Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars9
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2007
I've just finished reading The Game Plan and have taken a lot from it, both personally and professionally. I really like the anecdote-insight-action approach Steve Bull has taken, it adds depth and memorability to the learnings. It's pretty quick to read, and you can pick and choose your topics at random rather than having to consume in one go, so it's still an accessible read if you're snatching fifteen minutes here and there. I've been prone in the past to thinking that psychology is for addressing problems and weaknesses, but this book shows that it's entirely relevant for even the most strong willed and successful of people.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2006
I absolutely loved this book. It's about mental toughness at work but all the tips and skills are equally applicable to everyday life. Steve Bull has clearly acquired an amazing level of experience in both the sports and business worlds and this book is packed with interesting, and helpful, stories and anecdotes that bring the ideas alive. I really do recommend this to anyone who wants to take their personal or work performance to a higher level. A great read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
Having listened to Steve many years ago at a cricket coaches conference I knew what to expect and I wasn't disappointed. An easy to read book with plenty of practical advice to follow. On a personal note, it reminded me that I've not been using some of his techniques in recent years, at a time when I've probably needed them most ironically! The book breaks mental toughness down into component parts and give good advice on what each part is and how to develop it as part of your every day work and lifestyle. Nothing too fancy, as Steve admits, most of it's common sense, but as I've found recently, common sense doesn't always prevail when it's needed most - unless you become mentally tough. Well worth the read and thanks for the reminders Steve!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2009
I read a few books on sports/ management performance but this is good book with some awesome ideas and feedback. Worth a read for serious to keen sporties and business professionals
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2007
This is a very useful book which has helped me on both a personal and professional basis.

Steve's clear, concise descriptions of Mental Toughness and the elements that go towards creating a 'performance mindset' have dramatically helped both my own mindset and my coaching work.

I always felt that Mental Toughness was something you could (and should) work towards and now I have the tools to do so with the explanations and exercises within this book.

I would heartily recommend this book to all.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
This book is excellent. I have used it for sports related activities such as swimming and kettlebell training as well as other activites such as art work and finding s new job.

Most importantly, the techniques work - just start with the Turnaround Toughness section for a confidence boost, and you are away. I found it particularly helpful to keep journals for individual endevours within the "Athletes Mindset" structure and periodicaly review things using the "Stop, start Continue" technique as well as the "Process Focus" when appropriate.

The techniques may sound a bit strange if you are not familiar with sports psychology (as was I), but they are clear, simple and very powerful. The book is full of anecdotes from sports stars and Doctor Bull explains each in a clear and systematic way.

Thank you Doctor Bull - your book has improved my life and made my thinking much clearer.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2007
If as an individual, you are looking for the winning edge, a boost in self-confidence or self-belief, this is not only an essential read but also a must have reference book.

Great workable plans and ideas to reassess and strengthen your mental approach to all business situations at any level. Adapts well to enable you to re-evaluate you mental approach to life in general.

Steve Bull has obviously worked with many people who are at the top of their game in both business and sport, his expertise is obviously highly valued in achieving that winning edge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2007
Great book. Fantastic for birthday presents. Will help business people with challenging issues, parents with difficult kids and friends who need advice on managing life more effectively. This is a book for everyone that will give a significant pointer to change your life - buy it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2007
A book full of powerful and tested mental techniques that really help you raise your level of performance and ability to handle life's challenges in context. A one off read, or a tool to use when you need it; and not just at work.

If you want to improve you need to read this and integrate the concepts as a way of life.

Steve Bull's counsel will help enable you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)