Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book - absolutely brilliant and revelatory, 6 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (Hardcover)
I bought this book a few weeks ago and upon receipt wanted to write a review there and then – it looked that good! Having just finished it I can now comment. What can I say about this wonderful book that hasn’t been covered before in the professional reviews given by acknowledged experts?
Well, I can only give my opinion on what I have seen. I have been studying the western front for over ten years now and have made numerous visits to the battlefields. This book shows them in a completely different light and is revelatory in the utmost. Where many people would imagine there was a sea of mud and shell holes, there are church spires, fields of flowers and often little to show that ‘the war to end all wars’ is going on. Also, to see how the ‘front line’ itself varied through the different geographical and geological areas it passed through from the North Sea down to the Somme is fascinating. Some areas had trenches, some breastworks – it all depended on the ground conditions and water table.
What jumped out at me most in reading this book was how different parts of the front varied from each other. There was always fighting in and around the Ypres salient, yet just a few miles away there was a ‘live and let live’ policy and to read of one officer being so bored with his trench duty that he made a garden in the front line trenches and also hopped on his bicycle and cycled down to view the aftermath of the Battle of Neuve Chapelle was enlightening to say the least!
The vast amount of personal testimony, diaries and letters in this book add immeasurably to the work and provide an explanation to the backdrop of the panoramas. The work involved in cataloguing these panoramas is prodigious (8 years!) and coupled with the 370+ pages of writing, explaining everything you can see and what it was used for you certainly get an incredible amount of information by the author.
The two CD-ROMs containing over 200 panoramas work fantastically and it is such a pleasure to be able to zoom in on images, previously unseen to this generation, and get some idea of what the men who fought and died in these areas could see.
I cannot recommend this book highly enough. For those interested in the Great War it is a must buy. You don’t even have to be an expert to appreciate the detail and attention that has gone into this work. Anyone could pick it up and read bits that would amaze them. Simply incredible, SO rewarding and without doubt the best new book I have seen on the Great War in the past few years. £35 for this – a total bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battlefield historians please note, 18 Jan. 2006
By 
Chris Holehouse "Chris Holehouse" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (Hardcover)
As an amateur WW1 historian and battlefield visitor of more than 25 years standing I cannot enthuse too much about this book. Just when you think that nothing new can be written or printed about WW1 Peter Barton comes along with this masterpiece. Buy it read it and re-read it! The CD-ROMs are also excellent and offer many hours of browsing. In fact the book should come with a warning - "This book is totally addictive and your TV set will become instantly obsolete!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 19 Feb. 2006
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (Hardcover)
Actually I didn't buy it - it was a Christmas present, but having read it I would recommend it to anyone. I wanted it for the pictures of the front where my grandfather served. But in fact it is an extremely well-written, very readable account of the war from a different perspective than most. Rather than being chronological this is geographical, following the battlefields from north to south. Consequently you find out about sections of the front that are often not mentioned in most histories. And the panoramas are simply superb! Truly excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must book, 17 Feb. 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (Hardcover)
Whatever one learns of the Great War always seems to contridict what has been learnt before. What this book supplies is the missing link. The battlefeilds as they were. From the pictures one is able to get an impression of the persepectives involved. One important aspect is the removal of the mythology of the waste land of mud so prevelant. The views show the British front from the North down to the Somme, as they were and changed. It would take a month to get even half of the knowledge contained in these pictures out. It really is a must have for anyone with an intrest in this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot be devoured at one sitting, 25 Dec. 2006
By 
Mr. Michael Metherell "mickmeth" (Royal Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (Hardcover)
This masterpiece of research should form part of every WW1 student's library. Cannot be devoured at one sitting, best sampled in bite-sized portions, ideally at a large table with PC and the book at hand. Inaccurate references make parts of the book slightly hard going but do allow the reader to indulge in a little detective work of their own. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding reference book for WW1, 16 Mar. 2006
By 
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (Hardcover)
There is so much information in this book it often defies the reader to take too much on board. Sometimes the photos/dialogue struggle to join together but this is a must have book.
Life in the trenches must have been terrifying & this book just serves to reinforce this.
Any student of WW1 should have this in their bookcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What the soldier saw, 27 Nov. 2005
By 
Tam (Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (Hardcover)
A marvellous compendium of panoramas and photographs from both sides. The view from the trenches as seen by military observers. This book will be an essential guide to any who are interested in WW1. It was marred for me by the lack of method in the titling of the pictures in the book. Some captions are simply wrong. It can be very difficult to assign the correct title to the appropriate picture. The CDs provide endless hours of browsing with none of the problems of titling seen in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First rate, 30 Sept. 2007
By 
Martin Clark - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (Hardcover)
As a first world war enthusiast and regular Battlefield visitor,and having read countless good and bad books on the subject i cannot rate this book highly enough,Peter Barton has done a fantastic job,a must read for anyone interested in the period
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book but CD-ROMs are not Mac compatible, 15 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (Hardcover)
I bought this book after reading the glowing reviews in Amazon, and can only agree it contains a wealth of information in well presented text, diagrams and photographs and is well produced in its strong slipcase.
Unfortunately for Mac owners, the CD-ROMS are for Windows only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exemplary, 10 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battlefields of the First World War (Hardcover)
I bought this having already got Peter Barton's The Somme, Passchendaele and Arras volumes. It is simply stunning, full of impeccably researched details and analysis, beautifully clear maps and of course the wonderful panoramas. This volume is a generous size, considerably larger than the other three, and in contrast to the more specific studies it covers a lot of ground, including much unfamiliar territory.

It seems extraordinary that we have had to wait so long for such an exemplary study, but good grief wasn't it worth the wait! Having distance from the events is a benefit: it actually improves the perspective. I'm just sad my father who was on the Somme in 1917, let alone my uncle who was killed at Passchendaele, could not have seen this magnificent work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Battlefields of the First World War
The Battlefields of the First World War by Richard Holmes (Hardcover - 27 Oct. 2005)
Used & New from: £24.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews