Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sheer delight
Katie is an enjoyable child, willing to explore anything - and if her visit to the National Gallery means trying to gather up sunflowers from van Gogh's painting, then we enter the adventure with her! A wonderful way to introduce a child to some of the pictures in the National Gallery - which are extremely well reproduced - and make it all great fun. The adventure is...
Published on 1 Feb 2006

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Certainly not as good as the original Boog..
Nicely Drawn, with some inetersting facts, but as a story these are clumbsy and not really very good.

The storyline and the constant 'information giving' do not sit well together.
Published 18 months ago by Paul Stanford


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sheer delight, 1 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Katie and the Sunflowers (Paperback)
Katie is an enjoyable child, willing to explore anything - and if her visit to the National Gallery means trying to gather up sunflowers from van Gogh's painting, then we enter the adventure with her! A wonderful way to introduce a child to some of the pictures in the National Gallery - which are extremely well reproduced - and make it all great fun. The adventure is lively, introduces several pictures by different artists, and is a real delight. ~One of the favourite bedtime books with our family - girls and boys both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 21 Jun 2010
This review is from: Katie and the Sunflowers (Paperback)
My 4 year old son adores this book, its funny and educational and entertaining. I have just ordered several others in the series as i am tired of reading just this one twice a day. The story has prompted os many discussions about art, France, seeds and plants and imagination and magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring book, 11 April 2009
By 
C. chudasama (Braintree, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Katie and the Sunflowers (Paperback)
What a beautiful inspiring book for children young and old. Informative and imaginative. The story jumps off the page!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big fan !, 25 April 2012
By 
L. Cavalcanti (Rome , Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Katie and the Sunflowers (Paperback)
I have turned into a major fan of James Mayhew , for many reasons : his wonderful stories, his talented illustrations, his unique way of orchestra storytelling but most of all : he has made possible for me to share things I love most, as music and art, with my 3 y.o ! I don't only recommend this book, I recommend the entire collection to anyone who would love to share the arts with their little ones !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely story!, 19 Mar 2012
By 
S. Flores (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Katie and the Sunflowers (Paperback)
I bought this for my 3 year old nephew who already owns Katie in London and Katie and the Dinosaurs. It has been a huge hit and he loves going on adventures with Katie. Very much recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Katie and the Sunflowers, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Katie and the Sunflowers (Paperback)
Nice introduction to art gallery - especially if you go to gallery later. However, most of the pictures in the story are not in the National Gallery whereas they are if you get the 'Katie and the Picture Gallery' book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Certainly not as good as the original Boog.., 16 Feb 2013
By 
Paul Stanford "Palibacsi" (READING, BERKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Katie and the Sunflowers (Paperback)
Nicely Drawn, with some inetersting facts, but as a story these are clumbsy and not really very good.

The storyline and the constant 'information giving' do not sit well together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Katie and the Sunflowers, 6 Jan 2008
This review is from: Katie and the Sunflowers (Paperback)
A trip to the National Gallery on a rainy day led Katie into many types of Impressionist paintings. This particular book is good for getting the general gist about the Impressionist painters and their famous work. Though there are some of Van Gogh's work, the focus was not on the artist and his particular Sunflowers painting, which was what I was looking for in this particular book. However, it is a great introduction to the era of paintings and its painters which help children recognise them if they do go into the gallery themselves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Katie and the Sunflowers
Katie and the Sunflowers by James Mayhew (Paperback - 25 Oct 2001)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews