Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can you Catch a Mermaid? A tale to remember
The book is beautifully told and illustrated, complete with glitter on the cover to catch the eye of young children. Particularly suitable for girls, this book captures the imagination and draws you in to the story using simple yet effective language. It also touches upon many subjects in an unobtrusive manner such as single parent families and choosing between right and...
Published on 25 Feb 2004 by Karen

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated
As pointed out by one of the earlier reviewers, my daughter (5) immediately noticed the glitter on the cover in the bookshop, read the title and decided that her search for a book to take home was over!
This is a beautifully illustrated book with the pictures conveying the mood of each page in an enchanting, almost haunting way. However I do think that in a book this...
Published on 29 May 2004 by Alan Simpson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can you Catch a Mermaid? A tale to remember, 25 Feb 2004
By 
Karen (London area) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Can You Catch a Mermaid? (Paperback)
The book is beautifully told and illustrated, complete with glitter on the cover to catch the eye of young children. Particularly suitable for girls, this book captures the imagination and draws you in to the story using simple yet effective language. It also touches upon many subjects in an unobtrusive manner such as single parent families and choosing between right and wrong. Jane Ray has managed to capture magic and place it between the leaves of the book, unravelling in the mermaid's hair blowing in the breeze and the vivid descriptions provided. The layout of the book varies from page to page, which makes it exciting to read, the text speaking to you differently on different pages, for example, during the terrible storms that are described, the writing swirls about the page, up and down, in much the same way that the sea would being bashed against the harbour walls. The narrator's thoughts and the speech of the mermaid are in italics, which makes it easy for the children to distinguish between who is talking and also adds a sense of mystery to the words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars can you catch a mermaid?, 19 Aug 2003
By 
Mrs S J Lilley (Halifax, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Can You Catch a Mermaid? (Paperback)
We got this book from the library for my 7 year old who is mad about mermaids and were bowled over by the lovely illustrations and the haunting story
My daughter totally understood the main character Eliza wanting to keep Freya the mermaid but in the end she was pleased that Eliza let her return to the sea.
A magical picture book and we shall definatly be ordering our own copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for mermaid lovers of all ages, 17 Sep 2003
By 
pnina leor (Metar, Israel) - See all my reviews
Can You Catch a Mermaid was a delight to read with my 5 year old daughter. The illustrations are warm and colourful. The story captures and keeps the attention of small ones. I particularly like the fact that the characters aside from the mermaid are a single parented family. Furthermore, I was pleased to see that this single parented family is comprised of a father and daughter. I am a single mom with a daughter, and I think it is good for her to know that there are single dads with kids.
Aside from being impressed with the illustrations, we both enjoyed the story.
I highly recommend this book and give it 5+ stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a beautiful tale of a young girl's attachment to a mermaid, 19 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Can You Catch a Mermaid? (Paperback)
Like all four-year-olds, I guess, my daughter has a thing about Mermaids, but I found this story to be more touching, more beautifully illustrated that the other mermaid tale which she is most familiar with - notably The Little Mermaid (both Disney and otherwise).
It tells the story of a little girl who befriends a strange young girl who she meets on the beach, while her father is out in his fishing boat. When she discovers that this stranger is actually a mermaid, she is reluctant to let her return to the sea and prevents her from doing so (without wishing to give the entire game away).
It is a rather chilling tale, with more than a hint of ghostliness to it, but which captures all young girls' obsessions with the idea of being a mermaid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book to share, 21 Aug 2010
By 
J. Humberstone (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Can You Catch a Mermaid? (Paperback)
My daughter(4)really loves this book, and it's one of my absolute favorites to read to her, as I enjoy it as much as she does! Beautifully written and illustrated, and we are both enchanted by the end. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 19 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Can You Catch a Mermaid? (Paperback)
A lovely book, enjoyed by both myself and my daughter (5), gorgeous, detailed pictures. A must for all mermaid lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book and story, 3 Feb 2010
This review is from: Can You Catch a Mermaid? (Paperback)
My daughter was given this book with CD for her 5th birthday and a year later she still loves listening to it at bedtime, I'm surprised it's not worn out!! The pictures are absolutely beautiful and the story very thought provoking about a young girls attachment to a mermaid and her ultimate realisation that she must let her go back to the sea. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 20 July 2011
This review is from: Can You Catch a Mermaid? (Paperback)
This is a great book. Brilliant pictures and a great story. We kept borrowing this from the library and decided to buy our own copy. My 5 year old daughter loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Have you ever seen a mermaid?, 8 Feb 2011
This review is from: Can You Catch a Mermaid? (Paperback)
A beautiful picture book, where the illustrations and layout of the text complement the ideas of the story. As well as being an engaging story, playing on the usual myths of mermaids, it touches on loneliness and the needs of friendship. A good mermaid story for children of 4 or 5 to enjoy but with enough depth and subtlety to make slightly older children think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A children's book with substance, 30 Jan 2011
This review is from: Can You Catch a Mermaid? (Paperback)
Beautifully written.
Beautifully illustrated.
Touching story.
Positive father/daughter relationship based on sensitivity rather than heroism.
Empowering message with daughter arriving at conclusions herself and have to disagree with the reviewer who claims there wasn't enough character development - there's plenty and an appropriate level of thought provoking challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Can You Catch a Mermaid?
Can You Catch a Mermaid? by Jane Ray (Paperback - 26 Jun 2003)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews