Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsory reading
If you haven't read much about autism, this is the best possible place to start; if you've read lots about autism, you'll still find new information and insights in here. Lorna Wing is a renowned researcher who is also the mother of an autistic daughter herself, and she combines the two perspectives to provide a positive and reassuring guide to understanding autism and...
Published on 24 Sep 2000

versus
34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too negative
The first half of this book is very interesting and tells you a lot about what to expect from an autistic child (I read it because my son has symptoms of autism). Unfortunately the book goes on to predict a depressing future for autistic adults which really got me down, and for this reason I recommend you don't read it as a first guide to autism.

There are...
Published on 17 Aug 2008 by FR's mum


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsory reading, 24 Sep 2000
By A Customer
If you haven't read much about autism, this is the best possible place to start; if you've read lots about autism, you'll still find new information and insights in here. Lorna Wing is a renowned researcher who is also the mother of an autistic daughter herself, and she combines the two perspectives to provide a positive and reassuring guide to understanding autism and coping with it on a day-to-day basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Autistic Spectrum, 23 April 2003
By 
David M. Lockley (Coventry, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Autistic Spectrum: A Guide for Parents and Professionals (Paperback)
We have learnt more, through reading this book, than we have from any other source of information relating to autism. The most important aspect of this book is allowing others an insight into the condition wihtout creating fear and most importantly it allowed us to realise, we are not alone.
Excellently written, easy reading and a thoroughly educational insight into autism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very informative, 2 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: The Autistic Spectrum: A Guide for Parents and Professionals (Paperback)
This is the third book i have read since my daughter was recently diagnosed. Out of all three i found this one to be the best.

I found it very informative and it doesnt push certain therapies and 'mircle cures' on to the reader.

It is very well written and a good guide for anyone interested in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too negative, 17 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: The Autistic Spectrum: A Guide for Parents and Professionals (Paperback)
The first half of this book is very interesting and tells you a lot about what to expect from an autistic child (I read it because my son has symptoms of autism). Unfortunately the book goes on to predict a depressing future for autistic adults which really got me down, and for this reason I recommend you don't read it as a first guide to autism.

There are plenty of more positive, practical books which explain autism and also give you ways to coax your child out of his autistic world and set him on a path to a more 'regular' life (eg 'Playing laughing and learning with children on the autism spectrum'). Read such books as these alongside Lorna Wing's and her book will be less depressing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 5 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Autistic Spectrum: A Guide for Parents and Professionals (Paperback)
For any parent or person who needs to know more about the Autistic spectrum, this is the book you really must buy, it is no nonsense, no jargon, written in plain english by someone who really understands the condition and variations on the spectrum.
This really helped me gain more insight into my child, his behaviours and the world around us. It was nice to know it wasn't all in my head! Now to continue fighting the system...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative., 6 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: The Autistic Spectrum: A Guide for Parents and Professionals (Paperback)
This book was a god send to me in those dark days of my sons early years. My son was 2 when i started reading this book and it felt as though i was reading about my own son in the book.
Great book that i still refer to now and my son is 12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Autistic Spectrum: A Guide for Parents and Professionals (Paperback)
It's an easy-to-read and practical book for references for parents and people who are related to people with disorders within the autism spectrum. Just have to keep in mind the development of the research the last couple of years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 5 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Autistic Spectrum: A Guide for Parents and Professionals (Paperback)
As far as I am concerned this is the best book on the subject of Autism, ( and I have read quite a few books ) Its very easy to read and packed with vital information on this often misunderstood condition that affects so many individuals. Lorna Wing is one of the leading experts on Autism. If you only buy one book on Autism this should be it, cant recomend it enough, its the bible on Autism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars invaluable, 21 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs. B. J. Gorga (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Autistic Spectrum: A Guide for Parents and Professionals (Paperback)
this book is invaluable, it covers alot of areas. It opens your eyes and will be an invaluable addition to my coleection of autistic books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't read this book first..., 23 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Autistic Spectrum: A Guide for Parents and Professionals (Paperback)
Informative book for the establishment view of autism and the current educational context, but despite the authority of the author, the book comes over as overly negative and seems to downplay the progress possible with intensive early intervention, and issues like dietary intervention. A book which might dishearten parents of newly diagnosed children, who would otherwise have made a go of it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Autistic Spectrum: A Guide for Parents and Professionals
The Autistic Spectrum: A Guide for Parents and Professionals by Ms Lorna Wing (Paperback - 30 Jan 2003)
£9.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews