Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sound, cheap introduction
I know another review blasts this book for not including as many stories are their irish mother knows, but I loved how this book was divided up into each celtic nation. If you're looking for just irish or just scottish or just welsh stories look elsewhere, if you're interested in stories outside of just a single nation this is a lovely book. It's a good starting point if...
Published on 1 Nov. 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Got it as book club choice but struggled
bit dry - took a bit of reading. I think it's more a book for using with studies at uni.
Published 18 months ago by Mo Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sound, cheap introduction, 1 Nov. 2008
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Celtic Myths and Legends (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
I know another review blasts this book for not including as many stories are their irish mother knows, but I loved how this book was divided up into each celtic nation. If you're looking for just irish or just scottish or just welsh stories look elsewhere, if you're interested in stories outside of just a single nation this is a lovely book. It's a good starting point if you're not really sure of your interest or don't have many books of this type.

I also like the introductions to each section and story too. This book might not offer as many stories as some books but the author has obviously looked for stories that are not just from each nation but have a known historical context. As someone with an archaeological background it's nice to know I'm reading stories that are actually old rather than just folk stories. The bibliography contains lots of probably out of print books, but it is long and you're almost certain to find other books through it.

The writing style isn't the best in the world but I have honestly read much much worse. If you already have plenty of books on this subject you can probably safely give this one a miss, but if you have an interest and not lots of books I can recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 7 Jan. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Celtic Myths and Legends (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
An excellent book for those who just want something different to read at bedtime, or are seriously interested in Celtic literature. The book contains myths and legends from the six surviving Celtic cultures in the West: Breton, Manx, Scottish, Irish, Welsh and Cornish. Each section has an introduction by the author, explaining how he came across the stories he includes. The book also contains an extensive list of reading for those who wish to pursue Celtic literature. Very enjoyable and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating introduction., 19 Jan. 2009
By 
A. Chuter "victorious_smile" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Celtic Myths and Legends (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
I was enthralled by this book - being a relative newcomer to the world of Celtic mythology, I found it really helpful that the author gave a brief history of the stories, where he found them and how reliable the versions were.

The author isn't a brilliant wordsmith, but the writing isn't actually bad, and certainly doesn't detract from the interest of the stories themselves, which are beautiful, thrilling and inspiring.

I definitely recommend this book for people who are interested in Celtic mythology and want to become more so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for personal research., 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Celtic Myths and Legends (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
There is a lot of information in this book which I was researching on line. Due to copyright I could not copy and paste onto word documents. I am delighted to actually have a hard copy of this book as it makes research much easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice book, 7 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Celtic Myths and Legends (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
Very nice and just as i expected. I would reccomend to all that this is a very reliable Retailer. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top bananas, 15 Jan. 2015
By 
N. E. Fountain "bluecrow" (Hertfordshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Celtic Myths and Legends (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
Really enjoyable read. Liked the honesty of editing and the story behind the myths and it's origins. Good to read more than the usual gumpf you find in 'celtic mythology' and see some Cornish and Brittany stories too. I'm not a scholar by any means but if you like mythology, you'll like this. Also having just read the Tain, interested to read his Scotia exploits under his given name ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read and Believe., 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Celtic Myths and Legends (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
This one of four books of Legends and was to introduce the Celtic Legends and Myths; again I loved reaquainting myself with the wonderful tales from the mists of our own land - I wonder if they are in e-form yet?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Got it as book club choice but struggled, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Celtic Myths and Legends (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
bit dry - took a bit of reading. I think it's more a book for using with studies at uni.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a present for someone else., 14 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Celtic Myths and Legends (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
Bought as a present for someone else .my quick look at it before giving it away made me determined to ask if I may borrow it looks most informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a good read!, 9 Mar. 2006
By 
Freespirit "bo3ss" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Celtic Myths and Legends (Mammoth Books) (Paperback)
I haven't read a stroy book this good at bedtime since I was a kid! Great stories, easy to read, suitable if you are studying history, just have an interest or want a good book to read in bed or even to the children!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mammoth Book of Celtic Myths and Legends (Mammoth Books)
The Mammoth Book of Celtic Myths and Legends (Mammoth Books) by Peter Berresford Ellis (Paperback - 27 Feb. 2003)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews