. Garwood (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Seahorse (Paperback)
The book is lovely, ideal for my sea creature obsessed 3 year old son. However, it wasn't very well packaged and did get damaged in the post, making it look quite old and tatty. A little disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secret Seahorse (Hide-And-Seek Books (Barefoot Books))
Secret Seahorse (Hide-And-Seek Books (Barefoot Books)) by Stella Blackstone (Paperback - 1 Jan. 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews