Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
14
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2004
This book is an extended essay sketching out how to be your own CBT therapist- with considerable flaws. Very interesting, I know a lot more about CBT and Bipolar disorder than i did, with lots to think about and what looked like good advice, but very difficult to make any use of it because being too academic it manages to fall foul of and exacerbate rather than work around problems that are classic features of mood disorder. As a self-help book it's pants.
There's not enough support here- you have to be academically-gifted, focused, balanced, in control and emotionally literate enough to whizz through and select useful and appropriate information and techniques, form an action plan and think about and work on quite complicated exercises by yourself without getting bogged down, when you are in fact likely to not be concentrating very well, over-thinking, distractable and easily over-whelmed and/or turned into a dogged stress-ball and end up either feeling awful because you can't draw up a very good life chart/mood chart/schedule or sort of god like with the agitated intellectualising and wide-angle, long term perspective - or both. Very difficult - I failed miserably, got into quite a state many times with this book. The information is also weak in relation to mixed states, rapid cycling and other conditions which involve mood swings and intense disruptive moods.
By the title, and from what i knew about CBT, I expected a 'guided' simple yet comprehensive, practical user-friendly presentation. I needed a guide that drew out of me the relevant information for understanding what was wrong and how to deal with it and that would take me through a programme. Whilst some people might get on fine with this book, I don't think my problems with it were anything out of the ordinary for people experiencing mood problems.
I've lost many days and tears to this book which should have been more helpful. It is a real shame: I warmed to the author despite my struggle with this as a book. Face to face therapy and acedemic writing skills are both very different to what was really needed in a book presenting CBT models and techniques for self-help. In future, Jan Scott and the series editor, Peter Cooper, would do well to collaborate with someone who writes good modern guided learning material, experts in learning psychology as it relates to making useful books.
33 comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2009
I bought this book for someone who has Bi-polar. The book was recommended by her psychologist and she has found it very helpful in learning how to identify triggers and symptoms and how to manage her moods.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2004
Excellent book with pratical excercises. Wish I had access to it years ago. Given that there is currently a six month waiting list for CBT in Glasgow, a combination of the excercises in this book and Mary Ellen Copeland's Wellness Recovery Action Plan, should be offered to every client in a simple, user friendly form. Hopefully, this would reach a wider audience and not a select few. Keep up the good work, it is very much appreciated.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
I have a diagnosis of recurrent depressive disorder, with a bipolar pattern. I found this book incredibly useful, and would recommend it to anyone who suffers from mood swings. It is clearly written, with summaries at the end of each chapter, so you can dip into it, or read it from cover to cover. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
As the name of the book reveal itself, this book goes deep into any issues with moods. Something above 240 pages of main text, topped with the appendix of useful techniques, diagrams, worksheets, references and index. In my view, another jewel from the series on overcoming. Using the techniques of CBT, it goes systematically into the basic patterns and principles underlying mental health and clarity. The mood, be it up or down, is never too pleasant or desirable, so the approach is quite compassionate and understanding.

Straight first chapter explains very clearly many different types of depression. Supporting it with nice diagram, it all makes sense very soon after first exposure to this book. There are ones that goes only down, calling them unipolar, and the ones going up and down, calling them bipolar (or manic). Plus the separate categories of dysthymia, where the person goes down early in the childhood and then sort of trying to get back to the normality for some time. Or cyclothymia, where the person experiences cyclically ups and down, without ever enjoying staying nicely balanced emotionally.

Later chapters explain more about self-monitoring and self-regulation, and the comprehensive discussion on many different types of medications that are involved in different types of depression. Self-management and understanding human mental processes and emotions, are the pillars of this book. There is a number of techniques, and worksheet activities provided within this small scope of text, not surprising for another genius CBT self-help book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
I was worried about cracking open a self-help book, but the title was just too darn pertinent to my needs that I plucked it off the shelf at a library and gave it a go. I'd say it's a perfect companion for someone who's also seeing a therapist, as it has some great discussion points and exercises. It helps the reader discover triggers for both their depression and mania and helps to combat negative automatic thinking. It's a good balance of facts and figures with advice and methods for coping with ups and downs. It's also well-organised and well-written, an easy read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
Easy to use as a reference book as a sufferer of bipolar and useful for all of my family to gain an understanding and knowledge of something that is so difficult to explain
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
very useful resource for professionals working in Mental health area and kindle version is more handy and elegant .Value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2011
Anyone wanting a self help, self illuminating, easy to read book on mood swings can do no better than this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
This book really gets into details regarding mood swings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)