Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 11 Aug. 2007
By 
M. Wilkinson (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malcolm Root's Transport Paintings (Hardcover)
Having recently bought another Malcolm Root book - The Railway Paintings of ...., I could not resist purchasing this one. As with his other work there are many outstanding colour plates, with superb write ups (Tom Tyler) and once again I had great difficulty in putting the book down! The book is also very nostalgic, as I am just about "young enough" to remember some of the modes of transport pictured and described. (Although not all). For anyone interested in transport art or just transport, this book would certainly not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prams and Horse Droppings, 30 April 2012
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Malcolm Root's Transport Paintings (Hardcover)
There are sixty-four paintings reproduced in this book, all dating from between 1991 and 2001. Each reproduction has a title and date (but no details of size). All reproductions have an accompanying informative and often entertaining caption written by Tom Tyler. He informs us in his introduction that whilst Root provides the inspiration, "the mistakes, feeble jokes and stick-in-the mud attitude are definitely all my own!"

Occasionally, Root himself contributes to the commentary on some paintings, mentioning painting methods, framing, etc. He has his own introduction, a short piece about how he started as a child: "A visit to the dentist or hospital would sometimes - if I was lucky - be rewarded with a Corgi model, and this would be the fuel for further picture matter." Coming from Essex, many of the paintings portray local scenes, but there is also a variety of other settings from Scotland to the Westcountry.

Lord Montagu, in his foreword, is right to state that, "Malcolm Root's paintings not only portray the vehicles of the past era with scrupulous accuracy, but they also take us back to the period in question through excellent attention to detail and painstaking research. Costume, advertisements, road signs, buildings, luggage, even the child's pram ... add to the realism of the scene." Attention to detail is such that Tom Tyler notes that in the picture of a `Norfolk Charabanc' "there are some excellent horse droppings to be gathered for someone's roses."

Many of the scenes are pure chocolate box material, and even those with muck and dirt - such as a scene of a demolition site, or of a lorry delivering coal - have the aura of being too perfect. Too perfect but yet we yearn to be there! Root is fantastic at portraying smoke. Note also the excellent portrayal of waves in the sunrise of `Northern Star', or the reflection of the station's roof in the curve of the vehicle wing in `Liverpool Street Taxi'. But my greatest admiration is for Root's fantastic rendering of wet weather in all its forms.

But sometimes an added detail is just too much and renders the painting no longer credible in its depiction of ordinary everyday times. For example, the addition of the distant yacht in `Norfolk Charabanc' or the streak of lightning that seems to strike the pressure vessel in `Pickford's Scammell'. There are problems of scale too, such as the man in the door of `Steamroller'. Even the bus and the bridge in `Road meets Rail' on the cover appear on closer inspection to be disproportionate. And yet, somehow, these fundamental mistakes are excused by the overall veracity of the scene. For a split second, I even thought `Stena Discovery' was a photograph!

Amazingly - and inexcusably - there is no list of contents to assist the reader to locate any particular painting quickly and easily: the otherwise welcome index at the end of the book does not list the titles of the paintings. There is though a bibliography for those wanting to check Tom Tyler's transport facts.

I was born in 1965, and so was not around for the vast majority of the scenes depicted. (Is there an equivalent artist who portrays the transport of the 70s and 80s?) And yet I felt an atavistic nostalgia for many of the scenes. This is my first book of Malcolm Root paintings; it won't be my last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Malcolm Root's Transport Paintings, 22 Aug. 2010
By 
C. Cook "cmcook34" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malcolm Root's Transport Paintings (Hardcover)
For paintings done in the 1990s, these pictures of life in the 1950s are astonishingly detailed. A real trip down memory lane. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 8 July 2004
By 
Mr. George D. Butler (Alton, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malcolm Root's Transport Paintings (Hardcover)
This is one of the finest books of its type I have bought. There are 64 full page paintings and not a duff one among them, and the printing and colour reproduction are first class.
I am a steam rail enthusiast primarily and bought this book because I know the work of Malcolm Root through his previous work "Railway Paintings of ...", which is of extremely high quality. This latest book is a very slightly smaller format but equally high quality.
Most highly recommended and excellent value at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ALL THE BEST PAINTINGS IN ONE BOOK...!, 3 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Malcolm Root's Transport Paintings (Hardcover)
JUST BEST PAINTINGS BOOK. c( 2002 )i got this book in( 2009 Malcolm Root is from Essex) is one of the( best painter in the UK.) this book the( paintings) are Norfolk charabanc painted 2001.p2 Colchester Tram 2001 (Sherwood's Atkinson OF OLDHAM)2000 The lotus and the windmill 1999 A Night on the town painted 1994 Royal mail van 1993 Northern star 2001( Pickfords scammell 1996 ) Liverpool street taxi 2000( Meccano truck) 1996 Westminster bridge 1998( Empire flying boat 2000) Barton's coach 1996 Fowler engine threshing 2001 (Esso super pluto 2001) What seems to be the trouble 1994( Cadbury's van 2000) Br scammell scarab 1995 King George v leaving oban 1998 Panther motorcycle 1997 (BRS Mammoth major 1993) Off to the coast (Coal lorry )Country picnic Pionair leopard( BP Tanker )Moy's cart Three minis Cook's van Mauretania Ferguson tractor A tight fit Moving day EX Mayor Cars by air Steamroller( Topping up the cellar) Euston taxi Stena discovery (Summer excursion) Road meets rail Betterwear van (National srvice return )Comet Trolley buses( BATTLE of britain harvest 1993) Snowdrift rescue The village poond Moving the fair on AEC regal Watching the hovercraft (Foden steam wagon) Austin devon (Skyways York) The ford and the vauxhall (Fuel for the locomotive Royal yacht Britannia) Last day of term (LEYLAND the lorry and the clock 1996) Morris's sentinel( Fire engine) Comb's coach Atlantic rendezvous( Builing bricks) Docklands and the dome( The Trams of Blackpool.)i'm a big( FAN of malclms paintings) i will have to get one for my Railway/Model or Hornby room. but (£?.) the BUILING BRICKS the road between Colchester and Halstead a FODEN F G5/15 eight-wheeleder of 1956? of the 1950s the Viaduct was build on the (14 of sep 1847) (foden sady is no moor it ceased in 2006 (1880-2006)) got a good pic of 4000 v704dfp of leeds if you like trucks (foden) get BRITISH LORRIES IN COLOUR OR THE HETDAY OF BRITISH LORRYS off (amazon.) Coal lorry painting is a LAYLAND COMET OF 1948. NATINAL SEVICE RETURN bedford ql of 1941 disebarked from (p&o Liner SS-VIENNA.) The trams of Blackpool i have been it BLACKPOOL OVER 150 TIMES i'm a big fan of blackpool as i'm from oldham the( trams & tower of 1896 are GREAT.) EMPIRE FLYING BOAT is (of IMPERIAL AIRWAYS LONDON) FROM UK TO ALEXANDRIA(.i'm a BIG FAN OF LEYLAND TRUCKS & THE CLOCK ONE IN LAYLAND ONE IN AUSTRALIA & ONE IN S.AFRICA.) Betterwear van tom tyler wrote something unuaual going on here a further mystery! the van is a FORDSON OF 1937.( BATTLE OF BRITAIN HARVEST N-TYPE FORDSON OF 1938 FORD MODEL B TRUCK THE Battle of Britain 1940 JULY 10-OCT 14 SPITFIRE VS ME109 BEST ONE IN THIS BOOK).SUMMER EXCURSION the bus is a (BEDFORD OB.)LOOK AT CARS BY AIR (BRISTOL 170 FREIGHTER) LOADED A (TRIUMPH MAYFLOWER OF 1947) & AEC MATADOR.BP TANKER IS A COMMER TRUCK & VAUXHALL 10/4 OF 1947 BEST PIC IN THIS BOOK.TOPPING UP THE CELLAR IS A MORRIS COMMERCIAL LORRY IS OUT SID THE DOG&DUCK PUB ONE OF THE BEST.THE MAMMOTH MAJOR IN BRS OF THE 1950S IS 1 OF MY (FAVOURITE TRUCKS.) FODEN S20 AIRPORT TANKER .(DC3 DH HAVILLAND DRAGON RAPIDE.) AUSTIN K4 BEER TRUCK (DINKY BEDFORD S ).BEDFORD KV VAN (SCAMMELL SCARAB) & MOY THE HORSE & ONE DENNIS VAN A DODGE FIRE TRUCK (i have all of his BOOKS ALL THE BEST PAINTNGS IN ONE BOOK.) ANT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Nostalgia!, 27 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malcolm Root's Transport Paintings (Hardcover)
Malcolm Roots paintings bring back so many memories and recreate atmospheres long gone. Although the paintings are illustrative rather than perhaps 'high art', they are superbly detailed and evocative of days gone by. Technically accurate but pure nostalgia and full of atmosphere. Brilliant coffee table literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Malcolm Root's Transport Paintings, 16 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malcolm Root's Transport Paintings (Hardcover)
This book is packed with good quality reproductions of Malcolm Root's paintings. An absolute must for any person interested in the history of British transport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malcolm Root's Transport Paintings (Hardcover)
Had seen a friends copy and knew it would be a beatifully presented, informative and interesting present for my aunt. She was absolutely delighted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars malcolm root, 31 Mar. 2013
By 
the bench (earls colne essex uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malcolm Root's Transport Paintings (Hardcover)
these pictures realy take you back, some are of Halstead in Essex five minutes up the road from me. a lovely book of yesteryear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb book., 7 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malcolm Root's Transport Paintings (Hardcover)
Absolutely brilliant paintings as expected and the excellent text from Tom Tyler complements this excellent book perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Malcolm Root's Transport Paintings
Malcolm Root's Transport Paintings by Malcolm Root (Hardcover - Oct. 2002)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews