Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rameses first foray in Egypt - rescueing Mama and Papa
This is the first of Peabody's adventures in which Rameses plays a vital role. Here, we learn how Peabody and Emerson first encountered the Master Criminal, how the Lion came to Chalfont, and how Rameses began his career as an excavator. To me this book works on several levels; with the conflict between religions and cultures, the animal rights theme (courtesy of...
Published on 27 Dec 2000

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A great disappointment
I have several recordings of the Amelia Peabody Mysteries narrated by the marvellous Barbara Rosenblat. I was quite hesitant about buying a recording by someone else. I was right to be doubtful. Susan O'Malley just does not come close. Amelia with an American accent! There are no 'voices' that is to say you can't 'hear' Emerson and all the other individual voices...
Published 17 months ago by Mrs. K. Sellars


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rameses first foray in Egypt - rescueing Mama and Papa, 27 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mummy Case (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
This is the first of Peabody's adventures in which Rameses plays a vital role. Here, we learn how Peabody and Emerson first encountered the Master Criminal, how the Lion came to Chalfont, and how Rameses began his career as an excavator. To me this book works on several levels; with the conflict between religions and cultures, the animal rights theme (courtesy of Rameses) and the introduction of the Master Criminal weaving in and out of the narrative in a manner that makes the story truly three-dee. Rameses is now about five years old and his doting Papa is now willing to risk the dangers of Egypt. John the Footman, comes along to keep an eye on the alarmingly accident prone lad, but fails to prevent Rameses from conducting his own excavations and investigations alongside his Mama and Papa. In the end, however, it is Rameses' talent for languages that solves the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third in What Turns Into a Terrific Series, 16 Jun 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Elizabeth Peters was born and brought up in Illinois and earned her Ph.D. in Egyptology from the University of Chicago's famed Oriental Institute. Peters was named Grand Master at the inaugural Anthony Awards in 1986 and Grand Master by the Mystery Writers of America at the Edgar Awards in 1998. She lives in a historic farmhouse in western Maryland.

The Amelia Peabody books may or may not be an acquired taste, personally I love them. They are set in Victorian times when there were still very strict rules of etiquette and polite behaviour was the norm. Although most of the books are set in Egypt, in the desert under very trying conditions and extremely hot weather the `English' way of life was still expected to be adhered to, sometimes with quite hilarious consequences.

Amelia Peabody is Elizabeth Peters' best loved and brilliant creation, a thoroughly Victorian feminist who takes the stuffy world of archaeology by storm with her no nonsense dress sense and forthright opinions.

These books are a delight for the reader. Anyone who has not read any of them should start right now. They whisk you back to the days of gentile living. Where everything stops for tea and of course it would be unthinkable for the men not to dress for dinner.

This book is the third in the series and the story takes Amelia to the pyramids at Mazghunah. On their arrival it looks to Emerson and Amelia that the barren area is of little or no interest, but then a murder in Cairo soon persuades the pair otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amelia Peabody Books by Elizabeth Peters, 17 July 2009
By 
Anne S. Jones (South Wales, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love the Amelia Peabody books, and have managed to purchase all 18 of them as I can re-read them at any time. They tell the story of Amelia Peabody, her husband Emerson, and son, Ramses. They have all sorts of adventures as Archaeologists in the Egypt of the late 19 C to the early 20's. Elizabeth Peters very cleverly brings Egypt and its people to life and creates the most marvellous characters. They are all so ludicrously believable, mostly because you want to believe in them. If you like the idea of Ancient Egypt, enjoy mysteries and have a wry sense of humour, I thoroughly recommend these books as being the best way of passing pleasurable time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third in What Turns Into a Terrific Series, 16 Jun 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Mummy Case (Unbound)
Elizabeth Peters was born and brought up in Illinois and earned her Ph.D. in Egyptology from the University of Chicago's famed Oriental Institute. Peters was named Grand Master at the inaugural Anthony Awards in 1986 and Grand Master by the Mystery Writers of America at the Edgar Awards in 1998. She lives in a historic farmhouse in western Maryland.

The Amelia Peabody books may or may not be an acquired taste, personally I love them. They are set in Victorian times when there were still very strict rules of etiquette and polite behaviour was the norm. Although most of the books are set in Egypt, in the desert under very trying conditions and extremely hot weather the `English' way of life was still expected to be adhered to, sometimes with quite hilarious consequences.

Amelia Peabody is Elizabeth Peters' best loved and brilliant creation, a thoroughly Victorian feminist who takes the stuffy world of archaeology by storm with her no nonsense dress sense and forthright opinions.

These books are a delight for the reader. Anyone who has not read any of them should start right now. They whisk you back to the days of gentile living. Where everything stops for tea and of course it would be unthinkable for the men not to dress for dinner.

This book is the third in the series and the story takes Amelia to the pyramids at Mazghunah. On their arrival it looks to Emerson and Amelia that the barren area is of little or no interest, but then a murder in Cairo soon persuades the pair otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More from Amelia Peabody!, 23 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mummy Case (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
Yet again Elizabeth Peters brings back her domineering heroine and dashing husband but this time they have help from their precocious son, Rameses. If you have enjoyed the previous books in the series, then this is more of the same fun and you should find this book enjoyable. On the downside Rameses is intensely annoying and his immature speech is a pain! But overall its escapist easy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 17 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A hilarious and clever story of the incomparable Amelia Peabody. The author is an Egyptologist herself which makes the series even more enjoyable - she doesn't get her tombs mixed up, and I like the occasional appearance by real life Egyptologists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always enjoy books written by this author and this book
is no exception. Once you have read one of her books
You have to read them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A great disappointment, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have several recordings of the Amelia Peabody Mysteries narrated by the marvellous Barbara Rosenblat. I was quite hesitant about buying a recording by someone else. I was right to be doubtful. Susan O'Malley just does not come close. Amelia with an American accent! There are no 'voices' that is to say you can't 'hear' Emerson and all the other individual voices which Barbara Rosenblat uses. If you love Amelia Peabody and if you want to be transported then please chose a recording by Ms. Rosenblat. This is dire!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mayhem in Egypt, 16 Oct 2012
`The Mummy Case' by Elizabeth Peters (aka Barbara Mertz) is the third in her Amelia Peabody mysteries. I first read it over twenty years ago and subsequently read several others. I have just re-read `The Mummy Case'. It features an Egyptologist, Radcliffe Emerson, his long-suffering wife. Amelia Emerson nee Peabody and their infant prodigy, Walter (aka Ramses)
Firstly the title is brilliant, the best of the whole series. The style is appropriate for that of the autobiography of a late-Victorian woman (as it claims to be). Here's an example:
`As I watched them ride away, the girl a modest distance behind the two men, such indignation flooded my being that I stamped my foot - a frustrating gesture in that region, since the sand snuffled the sound.'
Unlike some of the other reviewers I find the interchange between 5-year-old Ramses and his long suffering parents engaging. Here's an example: (Ramses wants to take a baby lion, he's acquired, for a walk)
`He stood holding the leash, his grave eyes fixed on my face. "I would like to say, Mama, dat I am fully cognizant of your support and forbearance regarding de lion. I will endeavor to find some way of proving my gratitude."
"Please don't," I exclaimed. "I appreciate your remarks, Ramses, but you can best express your gratitude by being a good little boy and obeying your mama's orders."
"Yes, Mama. Good night, Mama. God night, John. Good night, de cat , Bastet. Good night, Papa,"
"Good night, my dearest boy," Emerson replied. "Sleep well."'
Radcliffe Emerson in many ways is the `baby' of the family and his tantrums become tiresome. Here's an example.
`Emerson was cursing in Arabic, and I felt sure the boy was making mental notes of "da colloquial speech".
Emerson's rolling eyes focused on his son's fascinated face. With a mighty effort he controlled his wrath. He allowed himself the final solace of kicking the door closed. A stream of plaster added itself to the heap already on the floor.'
The plot is more intricate than the reader might guess, which MAY be a plus. However, the multiplicity of burglaries, certain athletic exertions and some abilities to be lost - and found, stretch the patience of the reader.
So the book is very good but there are flaws so it's worth only four stars. The final charge is that it's part of a series which becomes repetitive - unfair I know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good reading, 24 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is the third book I read of the Amelia Peabody's novel and it is marvellous, you don't want stop reading it It is totally addictive and I have already ordered the forth one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mummy Case (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery)
The Mummy Case (Amelia Peabody Murder Mystery) by Elizabeth Peters (Paperback - 12 Oct 2000)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews