Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and melancholy account of Netley Hospital
I have never read any other book that is able to capture the spirit of a place quite like this book. As I small child, I can well remeber being taken to Netley Abbey on Sunday afternoons and the erie description the Hoare evokes is spot on.
Much of this book concerns itself with the pioneering military hospital, a close neighbour of the abbey and which too evokes a...
Published on 12 Mar. 2005 by Ian Thumwood

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars All that Glisters!!!
This book starts off well, unfortunately the authors passion for his subject, is let down by the many historical inaccuracies in this book. For example the battle of the Somme was in 1916, not 1914 as stated in the book, Churchill was a Liberal Member of Parliament in the Edwardian era. These are just two of the many inaccuracies. However the book is well written, and...
Published on 15 Jun. 2002 by Donald Joyce


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and melancholy account of Netley Hospital, 12 Mar. 2005
By 
Ian Thumwood "ian17577" (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have never read any other book that is able to capture the spirit of a place quite like this book. As I small child, I can well remeber being taken to Netley Abbey on Sunday afternoons and the erie description the Hoare evokes is spot on.
Much of this book concerns itself with the pioneering military hospital, a close neighbour of the abbey and which too evokes a morbid fascination as what remains of the establishment is enveloped in a cloak of melancholy. Hoare explains the fate of the first inhabitants of the hospital, the secret experiments that are supposed to have taken place and even the odd ghost story. Wrapped up in this are a cast of diverse characters such as Jane Austen and Wilfrid Owen. The writer captures the decay of Southampton as a great transatlantic port with aplomb.
This is a book that I could not put down and that got passed around amongst family and friends who similarly were entralled by the extremely well-written narrative. Recommended, especially for all readers around Southampton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very unusual book., 15 April 2003
This is a most unusual book that is hard to categorise. It combines history, recollection, literature and family history in a fascinating way. The one problem is that the photographs are terrible. They are very dark, and it's extremely difficult to make them out - which is perhaps why the writer gives a detailed description of them in the text! Surely the editor could have sorted this out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars All that Glisters!!!, 15 Jun. 2002
This book starts off well, unfortunately the authors passion for his subject, is let down by the many historical inaccuracies in this book. For example the battle of the Somme was in 1916, not 1914 as stated in the book, Churchill was a Liberal Member of Parliament in the Edwardian era. These are just two of the many inaccuracies. However the book is well written, and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I doubt if I'll read anything better this year., 16 Aug. 2001
By 
NARJIT GILL - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spike Island: The Memory of a Military Hospital (Hardcover)
I doubt if I'll read anything better this year. The first thing to say is how beautifully Philip Hoare writes; what a pleasure to read such clear and lovely English. But besides this, what really makes this book so special is the seamless way that the author weaves together his several narratives and I was very moved by his linking of a personal history to this extraordinary place. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Can't review but mother in law is intrigued to read this., 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Order processed fine. Mother in law very pleased to receive this. She knows the hospital and area well. She's only a few pages in but seems to be enjoying it so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great idea - shame about the self-indulgence, 30 Aug. 2002
By 
R. Simpson (South Kirkby, Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spike Island: The Memory of a Military Hospital (Hardcover)
At times Philip Hoare's refusal to write the excellent book his subject and his talents deserve seems almost wilful. The inter-locking of his own reminiscences and the history of Netley Hospital sometimes works well, more often not, and by the end the impossibly fey and self-indulgent epilogue has the reader gasping for the finish-line. Mr. Hoare seems to think that he has something significant to say about dreams and reality; if he has, it escaped me - except to note that he seems to have been (to still be?) highly imaginative in his youth. I can well understand the differences of opinion about how well he writes. Much of the time he achieves clarity and momentum, only to let himself down by extended passages of 'fine writing', filled with similes of dubious value. The strained comparisons between Netley Abbey and the hospital are among the more annoying, as are his far too frequent references to Stephen Tennant, the subject of a previous book by his. Equally perverse is the decision to reproduce photographs in small size on matt paper so that the reader cannot compare the descriptions of details in the text. The quality of research, the frequently efficient presentation of material and (above all) the fascination of the subject gave pleasure, but I am now going to see if Amazon stocks a book that actually tells the story of Netley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT BOOK. HELPING MY FAMILY RESEARCH IN WW1 FOR, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BRILLIANT BOOK. HELPING MY FAMILY RESEARCH IN WW1 FOR RELATIVE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Rubbish, 18 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Spike Island: The Memory of a Military Hospital (Hardcover)
The most striking feature of this book is how poorly written it is. It concentrates more on Hoare's own childhood than it does on the military hospital. A complete waste of money and paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Aug. 2014
very interesting as my dad was stationed there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hospital Blues, 27 Mar. 2014
About half the book is a very interesting history of the Royal Victoria Hospital, Netley, a building from the start not fit for purpose. There is much about the (mal)treatment of soldiers damaged in their minds which does not make pretty reading and the RAMC does not come well out of this in spite of the dedication of its better personnel. The author is plainly angry about the way the Army handled this and so should anybody be.

Unfortunately this narrative is overshadowed by the author's irrelevant, intrusive, at times emetic anger about other matters in the world at large, brought in via autobiographical material relating to his and his family's rather uninteresting lives as he grew up in next-door Sholing. That takes up maybe a quarter of the book and the remaining quarter is a history of Netley Abbey, relevant in the sense that it explains the origins of the hospital site.

Valuable for the facts, spoiled by too much of the author's personal stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spike Island: The Memory of a Military Hospital
Spike Island: The Memory of a Military Hospital by Philip Hoare (Hardcover - 2 April 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews