Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful and cleverly constructed book
With pace and anticipation Mr Moxham fascinates us with his passion to find the actual customs line. Such adventures and dedication alternate with the historical background to the oppressive salt tax which he provides with refreshing clarity. By now one might have thought that the mine of information published on British India has been exhaused. However, Mr Moxham has...
Published on 14 Feb 2001 by tskinner@batesuk.com

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Taxing search for hedge pays off
Roy Moxham dwells at length upon the history of salt taxes and tells us the story of a customs barrier built by the British to tax salt in India. The morality of a punitive tax upon an essential of life is also discussed alongside descriptions of the effort involved in creating and maintaining the thorn hedge that formed much of the barrier.
If this sounds rather...
Published on 4 Feb 2001 by Andy Stuart


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful and cleverly constructed book, 14 Feb 2001
With pace and anticipation Mr Moxham fascinates us with his passion to find the actual customs line. Such adventures and dedication alternate with the historical background to the oppressive salt tax which he provides with refreshing clarity. By now one might have thought that the mine of information published on British India has been exhaused. However, Mr Moxham has prised a unique gem from the footnotes of history. I for one am glad he perserved in his search and research for the book is a joy to read and difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating look at a forgotten bit of history, 10 Jan 2007
By 
S. Bailey "will work for books" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Apparently randomly picking up the memoirs of a nineteenth century Indian official, Moxham discovered a footnote that read:

"To secure the levy of a duty on salt ... there grew up gradually a monstrous system ... A Customs line was established which stretched across the whole of India ... It consisted principally of an immense impenetrable hedge."

What began as a piece of speculative research expecting to uncover some Victorian whimsy, ends up discovering a monstrous system indeed. These days, we're constantly told to reduce the amount of salt in our diets, but as Moxham documents, it is a basic biological requirement, without which both humans and livestock will die. Through painstaking trawls through original records, he uncovers an horrific picture of punitive British taxation of salt and the misery it caused to the people of India.

The greed at the heart of the Raj makes grim reading, yet Moxham's love for the people and culture of India radiates throughout this book. It's at its best in the travelogue sections, with Moxham and his companions travelling hundreds of miles in the hope of a sight of a thorn bush or two. I hope it's not spoiling the book to say that I almost cried when they finally did.

In the historical sections, there were some long paragraphs about taxation and earnings levels which begged to be transposed as charts. I would like to have had more indication of the sources Moxham was using too; we're normally told which library he was in, but little more than that!

Still, this book is an extremely enjoyable read and uncovers a swathe of history about which I knew nothing and which should certainly receive more publicity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and unique Book, 28 Oct 2003
By 
P. E. Haynes (Sidcup, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great Hedge of India (Paperback)
I bought this book whilst waiting at the airport to fly back to Pakistan - it's a good concise read and had a certain unique appeal to it.
I found the book to be fascinating and it has become a real talking point. How something as odd as the hedge ever came into existence is well explained. I am still amazed that this story has disappeared from history when it is clear something so simple caused untold suffering, quite literally, to millions of people. The fact that even the Indians who today live close to the hedge line knew nothing of this is even more puzzling.
Ultimately the book, focused on one issue, tends to go into a little too much detail in places for someone with just a passing interest such as myself. It focuses on the reasoning behind the construction of the hedge and the problems of salt deprivation for several chapters, rather than the actual adventures in India trying to locate the hedge. This is my only real gripe.
That being said, it is still a good, thorough read that brought a smile to my face at the eccentricity of it (and of the author!) as well as opened my eyes to a forgotten chapter in British Colonialism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining search for something no-one's heard of, 22 Mar 2001
By 
Mrs C Moyes Matheou (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Roy Moxham started his search for the Great Hedge of India after reading a reference to it in some official documents. Incredibly for something so large, it seems to have disappeared. The search for the hedge becomes secondary to the development of Moxham's love affair with India. Some of the technical descriptions washed over me, but the thoroughness with which Moxham pursues his goal is amazing. The history behind the hedge is fascinating, though damning of the British, and it is almost an anticlimax when Moxham finally discovers a trace of that elusive hedge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Taxing search for hedge pays off, 4 Feb 2001
Roy Moxham dwells at length upon the history of salt taxes and tells us the story of a customs barrier built by the British to tax salt in India. The morality of a punitive tax upon an essential of life is also discussed alongside descriptions of the effort involved in creating and maintaining the thorn hedge that formed much of the barrier.
If this sounds rather dry, The Great Hedge of India also becomes an engaging travel book as the author searches for the remains of a hedge that history had forgotten using century-old maps, a GPS navigation system and the help of Indian villagers.
This slightly eccentric task is described in a very English way and the result is a charming book on an obscure, but symbolic part of the British empire in India.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 19 May 2008
By 
Iain McCallum - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fascinating account of the salt trade in historic India, delightfully and informatively told by Roy Moxham. Like me, i'd imagine the majority of readers are a little ignorant on the 'Great Hedge' that once cut across India, and no doubt even with regards of how the salt trade played such a major part in the lives of those in power down to those who struggled to find salt to survive.
A great read for all - how many of your friends know of a hedge big enough to slice through India?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars bought as a present, 17 April 2014
By 
Mr. C. Berg (suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Hedge of India (Paperback)
THis is a weakness in your ssystem. I often buy things from you as presents without readin or viewing them myself so there is no point in writing anything but I feel it is discourteous not to reply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Hedge of India (Paperback)
Read this a few years ago, very atmospheric and filled with (interesting and unsettling) history and wanderlust. Bought it as a gift recently and was a hit. A travel/history gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fascinating book, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good book for an old Dad (93) who spent the second ww in India.It is a true story that gives amazing insight into the bizzare workings of the British Raj. Promptly sent but not in quite such good condition as we hoped (nasty stain along bottom edges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the great hedge of India, 8 Mar 2010
By 
C. J. MCLACHLAN (worcestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great Hedge of India (Paperback)
This is well written . Engages one from page one and tells us a lot about our inhumane regime in India . most of the story has conveniently missed the history books but Moxham has brought it all to life in an incredibly readable way . . I lived his investigation with him and am now on the the other books on tea .. A MUST read to anyone interested in India.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Hedge of India
The Great Hedge of India by Roy Moxham (Paperback - 3 Jan 2002)
8.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews