Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing,disgusting and utterly hilarious!
Like others I have seen the tv series,bought the video and DVD,seen them live,cried with laughter at the cassette then read this fantastic book. 'The Curse of Karrit Poor',brilliant,poor Topov!Maps showing where Tubbs and Edward have buried the non-local people,even a bit of the Denton's wallpaper makes this book probably the best comedy book you'll ever read (it was for...
Published on 30 Dec 2000

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe a book for the completists among you
As an avid fan of The League of Gentlemen, it was inevitable I would get my hands on this book - but I have to admit it wasn't quite what I expected.
Inside, there are features on many different characters. Tubbs narrates the book, circling every occurence of 'local'; Pauline, with her usual esteem-building attitude, includes her guide to getting a job; and Bernice,...
Published on 5 Jan 2004 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing,disgusting and utterly hilarious!, 30 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Local Book for Local People (Hardcover)
Like others I have seen the tv series,bought the video and DVD,seen them live,cried with laughter at the cassette then read this fantastic book. 'The Curse of Karrit Poor',brilliant,poor Topov!Maps showing where Tubbs and Edward have buried the non-local people,even a bit of the Denton's wallpaper makes this book probably the best comedy book you'll ever read (it was for me anyway!). You'll never put it down! It really is special stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe a book for the completists among you, 5 Jan 2004
As an avid fan of The League of Gentlemen, it was inevitable I would get my hands on this book - but I have to admit it wasn't quite what I expected.
Inside, there are features on many different characters. Tubbs narrates the book, circling every occurence of 'local'; Pauline, with her usual esteem-building attitude, includes her guide to getting a job; and Bernice, the ever-sympathetic vicar, plays agony aunt on the Royston Vasey Chronicle's problem page.
However, much of the material seems to have been plucked from the scripts and reworded to fit the newpaper/magazine/letter genre wherever appropriate. This made a lot of the jokes very obvious, and having already decided that the gents themselves are geniuses, I was a little disappointed that they didn't take a different approach.
Having said that, fans of the show will find plenty of little gems in here. A roll of film's worth of Stella caught with her trousers down - metaphorically speaking, of course... Henry and Ally's guide to finding the right video and Royston Vasey's Missing Persons file (unsurprisingly lengthy).
Definitely a book for League of Gentlemen enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny, 10 May 2005
Fans of the programme as i am would find this a very funny read. it contains all sorts of things related to royston vasey such as pauline's guide to getting a job!!! best part in the book!! I love this but the reason for the 4 star instead of 5 is because those who arent big fans of the league may not understand the humour as much of the content is taken from the programme. Recommended to all you League fans!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'League Lovers'..., 27 Dec 2001
'League Lovers', as we are now collectively known, will treasure this bizarre take on the average coffee table book. Featuring the kind of storyline extensions fans hunger for - a less-than-glamorous photo-shoot of Iris with her knickers down; a Denton family portrait; Pauline's job search lowdown, and not forgetting Tubbs and her Family Trunk - this book is perfect for those who prefer a more grotesque brand of comedy, and favour the freakish over 'Friends' any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Local Book For Local People - Very, VERY funny, 6 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Local Book for Local People (Hardcover)
Welcome to the bizarre world of Royston Vasey. Read all about the going's on in this strager than strange northern village in this book compiled by Tubbs Tattsyrup, who's introductions and comentaries keep us amused throughout the book. Meet all the characters from the television and radio series. Read Barbara's novel 'Bab's Scabs.' Go 'On the job' with Pauline, visit local beauty spots, such as St Mary if Bethlehem hospital, 'Burger Me' fast food restaurant and 'Attachments' Dating Agency A must for all fans, and in a league of it's own, buy the local book, penned by all four members of the comedy team the League of Gentlemen. If you were fond of the Monty Python and Goodies books of old, then you'll love this - HAPPY READING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's LOTS For You Here!!, 6 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Local Book for Local People (Hardcover)
If you understood WHY Chris Morris and Brass Eye were funny, then the League Of Gentlemen will appeal to you.
The show itself is an absolute breath of fresh air for British comedy: dark, macabre, twisted, a cruelly accurate portrait of life in smal-town Northern England, utterly sick, and essentially, asthma-attack-inducingly-funny.
One of the very best things to grace our screens in the name of comedy EVER, and an honour to be local to it's setting and the areas that inspired it.
Even if you have never seen a single episode of the League Of Gentlemen, as long as you can be amused by very dark comedy, this book will strike a chord with you. Many books of comedy series' don't work. Ali G's book is not very good (then, his show isn't a patch on LoG). This book is.
And I think that is because at the very core of The League Of Gentlemen, as a tv show, is a quartet of four fantastically talented writers. And this...transcription...it works. Their writing works on telly. It works in a book. It would WORK if it were scrawled across the wall of a public toilet.
And if you HAVE seen the television series', then this book will be a REAL GOOD TREAT FOR YOU (MMMM!). A collection of all the very best bits - a whole section for Herr Lipp, a guide to the local caves, Hilary's Confession, Dr Chinnery's Curse, "On The Job With Pauline Campbell Jones" and MickeyLove.......and the whole thing narrated by our romantic heroine, Tubbs.
The book is an absolute must for all fans, or else I don't think you should be allowed to deem yourselves "local"!
And still strongly recommended to anyone not familiar to the show. May you now be converted.
Enjoy.
Lizzy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something to keep you going until the 3rd series!!!, 12 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Local Book for Local People (Hardcover)
This book is almost just as good as the two TV series. Reece Shearsmith, Mark Gatiss, Steve Pemberton and Jeremy Dyson must have put alot of effort into this to make it so good. You can pick up on things you missed on TV, and best of all, you can find out even more!! Such as your own signed Papalazarou poster, Herr Lipp's 'Pink Pomplet', postcards and much much more. You can only beat all of this by going to see them in person at the 'Local Show For Local People', although as Tubbs says before she redeems herself and enters the kingdom of Swansea "Every one is local to somewhere!!!" This is definitely a good read!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hokey Kokey Pig in a Pokey!, 5 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Local Book for Local People (Hardcover)
An amazing, original piece of work, an absolute marvel. If you've seen the show & enjoy it, you will love this book, with all the chills and wackiness of the show, featuring all the main characters including Hilary Briss, Creme Brulee and Harvey Denton's toilet guide. If you only buy one TV tie in book, make it this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strange, but extremely funny!, 28 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Local Book for Local People (Hardcover)
Want to know why Pauline is single? Need to see Val in the nude again? Yearn to find out which other body excresence Tubbs will eat (apart from hair sandwiches)? Then this is the book for you! Just when you think you've spotted all the details in series 1, you'll find a wealth of other things you just didn't see. A brilliant companion to the first series in particular. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love The League of Gentlemen..this book is for you!, 21 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Local Book for Local People (Hardcover)
This book was great! It amused everyone I know that has read. It is a hilarious book and I definately recommend it to any other League of Gentlemen lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Local Book for Local People
A Local Book for Local People by The League Of Gentlemen (Hardcover - 19 Oct 2000)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews