Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A God send to any sufferers!!
As a sufferer of PTSD this book made me realise I was not "Crazy", or "abnormal", my body and mind was just trying to cope with the truama that had been inflicted upon it. It gives logical and rational advice to help rebuild a life following a traumatic experience, be it a car accident, being kidnapped, or raped. The step by step guides to recovery...
Published on 18 Jan 2001

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overcoming Traumatic Stess
Good techniques in the book enabling people suffering from Traumatic Stress to understand and feel that they are not alone. Useful for people who are seeking a better understanding of how Traumatic Stress may be affecting someone close to them. Its not a book that you need to read cover to cover more a dip in book especially if you are one of the sufferers of Traumatic...
Published on 27 Sep 2009 by Honey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A God send to any sufferers!!, 18 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Overcoming Traumatic Stress: A Self-help Guide Using Cognitive Behavioural Techniques (Paperback)
As a sufferer of PTSD this book made me realise I was not "Crazy", or "abnormal", my body and mind was just trying to cope with the truama that had been inflicted upon it. It gives logical and rational advice to help rebuild a life following a traumatic experience, be it a car accident, being kidnapped, or raped. The step by step guides to recovery serve as a reminder of how far you've come towards recovery, and allow you, perhaps for the first time, to start laying the bricks to build the path to recovery. The Authors are to be commended on this amazing piece of literature
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revelation, 2 April 2010
This review is from: Overcoming Traumatic Stress: A Self-help Guide Using Cognitive Behavioural Techniques (Paperback)
I was recommended this book by my councillor. It has really helped me to understand what I am going through. I had a breakdown in November 2009 after years of abuse and then my home burning down and was finding things really difficult. This book really opened my eyes to understand what was going on in my head and that my reactions were perfectly normal under the circumstances. If you've been through Post Traumatic Stress or know someone that has it I recommend that you read this book to gain valuable insight to whats going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars overcoming Traumatic Stress, 3 May 2011
This review is from: Overcoming Traumatic Stress: A Self-help Guide Using Cognitive Behavioural Techniques (Paperback)
Being a sufferer of PTSD i found the book very informative. The book also helped my family and friends understand to a degree what was affecting me . Unlike a broken arm you cannot always see the problem to fix it. Would recommend to anyone affected by this illness as it helps you to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 25 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Traumatic Stress: A Self-help Guide Using Cognitive Behavioural Techniques (Paperback)
This book is brilliant in conjunction with specialist help should you need it. It provides so much insight to traumatic stress & how to deal with it. It supports you in the right direction. Excellent so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overcoming Traumatic Stess, 27 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Traumatic Stress: A Self-help Guide Using Cognitive Behavioural Techniques (Paperback)
Good techniques in the book enabling people suffering from Traumatic Stress to understand and feel that they are not alone. Useful for people who are seeking a better understanding of how Traumatic Stress may be affecting someone close to them. Its not a book that you need to read cover to cover more a dip in book especially if you are one of the sufferers of Traumatic Stress. I found it helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overcoming Traumatic Stress, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Traumatic Stress: A Self-help Guide Using Cognitive Behavioural Techniques (Paperback)
This book is very helpfull and offers practical approach.
Plain English.
Fantastic exercises in the book.
It works -really!
0
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beat the bullys, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes it's helped a lot first time I read it I cried I followed it all and starting to feel a little more confident would recommend it to people that have been mentally tortured raped it's been nearly 4 years I will get over it. Il keep reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars searching for the hero inside yourself, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Traumatic Stress: A Self-help Guide Using Cognitive Behavioural Techniques (Paperback)
this book is easy to read much it requires a lot of soul searching and confronting demons on your own, so don't be surprised if you need therapy as a result of reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars self help guide to overcoming traumatic stress, 24 Mar 2014
This review is from: Overcoming Traumatic Stress: A Self-help Guide Using Cognitive Behavioural Techniques (Paperback)
This is a very interesting and easy book to follow, very useful to all. I certainly recommend it to those who want to change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for help and insight into living with PTSD, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a sufferer of PTSD it was lovely reading a book that doesn't preach to you.
Read through it and then plan what issues you want to address.
The self help guids are informative and simple.
I am awaiting CBT & EDMR treatment and this book has set the groundwork to me changing my negative thought patterns and challenging those negative thoughts.

It also give a look inside at what it is like to live with PTSD. So I think it could be a valuable for anyone who is living with or caring for someone suffering from PTDS.

Utterly brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews