Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars another good read!
After owing and reading all of alexandra's other books, this was an obvious choice to add to the collection. Loved the fun in LA and then a flying visit to Las Vegas (especially a cameo from Caesers Palace - a personal favourite of mine)...I was left shouting at the book at what I thought was the ending, only to be suprised a few chapters later with another twist (and how...
Published 8 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So Predictable it's not even worth reading
I'veread a number of 'chick-lit' titles and this is far and away the worst. The story is so predictable it is hardly worth the effort of turning the pages to see that,yes you had guessed the plot. The characters are so two-dimensional you would expect to see them in panto not a book... Their are much better books of a similar nature out there.
Published on 5 Jun. 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So Predictable it's not even worth reading, 5 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Going La La (Paperback)
I'veread a number of 'chick-lit' titles and this is far and away the worst. The story is so predictable it is hardly worth the effort of turning the pages to see that,yes you had guessed the plot. The characters are so two-dimensional you would expect to see them in panto not a book... Their are much better books of a similar nature out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An unimpressed and disappointed reader!, 14 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Going La La (Paperback)
With a very predictable, mind-numbingly slow narrative, this book is not as colourful and exciting as the eye-catching cover suggests! The characters are dull and stereotypical and have been depicted so many times in books and TV shows in the past. Nothing new, Going La La is a huge disappointment with cliched lines that made me cringe in places. I'm sorry to be such a bore, but this book just did nothing for my imagination and I agree that there are many other books of this genre that are a much better and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge a book by it's cover..., 25 July 2001
This review is from: Going La La (Paperback)
Don't judge a book by it's cover. On in this case, do. I was enticed by the image the cover portrayed - a trashy, simple read for the summer holiday. What I found inside wasn't even worthy of this description. A predictable read...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed!, 3 Jun. 2007
By 
This review is from: Going La La (Paperback)
I bought this book having read and enjoyed "Be Careful What You Wish For" by the same author. But I was extremely disappointed with this dull, predictable story. I had the feeling that the author was struggling to reach her required word count, hence the over-use of both unneccessary swear words, and references to smoking!I have already bought "Do You Come Here Often" but my enthusiasm for reading it has waned considerably after this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Predictable story!, 22 Mar. 2012
By 
This review is from: Going La La (Kindle Edition)
After reading 'What's New Pussycat' I was really looking forward to reading this book. Oh how I was dissappointed. I was hoping that the further I got into the book the better it would get but it did not. The story was just so predictable from the beginning and you could guess all the time about what was going to happen next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a disapppointment, 17 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Going La La (Paperback)
Having enjoyed reading Me and Mr Darcy ... I found this book very mediocre. There is no real plot and the characters just don't come to life. I never give up on a book, so finished reading it, but felt I had wasted my time. Very predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So bad you have to read it to believe it!, 30 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Going La La (Paperback)
Alexandra Potter's 'Going La La' is as predictable and lazily written as her first novel, 'What's New Pussycat?' She relies heavily on tried and tested, mind numbing clichés such as the marriage proposal that turns out to be a misunderstanding after all. (Oh really? Didn't see that one coming!) Potter leaves you with a suspicious feeling that you've read the book before until you realise that the plot has been recycled from numerous episodes of bad American sitcoms and banal Australian soaps. Having said that even 'Neighbours' has more going for it in terms of originality and characterisation. Some of the prose is so bad you have to read it to believe it such as: '...terrified, she was fearing the C word. But...it had turned out to be the P word instead. She wasn't dying, far from it. She was four and a half months pregnant with Frankie - she'd discovered the right kind of lump.' With cringe-worthy lines like that I was left with a disturbing feeling that somebody forgot to re-read the manuscript before putting the book out. But at least Potter acknowledges her niche in the market with references to the likes of Mills and Boon and Jackie Collins: ' ...she knew what was missing. Love. It sounded corny, worthy of a toe-curling line from a slushy Mills and Boon'. Frankly if it's toe-curling you're after then look no further. 'Going La La' is mindless chick-lit at it's worst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A modern day 'Mills & Boon' tale of true love, 24 Nov. 2001
This review is from: Going La La (Paperback)
Just when we thought we were safe from the 'true romance' type of writing as typified by Mills &Boons books, along comes a new generation with their tried and tested formula of woman meets man, they dislike each other on sight, they keep running into one another, they make love, misunderstandings occur, they part, then the truth is revealed on the second to last page. There are too many books like this aimed at 'modern' 30ish women who don't want to be seen reading a Mills & Boon. From Mike Gayle to Freya North with Alexandra Potter inbetween, there is a new breed of so-called storytellers who may as well just pick up an old 'true romance', vamp it up and publish it. If you really want escapism, believe it or not, you can find it in much better books. Next time look in the women literary authors section - you just may be surprised at what you find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another good read!, 13 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Going La La (Kindle Edition)
After owing and reading all of alexandra's other books, this was an obvious choice to add to the collection. Loved the fun in LA and then a flying visit to Las Vegas (especially a cameo from Caesers Palace - a personal favourite of mine)...I was left shouting at the book at what I thought was the ending, only to be suprised a few chapters later with another twist (and how I wanted the book to end).

would recommend to others without a doubt. Cant wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!!, 3 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going La La (Kindle Edition)
Love this book, great entertainment and a good believable story. I'm now convinced I need to move to california! Love Alexandra potter's style of writing and currently addicted to her books. Definitely a recommended read :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Going La La
Going La La by Alexandra Potter (Paperback - 19 Mar. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews