Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely less gassy guide to entrepreneurship
I must be one of the first buyers of this book - ordered it as soon as it appeared on amazon! I have come to admire this genuine, modest and down to earth Lord - Karan Bilimoria for what appears to be a genuine success story of an Indian, who came to Englad 26 years ago for studies and by now has won the hearts and minds of the curry loving Brits with the brand that is...
Published on 5 Jun 2007 by Niranjan Waghmare

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Advice from a business failure
Lord Bilimoria tells a good story and puts on a good public image. However his business has never made a profit in 20 years and went into a pre packed administration owing £75m. This book therefore provides advice on how to be a legal corporate crook, never own anything apart from the brand and live the high life off other people's money.

I don't think you'll...
Published on 23 Jun 2009


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Advice from a business failure, 23 Jun 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Bottled for Business: The Less Gassy Guide to Entrepreneurship (Paperback)
Lord Bilimoria tells a good story and puts on a good public image. However his business has never made a profit in 20 years and went into a pre packed administration owing £75m. This book therefore provides advice on how to be a legal corporate crook, never own anything apart from the brand and live the high life off other people's money.

I don't think you'll see this chap on the BBC as a role model ever again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely less gassy guide to entrepreneurship, 5 Jun 2007
By 
Niranjan Waghmare (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bottled for Business: The Less Gassy Guide to Entrepreneurship (Paperback)
I must be one of the first buyers of this book - ordered it as soon as it appeared on amazon! I have come to admire this genuine, modest and down to earth Lord - Karan Bilimoria for what appears to be a genuine success story of an Indian, who came to Englad 26 years ago for studies and by now has won the hearts and minds of the curry loving Brits with the brand that is COBRA!

While it is written in a business biography language, the book is less preachy than some of the other similar books.

It is a matter of time before COBRA stpes out of the Indian restaurants and becomes a regular beer in your local pub.

I highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for aspiring entrepreneurs!, 21 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Bottled for Business: The Less Gassy Guide to Entrepreneurship (Paperback)
Bottled for Business is slightly unusual in that it is part biography and part business guide. However, don't let this put you off as the format works well, with the anecdotes providing great insight into Cobra Beer, one of THE business success stories of the last few decades.

Having studied business at university I had already come across Karan Bilimoria and knew a little about how he started Cobra from scratch. However, the book obviously covers the story in greater detail, which is good news as it's a genuinely remarkable and inspiring story. Mix into this lots of great business advice - on everything from branding and marketing to raising finance - and you have a thoroughly readable and useful book.

I would highly recommend it to anyone who has aspirations of starting their own business and to anyone who is already running a business!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Probably the worst entrepreneurial book in the world, 21 Jan 2010
By 
M. S. Garrett (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bottled for Business: The Less Gassy Guide to Entrepreneurship (Paperback)
The first thing to bare in mind is that this book was published in 2007, when on 31 May 2009 the Sunday Times published an article detailing how since Cobra's inception it had never turned a profit and as such was forced into a pre-administration sale to Molson Coors leaving unsecured creditors £75 million out of pocket. That sort of undermines Karan Bilimoria's words of wisdom.

But, even supposing Cobra was as successful as this book makes out, it is an absolutely terrible book. It's written in a very condescending manner and is set out like a secondary school textbook with `tip boxes' with useless comments such as `have confidence in your idea'. The book plots some of the events in Cobra's founding but there is no real in-depth story telling, either from a personal or cooperate history perspective. Instead there is plenty of egotistical book padding that manages to slip in such irrelevant facts such as `whilst Karan was having lunch at the Oriental Club'. I wouldn't mind the ego boosting assertiveness from the likes of Warren Buffet but Bilimoria is not the business oracle he thinks he is.

I can only imagine the other reviewers that rated this book have not read many other entrepreneurial books. `Anyone Can Do It' by Sahar Hashemi is a far more thorough account of an entrepreneur's struggle to launch a business, whilst `Beer School' and `Redhook: Beer Pioneer' are much better books detailing Brewery start-ups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bottled for Business: The Less Gassy Guide to Entrepreneurship
Bottled for Business: The Less Gassy Guide to Entrepreneurship by Karan Bilimoria (Paperback - 26 Jan 2007)
£11.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews