Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars89
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
73
4 star
16
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 December 2010
I am a teacher and I use this with my science class to help them with revision before end of unit tests. They love the book, with its simple layout and fun pictures. One word describes this book, BRILLIANT!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2006
The book is was well written, with a light-hearted approach, and notes at the foot of each page written in a light, informal language. The layout is clear, bright, and uncluttered, with plenty of easily understood diagrams (clearly labelled and colourful). This comes across well, and should appeal to its target audience more than other stuffy textbooks or guides.
0Comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2012
CGP will always be my first choice of revision books. This book, like all the others, did not disappoint. There are 13 sections, which are `Life Processes and Cell Activity' `Humans as Organisms' `Green Plants as Organisms' `Variation, Classification and Inheritance' `Living Things in their Environment' `Classifying Materials' `Changing Materials' `Patterns and Behaviour' `Electricity and Magnetism' `Forces and Motion' `Light and Sound' `Earth and Beyond' and `Energy'. As you can see, with all the little sections inside all of these 13 sections, this is definitely not a book to miss out on detail. It has about 20 or so pages to each section, then has some revision questions which go extremely and very satisfyingly in-depth, then some exam style questions, so you can test yourself and work on the things that you're not so good at. Plus, it has all the answers to these questions at the back of the book. To finish it all off, it has a final 20 page exam to practice everything in the book, with answers. To catch up and learn everything that you need, I thoroughly recommend this book to the average Secondary School Pupil that needs a confidence and exam marks booster, with humour mixed in so it isn't all tough! Buy!!!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2010
So your child has got to senior school and is possibly a bit lost with the science. OK then get these books; KS3 Science: Complete Revision and Practice (Complete Revision & Practice)and its compendium The KS3 Science Workbook/ Answers (levels 3 to 7) in the same series. With these at home your child can do the pages associated with what they are doing in school, as a form of revision. Alternatively they can save the sections and use them as revision for tests which are run in school at the end of the modules. The work goes right the way through from year 7 to year 9 and will give all levels of ability some extra help and support. Well worth the investment.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
I brought this book for my 11 year old son. His science teacher recommended iit, as it will be useful for the next 3 years (year7-9).

The information is set out really well for kids, and it is made so easy to understand. There are lots of diagrams to demonstrate what is being said, and there are key exam tips and key tips throughout the book.

There are warm-up questions, and exam questions to answer at the end of each topic, as well as a summary of what has been covered. There is also a mock exam at the end of the book, and there are also answers for us parents as its been so long since we went to school!!!

I was really impressed with the book and would strongly recommend to anyone who has children in years 7-9 at school.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2010
I bought this book for my daughter, it prepared her very well for her end of year tests which was reflected in her good results. I would recommend it for any parent. It sections the science curriculum by topic, provides a revision section with exam style questions based on that topic and at the end of the book there are full exam style question papers (with answers) - a great resource.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2010
this book is great for going over the basics learnt in KS3, there are clear diagrams and lots of practice questions to check your understanding. it is a great book to use in conjunction with your school books to revise science
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
my daughter really enjoyed this for revision. she is not usually keen to revise but after seeing the humerous comment by i think one of the authors at the back of the book , she laughed and I could see her thinking - that book might actually work for me! it did. she really enjoyed the lay out , the diagrams and little boxed comments along the way- it kept her interested and she repeated the revision as they suggest along the way.
we worked together a little on it although I think by year 9 she was moving on from this level book. i would reccomend it for years 7 and 8 mainly. (and for revising yr7/8 work in year 9)
really well written for children of this age group.
many thanks to the authors!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Purchased a wide range of these books for my son commencing secondary school. They have proven to be worth there weight in gold! My son has found them very useful when helping with his homework. Science can be difficult but this book was extremely helpful with all the information you need for year 7. They are bright and colourful with simple and easy to understand information. All the books have come in very handy and it really has been money well spent, reflected in his end of term grades too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
Exactly what I was looking for. A comprehensive learning guide which also helps parents keep track of the topics being studied
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)