Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss this extraordinary Victorian classic!
A much underrated and neglected gem of children's writing, The Water Babies is a book many people have heard of but few have actually read. It is a carefully-constructed C19th tale in which delicate, humorous sketches and caricatures of the era's wealthy and servant classes are contrasted with intricate studies of the urban poor. Unwittingly, the central figure Tom, a...
Published on 27 July 2005 by stellapratt

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice pictures; where did 195 pages go?
Amazon seem to have developped a habit of crossing over reviews to several products with a similar but not identical description. Not being sure which of these versions of the Water Babies was the 'retelling', I ordered the one with a blue cover, and a picture of a boy reaching out to a dragonfly on the front.

Well, that's the 'retold' one. No mention on the...
Published on 7 Oct. 2010 by D Poisson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book with wonderful illustrations, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Water Babies (Award Gift Books) (Hardcover)
Lovely book which tells the story I remember from my childhood except now with wonderful illustrations. I would say suitable for competent child readers or for adults to read to children as text is fairly small and there is a lot of it. Overall very pleased and looking forward to reading this one to my child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for day to day reading., 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Water Babies (Award Gift Books) (Hardcover)
Bought this much-loved book for my sister for her to read to her grand-daughters. Their mum has a collector's edition which is too precious for sticky little fingers and slightly cumbersome hands, so everyone is delighted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Water Babies, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Water Babies (Award Gift Books) (Hardcover)
As always this is such a charming story and I have enjoyed reading it to my grandchildren when they visit. It remains such a lovely classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Water Babies (Award Gift Books, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Water Babies (Award Gift Books) (Hardcover)
bought for my special needs son who loves all the songs and all the bright colours i would recommend these for anyone to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my grand kids loved it, timeless, 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Water Babies (Award Gift Books) (Hardcover)
read it art school 70 years ago , read it again a couple of days ago , still magical , my grand kids loved it , timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Water Babies (Award Gift Books) (Hardcover)
Beautiful book. I remember it from when I was a child, but our copy didn't have the magical colourful illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Water Babies (Award Gift Books) (Hardcover)
Got this for my 9year old Granddaughter. She has fallen in love with the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Water Babies (Award Gift Books) (Hardcover)
Wonderful book for children, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and beautiful., 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Water Babies (Award Gift Books) (Hardcover)
Harsh, real, magical, and beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Dec. 2014
By 
Gilbert Cottam (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Water Babies (Award Gift Books) (Hardcover)
A BOOK ALL CHILDREN SHOULD READ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Water Babies (Award Gift Books)
The Water Babies (Award Gift Books) by Jane Carruth (Hardcover - 1 Feb. 2003)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews