Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS SERIES JUST GETS BETTTER & BETTER !
Having already read the three previous titles in the Joe Sandilands series, I was very much looking forward to this, the latest installment.Ms.Cleverly has come up with another winner, the sense of time and place is magical, with a plot that twists and turns like a corkscrew.
Do yourself a favour - go back to the beginning and start with 'Last Kashmiri Rose'- then...
Published on 12 Dec 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a struggle
I enjoyed the first one of this series but this one was a bit slow paced and did not really live up to the first.
Published 15 months ago by ChrisI


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS SERIES JUST GETS BETTTER & BETTER !, 12 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Palace Tiger (The Detective Joe Sandilands) (Hardcover)
Having already read the three previous titles in the Joe Sandilands series, I was very much looking forward to this, the latest installment.Ms.Cleverly has come up with another winner, the sense of time and place is magical, with a plot that twists and turns like a corkscrew.
Do yourself a favour - go back to the beginning and start with 'Last Kashmiri Rose'- then read them all. You'll be hooked too. Roll on the next one in the series !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Palace Tiger by Barbara Cleverly, 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an avowed Indiaphile, I loved this! The story is set in a palace, during the final days of British rule, and the story rollocks along at a good pace with interesting twists and turns --- full of surprises and dark deeds...
Barbara Cleverly has a gift for setting the scene in period - and this little story is full of details true to the times.
For someone who enjoys the exotic side of Indian history - no question! Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a treat, 28 Nov 2005
By 
i enjoyed this book very much. it kept me guessing 'til the end, and maybe i missed the clues but i hadn't sussed whodunnit, but didn't feel cheated that i hadn't suspected the guilty party as i found it quite plausible. i've enjoyed the books being set in india as it's a peek into another world and time. i'm disappointed the next is set in the uk, but no doubt once i find the time to start it will be as hooked as i have been by cleverly's writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enya, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This story held a special interest for me as my mother was born in India and my grandfather served there during this period. The plot was somewhat complicated and with the Indian names one had to concentrate on who did what. An intriguing story with details of the lifestyle in India during the 1920s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good easy read, 10 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another of the Joe Sandilands mysteries and is an enjoyable way to spend a few hours of escapism. nothing too taxing but quite a good plot plus some insight into the time of the Raj.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great tale of India, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The intrigue of Indian royalty and courtiers amidst sumptuous wealth and the machinations of British politics are all contained in this murder mystery, which is once again solved with the help of our hero, Joe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Period Novel, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Her books in the Joe Sandilands Murder Mystery series are an excellent read. Sets the scene of India very well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jolly good yarn, 20 July 2013
By 
Mr. Graham M. Payne (Somerset England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read several of these stories and do enjoy them they have the right atmosphere and feel fore the time and place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written and researched, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting read, not only for the basic detective story but for Barbara's description of India and life in those areas. Will read the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very clever plot. Keeps you guessing right to the end!, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great descriptions of the Raj and colonial Times. You feel the smells and sights of India. The book is very subtle and easy to read but keeps you hooked right to the end. Brilliant read! Can't wait to read the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Palace Tiger (The Detective Joe Sandilands)
The Palace Tiger (The Detective Joe Sandilands) by Barbara Cleverly (Hardcover - 23 Sep 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews