Customer Reviews


228 Reviews
5 star:
 (193)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Don't judge a book by it's cover????"
Another wonderful book from Giles Andreae. The other animals laugh at Gerald the Girafe because gangly "Girafes can't Dance" but Gerald learns from an unusual source that he can dance wonderfully when he can hear his own music. A real treaure that teaches children and adults alike that appearances can be deceptive and we must look past the cover. Look past this books...
Published on 15 Mar 2003 by Paula Knott

versus
28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cannot find any love for this book
Something about this book rubs me up the wrong way. The illustrations are great but both my wife and I feel sad and disappointed at the end of the book. Our son enjoys it, so I guess that's what matters. The text is a little stilted and repetitive ("I am dancing, yes I'm dancing, I am dancing", Gerald cried. - Yeah, we get it, you're dancing, well done.). But I feel the...
Published on 7 Nov 2011 by C. O'Neill


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Don't judge a book by it's cover????", 15 Mar 2003
By 
Paula Knott (MARCH,, Cambs. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Giraffes Can't Dance (Hardcover)
Another wonderful book from Giles Andreae. The other animals laugh at Gerald the Girafe because gangly "Girafes can't Dance" but Gerald learns from an unusual source that he can dance wonderfully when he can hear his own music. A real treaure that teaches children and adults alike that appearances can be deceptive and we must look past the cover. Look past this books cover and you find yourself on a magical road to self awareness. A great tool for discussing all forms of prejudice or just a wonderfully funny book. Read and enjoy whilst reader and child learn a valuable lesson for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made me cry...., 20 Feb 2008
By 
Mrs. Billi Street (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Giraffes Can't Dance (Paperback)
I bought this book after reading so many good reviews on this site. I couldn't even get through it without crying!!! That may have been an over-reaction but it really is a wonderful story and the illustrations are beautiful. Definitely my favourite book in my daughter's collection (and let's face it, it's just as important for the parents to love the kid's books as they're the ones reading them out loud every day of their lives!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strictly come dancing.......but......play a different tune!, 27 Oct 2010
This review is from: Giraffes Can't Dance (Paperback)
Superb book from Giles Andreae which subtly points out that we can do something if we really want to - it might just need a different approach!
Brilliantly illustrated throughout in vibrant 'jungle' colours, by Guy Parker-Rees.

Attractive paperback covers opens to 32 high quality shiny pages, in 2-page spread format.
The text is clear and easy-to-follow, and enhanced at the turning point of this story, FOR EFFECT!

Great for narrating - the flowing rhyming text is easy to encourage the important 'all-join-in', and being a larger paperback, measuring in around 23.75 cm x 29.25 cm, it is clearly visible from the 'back of the pack', as we call it in our little reading corner!

The rhyme begins with a description of Gerald the Giraffe and what he is at good at, i.e. standing tall and munching lofty shoots. However those long legs are not the best for chasing after butterflies.....or dancing at the 'Jungle Annual'!

The atmospheric illustrations are packed with finer detail promoting extra 'look and see' games, counting, name the different sorts of animals, the various dances......and the facial expressions are key - so typically human - from the sadness/happiness of dawning realisation, the determined preoccupation of the 'dancers' and the hilarity of most!

Gerald is really sad because he can't dance:-

* he can't waltz, he can't rock 'n' roll, he can't tango, he can't cha-cha.....and he certainly can't Scottish reel!

But he goes onto the dance floor, anyway - and off again!

He starts to walk home all alone.....but......in a little clearing under the moonlight sky, he meets something which makes him stop and encourage him to look at everything from a different perspective:-

'Listen to the swaying grass
And listen to the trees,
To me the sweetest music
Is those branches in the breeze.

So imagine that that lovely moon
Is playing just for you,
Everything makes music
If you really want it to......'

And Gerald does.........and as all the animals happen by, one-by-one, they see an amazing sight - this particular giraffe can dance, after all!

Beautiful, and happy ever after!

Also available as a Giraffes Can't Dance Gift Set, with your very own Gerald!

Also worth a look, by the same duo - The Chimpanzees of Happytown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two left feet?, 28 May 2002
By A Customer
I've just purchased a "big book" edition of this to use with reception class. It's a great, light-hearted story about a bandy-legged giraffe with two left feet who turns out to be a brilliant boogier, with the right kind of music, and a little help from a cricket of course! The kids will love this one- its got bold colourful illustrations and plenty of humour to boot. What's more there's a nice message in amongst the rhyming narrative- that we're all different and even if we find we cannot do something- if we try again and look for new ways then anything is possible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 9 Dec 2001
By 
hejosi@mail.dk (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Giraffes Can't Dance (Paperback)
Giraffes can't dance is simply a wonderful book that teaches children that not everyone is the same, and that everyone has hidden talents. A humorous and well illustrated work. Highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Giraffes Can't Dance, 29 Jun 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant book, with fantastic illustrations. The verse moves with pace and read aloud to children immediately catches their imagination. The jungle animals are shown dancing but poor Gerald the giraffe feels very clumsy until he meets a friendly cricket. A tale with a moral, we may all be different but 'Sometimes all we need is a different song to dance to'. The audio tape is equally briliant. Not only do you have the verse read by Hugh Laurie but the music to accomapany each dance. An excellent introduction to different kinds of music, so rare these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gives the small reader many lessons of persistence, hard work and friendship, 24 Dec 2013
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Giraffes Can't Dance (Paperback)
"Giraffes Can't Dance" written by Giles Andreae and illustrated by Guy Parker-Rees is book for children that will teach them the lessons of friendship and that you shouldn't listen to others when they tell you something is impossible for you to do, because too much effort needs to be invested.

The main character is Gerald the Giraffe who more than anything wants to learn dancing.
However, given Gerald's constitution, thin legs and bandy knees that seems like an almost impossible mission to achieve.
But encouraged by words from an unexpected friend, Gerald and small readers will learn that anyone can dance when music that we love is found...

Besides Giles Andreae humorous and inspiring text, the book especially excels on illustrations part, providing many funny pictures of dancing animals - tango dancing lions, rock 'n' roll rhinos, cha-cha chimps - that kids will love.
But, of course, the nicest are pages showing our main guy Gerald who from clumsy dancer eventually will become a big dancing star who performs acrobatic stunts.

Overall, this at first glance simple book gives the small reader many lessons of persistence, hard work and friendship.
And if they still fail in something they really want, they should remember that because they're might not good at some things there are many other of their talents in which they'll be great that will eventually make them happy.

Therefore, due to the beautiful lessons and book presentation, "Giraffes Can't Dance" can be recommended to every child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and even moving in places!, 30 Aug 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giraffes Can't Dance (Paperback)
Gerald is a giraffe and an outcast until one day he lets go of his inhibitions. The illustrations and alliteration make this a favourite for both me, aged 31 and my nephew Billy, aged four and a bit. Its written by the bloke who does Purple Ronnie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, must have read for all children!, 6 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Giraffes Can't Dance (Paperback)
My daughter has enjoyed this brilliant book since the age of two, now aged four she 'reads' the rhymes to all of her dolls on a weekly basis enjoying every minute.
This book captures the imaginations of all children through rhyme and fun, whilst delivering the important message that even though we may all be different, we all are able to achieve our dreams when we find our ' music that we love!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars we all love this book and all know the words off by heart, 7 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Giraffes Can't Dance (Paperback)
This is the favourite book of our 2 year old daughter, we all love the illustrations;it has just the right amount of meaning-full but fun words on every page - a must for any house with young children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Giraffes Can't Dance
Giraffes Can't Dance by Giles Andreae (Paperback - 1 May 2014)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews