Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended
I really enjoyed The Last Kashmiri Rose and this one is just as good, if not better. I recommend it.
Published 20 months ago by CSC

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good storyline
This is the first time I have read any of the Sandilands stories so still not sure but I will be reading more. Would still recommend it.
Published 18 months ago by keith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Afghan troubles for Sandilands, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting and thoughtful plot constructed with an obvious understanding of the Raj at the beginning of the 20th century. Plot weaves around events in the North West Frontier, the most dangerous place for the British Army in the 1920s (and now!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another good story from Barbara Cleverly, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am so pleased I have discovered this author, just wish I had sooner. The ones I have read to date have been different to each other but so evocative of the time they are set in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Damascened Blade by Barbara Cleverly, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Am nearing the end of this tale of adventure on the North West Frontier, and as a big fan of Barbara Cleverly, am enjoying it very much!
As usual, she has written a book with brilliant background detail - her descriptions of the Khyber Pass and the tribal people's combine with the Indian Raj characters from the 1920's make this an easy read.
If you have travelled in that part of the world, you will enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars India in the 1920s, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good easy read giving an insight into the life of a British person working in India in the days of the empire at the same time a good detective novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars page turner, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Transported you to the time period, very difficult to put down and kept you going untill the very last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Damascened Blade (Joe Sandilands) (Paperback)
This is the third book in the series. It is a well developed plot with good characterisations and progresses at a good pace towards an exciting but not predictable conclusion. Anyone who enjoys detective stories or adventure yarns in exotic locations cannot fail to enjoy the Joe Sandilands series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A very bad book, 17 April 2012
By 
Madsen Bertil "Leser" (Landskrona, Schweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Damascened Blade (Joe Sandilands) (Paperback)
A very uninteresting read, no suspense at all, and the characters drawn without any special traits. Not recommendable. The tropical culour is blown out like a dirty curtain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Damascened Blade (Joe Sandilands)
The Damascened Blade (Joe Sandilands) by Barbara Cleverly (Paperback - 24 Jun 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews