Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun & accurate poems and great underwater sounds and music
By co-incidence I bought this for my son (three and three quarters) around the time we went to the sealife aquarium. It is great for car journeys where he can look at the bright pictures in the book while listening to the poems, good for night time reading and was popular when he took it to nursery.
One short poem per fish or mammal - crab, whale, shark, lobster,...
Published on 7 May 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed......
I have received this item today after speedy delivery but found it's not the item I expected.
I expected a A4 size book but have received a smaller hard back?
Published 5 months ago by Kim Wiltshire


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun & accurate poems and great underwater sounds and music, 7 May 2003
By A Customer
By co-incidence I bought this for my son (three and three quarters) around the time we went to the sealife aquarium. It is great for car journeys where he can look at the bright pictures in the book while listening to the poems, good for night time reading and was popular when he took it to nursery.
One short poem per fish or mammal - crab, whale, shark, lobster, angel fish - you name it. One introductory poem and a final one to get the child to remembering the sea creatures they've heard about. Simple verse focuses on a particular characteristic of the creature. Sounds of the dolphins are great, and the underwater music bubbles tempting your toddler to giggle and dance.
Flip side of the tape is without music for readers following it in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb toddler reading aloud book!, 20 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Commotion In The Ocean (Orchard Picturebooks) (Paperback)
Twenty month old James loved this book, full of octopuses, sharks, crabs and undersea creatures. The colourful pictures and engaging rhymes are wonderful. There is enough depth in the book to keep interest going until the book can be read by the child on their own. Probably the best book for a pre-school child we have bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Commotion in my House!!!!, 21 Oct 2005
I have a 2 year old who thought this book was so good we have read it at least twice a day for the past 3 weeks!!!! The poems are fantastic and the pictures are really stimulating for young ( and older!!)minds. We have spent hours pointing out which fish are which and then reading the poems, and he still isnt bored with it. His older brothers have also enjoyed reading this with him.( they have even taken to making up actions for the different creatures!)
I will now be buying the other books in the series to see if they are as good!!!Father Christmas had better stock up on book tokens!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 29 July 2006
By 
E I. -THEOCHARI "Eleni Th." (Boston, MA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Commotion In The Ocean (Orchard Picturebooks) (Paperback)
Giles Andreae and his partners have written several colorful, snappy, rhythmic tales that instruct children in an incredibly fun way! Commotion in the Ocean succeeds in portraying even the swordfish and the shark in a realistic, yet not overly scary way. The illustrations in the book are superior, something I personally enjoy when reading to my children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great illustrations, 5 Oct 2010
This review is from: Commotion In The Ocean (Orchard Picturebooks) (Paperback)
My little boy loves this book, he's only 3 months old but really enjoys staring at the pictures and he makes lots of happy squeaky noises which i take means he's enjoying it! I would defintely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a superb book, 13 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. Steven R. Harrison (wigan uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Commotion In The Ocean (Orchard Picturebooks) (Paperback)
bought 5 of these books in the collection and they are all superb with great illustrations and very witty worded description.
my little girl loves these books being read to her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!!, 9 July 2002
By 
Helen Hill (Portishead Bristol, North Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Commotion In The Ocean (Orchard Picturebooks) (Paperback)
Commotion in the Ocean is a fantastic colourful book with good pictures and funny poems, an absolute must for parents with children, look out for the starfish!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 23 Mar 2011
This review is from: Commotion In The Ocean (Orchard Picturebooks) (Paperback)
Beautiful pictures and sweet little poems, have read it to my two year old more times than I can remember without it driving me up the wall!! She loves hunting for the 3 hiding star fish on each page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 30 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Commotion In The Ocean (Orchard Picturebooks) (Paperback)
I bought this for my four-month-old grandson. It's beautifuly illustrated and he certainly seems to be absorbed when I am reading it to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and witty, 30 May 2008
By 
Michelle P. Peters (Liverpool/ London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Commotion In The Ocean (Orchard Picturebooks) (Paperback)
I got this book for my 5 month old daughter and I love it and so does she. The pictures are big and colourful, and she loves me reading the poems to her in a sing song way. I prefer it to books with one or two sentences! We also enjoy looking for the starfish doing silly things! The reason I have given the book 4 stars is because I would would have liked it more had it had stiffer pages that would be able to handle pulling and pushing and being chewed on. The price is also a bit steep. That said, I will still be buying the rest of the series, as its beautifully written and illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Commotion In The Ocean (Orchard Picturebooks)
Commotion In The Ocean (Orchard Picturebooks) by Giles Andreae (Paperback - 13 May 1999)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews