Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible.
If you were fascinated by films such as "Dancing with Wolves" or "Bury my heart at Wounded Knee", you will definitely enjoy this book. This book is the story of America's true history. The history not many people know about: The history of Native Americans. The story guides you through the different peoples, from Sioux to the Iroquois, passing through several different...
Published on 18 Oct 2009 by C. M. James

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable read
This book adopts a bit of a different approach in that it charts the history of the Native American tribes in terms of their location, customs and practices, and their different ways of life. It's easy to read, well structured and well written, but it wasn't quite what I was looking for/thought it was.
Published 9 months ago by traveller


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible., 18 Oct 2009
By 
C. M. James (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Native Americans: The Story of America's Original Inhabitants in All Its Beauty, Magic, Truth and Tragedy (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
If you were fascinated by films such as "Dancing with Wolves" or "Bury my heart at Wounded Knee", you will definitely enjoy this book. This book is the story of America's true history. The history not many people know about: The history of Native Americans. The story guides you through the different peoples, from Sioux to the Iroquois, passing through several different tribes and cultures in between. The story of why they are now extinct, how their societies worked and the true meaning of their traditions and culture... This book describes all the possible aspects of this incredible culture, history and way of life. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended book to start or continue the history of Native Amercians., 17 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Native Americans: The Story of America's Original Inhabitants in All Its Beauty, Magic, Truth and Tragedy (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
Lewis J. E. (ed. 2004) The Mammoth Book of Native Americans. Constable and Robinson Ltd., London.

This is a voluminous tome, condensing information without missing out the human element, and which is easy to read. It is an anthology of factual information from a variety of sources, presented in such a way that even a high school student could follow without too much effort. The extensive bibliography tells of research done to back up the information offered to the reader. As far as I can ascertain there is balance without noticeable bias. The editor, Lewis, has done his job well in pulling the facts together and allowing the reader to 'hear' the long dead speak out. There are several lengthy quotations from various well known Indians and excerpts taken from diaries / journals of white soldiers of the time.

The book starts with a well set out contents list, broken down into four main parts followed by a chapter dedicated to the words of Luther Standing Bear (taken from: Land of the Spotted Eagle, Houghton Mifflin Company, Boston, 1933) and rounded off nicely with five quite lengthy appendixes. Before the book even begins there is a 14 page chronology covering from the first humans up to the year 2000. Another useful feature is the illustrations of the various Tribes; 3 maps in total.

Readers who are new to this historical period of American history or are embarking out on a quest of discovery will be delighted to have this book as their first step along this journey. Not only is it easy to follow, it is written by a person who knows how to keep his audience attentive. This is a book that will inspire the reader to seek out more information and where better to start than with some of the books listed in the bibliography. Those who purchase this book will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars M Hayes, 4 Sep 2009
By 
M. Hayes (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Native Americans: The Story of America's Original Inhabitants in All Its Beauty, Magic, Truth and Tragedy (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
Took this book on holiday and was a great read. Fascinating tragic true life story of American Indians, their culture and history from its beginnings up till modern times. Would definitely recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ethic Cleansing, US Style, 2 Oct 2004
By 
T. MacFarlane "Tommacf" (Fylde Coast, North West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wherever Europeans have settled, the indigenous peoples have had, at best, a very raw deal, at worst - like the Caribs and the Arawaks - they have simply been wiped out by the contact with the Europeans' germs, guns, and slave labour.
Involved in the Europeans' wars, the pre-Colombian Americans (if that's not an oxymoron) were cheated and duped out of their lands during the nineteenth century. Whenever they made a treaty with the government in Washington, it was torn up, and the so-called Red Indians lost even more of their land.
Having been provoked into war with the US, the native Americans were always "on a loser". They are all here in this book, the warriors who stood up to the whites, only to be killed, humiliated, or degraded.
It is a shameful story, told in massive detail, and as difficult to read as accounts of the Nazi Holocaust.
The original Americans were seen by the whites as savages, but the book gives the lie to that fiction.
Read in particular, the story of The League of Five Nations which details the Iroquois Confederacy, set up circa 1450. The author tells of how this "brought democracy and government" - with universal suffrage - at a time when no European country (?Iceland?) had any such thing.
We must not, of course, get too dewy eyed on this subject. Wars between Indian 'nations' were as common as they were in Europe, and petty nasty, too.
But if you read this book you might feel with me that there is a direct line from "the wild west" to Falujah and Baghdad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hard read but worth it, 17 Dec 2010
By 
J. Hudson "jon" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Native Americans: The Story of America's Original Inhabitants in All Its Beauty, Magic, Truth and Tragedy (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
An achingly painful read, one that shows western white "civilization" at its worst. The book eloquently tells the story of the first Americans and their dealings with White Men. It gives a broad overview of the history and culture of the various nations. The most striking aspect though is the fact that over 350 pages detail the murder, violence, treachery and hatred dealt to these people by the Whites. At the turn of every page one prays for some respite for them, some hope, some tiny kindness from the Whites.....it doesnt come.
As a gauge of how abused these tribes were and have been until very recent times it takes just 25 pages to summarise the better things that have happened in more recent times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and educational book., 30 Nov 2011
By 
Xenophon. (Fife, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Native Americans: The Story of America's Original Inhabitants in All Its Beauty, Magic, Truth and Tragedy (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
A comprehensive history of the main tribes,and their extensive cultures.
Also a story that we all know something about from popular media etc, often in an unfortunate and distorted way.
This is a very poignant, and profoundly sad history of genocide, betrayal, and land greed,which brought about the near extinction
of highly spiritual, and heroic cultures. This history has particular relevance as Western Imperialism continues to destroy
and engulf local cultures in our modern world in the same manner.
An enlightening history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to inspire awe and anger, 10 Oct 2011
By 
Melmoth (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Native Americans: The Story of America's Original Inhabitants in All Its Beauty, Magic, Truth and Tragedy (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
It has been a long time since I read a book which has left me as amazed and as angered as The Mammoth Book of Native Americans. It narrates the history of the native peoples of North America from their first arrival on the continent to the present day in a manner that is both straightforward and compelling. That history is truly shocking, especially to those of us old enough to have grown up in the days when old-time Westerns were still run on BBC2 on Saturday afternoons and there was no doubt that the cowboys were the goodies and the Indians the bad. The story as told by this book - even though it is told with commendable balance and does not flinch from covering atrocities and idiocies committed by the Native Americans themselves - could not be more different. In part it is the story of a diverse range of peoples and their many ways of life - some farmers, some hunters, some fishermen - of their arts and their institutions, including the astonishing constitution of the Iroquois nation, in many ways a model of democracy based upon universal suffrage and first devised when Europe was still at the mercy of unelected kings and princes. But more than this it is also a very real tragedy, a story of waves of settlers - Spanish, English, 'American' - almost all of whom treated the indigenous inhabitants as less than human, who broke every bargain they made with them and sought time and time again to subjugate and even exterminate them, through simple murder, through starvation and even through an early form of germ warfare.
It is a story that will leave no reader unmoved. That it succeeds in finding some good news in the present day and better signs for the future can only be a tribute to its subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mammoth Read, 6 April 2011
By 
P. J. Orchard (Biggleswade, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Native Americans: The Story of America's Original Inhabitants in All Its Beauty, Magic, Truth and Tragedy (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
I purchased this book as a recommendation from Amazon, something that I do not generally do, however I am glad I did.

It was on occasions a bit of a slog,but overall I found it very enjoyable, commencing with the invasion of the west by the early "White Europeans" following the history of the various tribes etc, up to, and including the present, however I would only recommend it if you are a serious student of the Native Americans, otherwise you may find it hard going and maybe even boring, but for the serious student it is another "must have".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my partner, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Native Americans: The Story of America's Original Inhabitants in All Its Beauty, Magic, Truth and Tragedy (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
I bought this for my partner as we share an interest and a love of some of the passions and beliefs of the Native American Indians and the injustices against them. Portrayed in most instances as violent and savage to us they are infact a peace loving nation with beautiful ways of worshipping and looking at things. It was our insistence to take over their lands that made them savage and like anyone who has something dear taken away they fought quite justly to keep it. My partner found this book very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable read, 14 Nov 2013
By 
traveller (stirling, scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Native Americans: The Story of America's Original Inhabitants in All Its Beauty, Magic, Truth and Tragedy (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
This book adopts a bit of a different approach in that it charts the history of the Native American tribes in terms of their location, customs and practices, and their different ways of life. It's easy to read, well structured and well written, but it wasn't quite what I was looking for/thought it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews