Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CGP GCSE Maths: An essential for any Higher Maths Student
I'll be brief with this review, as there isn't really much to say. There's mixed opinion regarding CGP's books, but I have always found them very useful. Although the colloquial and informal language can get in the way occasionly, they are packed with all you need to know to pass your exams. As a Year 11 student who has recently completed his mock exams, I can testify to...
Published on 23 Dec 2010 by LiamS

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GCSE Maths
Its ok, nothing radical, it does the job and is worth the price i paid for. Too be fair to the authors they do try to make this book fun and intresting to study. Overall if you want a decent maths book to study then look no further.
Published 20 months ago by sha


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CGP GCSE Maths: An essential for any Higher Maths Student, 23 Dec 2010
By 
LiamS (Suffolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: GCSE Maths Revision Guide (with Online Edition) - Higher (Paperback)
I'll be brief with this review, as there isn't really much to say. There's mixed opinion regarding CGP's books, but I have always found them very useful. Although the colloquial and informal language can get in the way occasionly, they are packed with all you need to know to pass your exams. As a Year 11 student who has recently completed his mock exams, I can testify to just how useful revision guides like these are!

The CGP Higher Maths is no exception; it covers all the topics that you need to know for the exam (and there is quite a lot of them), in enough detail to get you through the exam, but not in so much detail as to confuse you and put you off revising.

For those who are studying on the Edexcel course, the textbooks provided, I find, are nowhere near as helpful. Useful for practise questions, maybe, but this book is unrivaled at making the info easy to understand. However, CGP also offer workbooks containing exam-based questions that go perfectly with the revision guide (GCSE Maths Workbook (including Answers) - Higher)

One small point: It says on the book that the guide is the 'new two-tier specification'. This was for when the new maths syllabus was adopted. It now reads on the book "For the 2010 and 2011 examinations only". Now, I must slightly disagree with this point. While subjects like science, geography and english would have syllabi that change a great deal when revised, and would therefore require new revision guides to reflect the changes, maths is not a subject that is likely to change so drastically. The information within is as relevent now as it will ever be, and while the syllabus might start to cover topics slightly differently, the basic information within this book will still be useful, so I would still hand this guide down to younger generations, and would not feel too disadvantaged to be using an older guide myself.

Overall, this book is a great tool for those who are preparing for a GCSE Maths examination, with easy-to-understand wording and diagrams to make revising a little less like revising!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Marks, 29 Mar 2010
By 
shaz17 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GCSE Maths Revision Guide (with Online Edition) - Higher (Paperback)
I bought loads of different books and software for my daughter as she was struggling a bit. None of them was really helpful, but The GCSE Mathematics Book was. And is worth every penny I paid for it. It showed her where she was going wrong, and so helpful in nearly all of what she is studying, I cant praise this book enough. Save your money dont buy all the other stuff they throw at you, this is what they need. It was recommended to me by a private tutor and another Teacher. Top Marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Help with re-learning maths for a mature student, 28 Nov 2011
This review is from: GCSE Maths Revision Guide (with Online Edition) - Higher (Paperback)
I have started a degree in accounting as a mature student and one of my modules is quantitative techniques. Having not studied mathematics in 10 years i am finding this book very useful and much easier to understand than my core textbook. it doesn't go into all the detail i need but really helps me re-learn the basics, especially the algebra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Little Book, 6 Oct 2010
This book is absolutely brilliant! If I have forgotton what I learnt in class i just refer to this. The layout is clear and examples are given on every subject you will cover in GCSE foundation maths.

Lots of handy tips layed out in bright colours in laymans terms to help you remember.

I'm an adult returning to retake GCSE after struggling at school. This makes it all seem so simple. An excellent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull for GCSE MATHS!!, 2 July 2009
By 
This review is from: GCSE Maths Revision Guide (with Online Edition) - Higher (Paperback)
This was fantastic as i needed it for additional maths exam. Am going to use it next year to for my end of school exam as it worked great this time. Would recommend to anyone going through maths exam GCSE. Has all you need!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GCSE Maths, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GCSE Maths Revision Guide (with Online Edition) - Higher (Paperback)
Its ok, nothing radical, it does the job and is worth the price i paid for. Too be fair to the authors they do try to make this book fun and intresting to study. Overall if you want a decent maths book to study then look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 11 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GCSE Maths Revision Guide (with Online Edition) - Higher (Paperback)
Excellent purchase. Ideal for the IB course in grade 9 moving into grade 10 for the student who puts the effort in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 22 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good product simple to use very helpful. Hreat for revising Gcse maths Great price great product. Very good prodyct
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GCSE Maths Revision Guide (with Online Edition) - Higher (Paperback)
This was a very helpful book with clear detail on how to do GCSE maths and explained it very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mathematics - easy and clear, 4 May 2012
By 
anka (Bensheim, Hessen, Deutschland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GCSE Maths Revision Guide (with Online Edition) - Higher (Paperback)
Teaching math at a German school, I had been looking for a "summary" of maths for a long time. Now I've found! The most important rules, a lot of examples, written in a really good way. In the 10th form (last form before the exam in Germany) one can repaet the most important problems pupils have.
The best reference for the book: Some of my pupils have already bought it for their personal preparation. And: they learn math and English at the same time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GCSE Maths Revision Guide (with Online Edition) - Higher
GCSE Maths Revision Guide (with Online Edition) - Higher by Richard Parsons (Paperback - 7 Jun 2006)
4.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews