Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right on the Money ...
I've read a number of books on how to start a business.

The only criticism of this book that I will accept is that it is sketchy on details, and you may have to supplement it with a more specialised book on starting a small business.

However I think this was also a strength of the book. Instead of drowning you in details, they get to the point really...
Published on 1 Jun 2006 by Emile AULD

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Anyone can do it - but not everybody has the means
There is a lot of great stuff in this book, and the lessons that can be learned are very useful and often inspiring...BUT...it's disingenous to suggest that they are ordinary people who just did an extraordinary thing.
To call the book "Anyone Can Do It" is a bit of an insult to the thousands, nay, millions of people who might be waiting for the day to launch their...
Published on 28 Jan 2004 by Kendall


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right on the Money ..., 1 Jun 2006
By 
Emile AULD (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've read a number of books on how to start a business.

The only criticism of this book that I will accept is that it is sketchy on details, and you may have to supplement it with a more specialised book on starting a small business.

However I think this was also a strength of the book. Instead of drowning you in details, they get to the point really quickly, and describe the key things that you need to do. I also kept finding myself thinking that the points they were making were right on the money.

I reject the critcism that they come from such a priviledged background, that success was assured. I think that this is missing the whole point of the book. Whatever your starting circumstances are, you can follow these steps and establish a business. It may happen quicker if you have a lot of money already, and you may not have to juggle a day job at the same time.

However if you really want to do it, you can, whatever you started with. There are plenty of examples of people who've done this from all sorts of backgrounds.

So the real issue with this book is whether the information in it is likely to help you start up your own business.

I think this book definitely achieves that.

The approach they give you is spot on. Even better than that, is how they demystify some of the steps, and encourage anybody to have a go at it. Most of it isn't rocket science. Some of the steps may require some technical assistance, but they make it clear that a lot of that assistance can be obtained for free, if you are proactive enough to go and look at what's available.

I found this book useful and inspiring, and not just as a good read. It's a genuine guide to what you need to do to start a business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes, they can ... but the Hashemis aren't "anyones", 26 Feb 2004
First things first -- there is a lot of very good advice in this book; it's engagingly written and easily absorbed.
But it is hardly fair for the Hashemis to regard themselves as just like "anyone" or even as "normal". Not everybody's father gives them 10000 to play with to teach them about investment (and writes off the loss without a qualm) and not everyone does a quick review and finds all their friends are investment bankers or top-flight lawyers (with the resulting contacts). Hardly the ordinary man or woman's experience. Taking a risk when you are young, single and aren't going to wreck your whole life by a mistake you can pick yourself up from is a different kettle of fish from when you are mortgaged, with a home and family to support. The Hashemis do inhabit a different world from the majority of their likely readers.
But that's a criticism more of the impression given by the choice of title than of the book itself. Even after aiming off for the self-confidence brought about by the silver spoon/over-achieving background, you still have a very good book with lots of good advice But as an antidote to the Pollyanna tone of the Hashemis, temper your decision by reading boo.hoo by Ernst Malmsten as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent motivator, 7 Nov 2005
By A Customer
An excellent read for anyone who is looking to start a business. It shows you that the obstacles that might put you off, are certainly conquerable. Very importantly stresses correct steps required to get your business idea off the ground. This is by no means an advanced business reference, but I found that its the best place to start and allows you to develop your thoughts. Its all from personal experiences and not a text book, so if they could do it so could you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 5 Feb 2007
By 
M. Andrews "mtbandrews" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great read, well written, and highly inspirational. Proves that sucessful business ideas can come from the simplest of conversations. Real insight into the basics of business finance, and general start up issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't like coffee before, 9 Feb 2004
By A Customer
No seriously I didn't like coffe before reading this quite superb inspirational journal of how the Hasemi's lauiched their Coffee Republic. They make coffee sound so convincing, so real, so lushious that I'm drinking lots now and I never liked it before. They fire you up with their infectious enthusiasm. Good book. Add it to your start-your-own-business collection along with Ros Jay's The White Ladder Diaries, Caspian Woods' From Acorns - ... How to Build Your Brilliant Business From Scratch and the simply brilliant The Beermat Entrepreneur: What You Really Need to Know to Turn a Good Idea into a Great Business by Mike Southon, Chris West.
Yep, these four are the best. They are helping me grow my business very successfully. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars shows the spirit of entrepreneurship well, 28 Mar 2003
This review is from: Anyone Can Do It - Building Coffee Republic From Our Kitchen Table: 57 Real-life laws on entrepreneurship (Paperback)
Ok, so there are a few times when they used very high and well placed friends to get help or make big business breakthroughs but on the whole the book is a great read and a shining example of honest, down to earth entrepreneurial spirit.
From getting the recipe for their shakes off the web, to personally sticking labels onto their polystyrene cups (in the early days) this book shows what it takes and how you have to get your hands dirty, living and breathing your business. It promotes thinking out of the box and importantly demystifies what it takes to start your own business on the whole. It shows anyone can follow their dream.
Fascinating read, worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Inspirational, 30 May 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is two books blended into one [just like coffee] - one, the human story of building coffee republic, the soul searching of Sahar and Bobby after their father's death, the journey, the obstacles and goof-ups and all; the other, more like a business book, with 57 laws, advise and sample business plans etc. From the structure, it seemed that the authors wanted to make it the latter - a business advise book. I have, however, given a 5-star to the former, the human story.

Dont read it if you are just looking for how to start a business handbook. There are those free guides from Business Link which will do better. Not only that - once you read this book, you may start feeling that you got to be incredibly lucky and well-placed [read the comments about going without an income for two years in other reviews] to become an entrepreneur. That's not the morale of this story here, at all.

But if you are looking for a real story how people build a business, you will find it right here. All in the package - starting with the motivation [Father's death and introspection in this case], the idea [Not a new microchip, but something they noticed and enjoyed in US], the development [Sahar moving around with a camera in New York, the business plan, the failures] and the actual process of business [getting a site, a loan, suppliers, employees and customers, complete with goof-ups and strokes of luck].

The best bit of the book? You will have to wait till the end. No, I am not trying to give out the plot - but I am sure you will discover why this real, humane story of entrepreneurship deserved a 5-star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great inspiration, 11 Sep 2007
This is a must read if you're thinking of starting your own business. It's far broader than just the industry it covers, and it's a real story you can follow anticipating the next step. Although you pick up a lot of useful info along the way, it doesn't aim to be a practical guide and you'll need other books for that. But then if you're setting up on your own you should be reading everything relevant you can get your hands on anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for any budding entrepreneurs, 8 May 2007
By 
D. Wearn (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read this book over 2 days and couldn't put it down, the founders of Coffee Republic truly are talented in many more ways than one.

The style of writing is very much written in a conversational way and therfore easy to take in and understand, interlaced with much advice (the laws) is the story of how the CR empire started, the only shame was that it doesn't yet provide an update as to where it is now in 2007 which can be found elsewhere but would be nice to be contained in the book.

For budding entrepreneurs the book provides a lot of advice and guidance and can act as a great motivator but should not be seen as a replacement for a more detailed text book on launching a company.

There is also one area where it could be improved was that it didn't discuss or cover much on Marketing, and I'm sure CR now spends a lot of time and effort on its marketing even if it didn't in the early days. But the whole issue of marketing is really a book in itself and so should be treated as a seperate purchase. I've read many books in this sector and Overall it is a superb read and one of the best books I have ever read in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A clear insight into the struggle of finding the right road., 19 Aug 2014
This is a very inspirational read for several reasons.

Firstly, the insight into the challenge of establishing a business capable of being grown makes this book worth every penny, and then some. After all, we're 'a nation of shopkeepers' right? So, how hard could it possibly be to start a shop? Well, very hard indeed, as this book makes clear.

Secondly, the book leads through the process of creating a business, starting right from the spark of an idea, but without getting bogged down in the tedious detail. It stays with the people involved, their thinking processes, the actions they took, the struggles they experienced and how they found a road through to success.

Thirdly, what makes this book so great is that, yes the authors each had a professional background, but neither had any inside track information on the business of setting up a shop. They had some lucky breaks, the odd useful contact, but that looks to have helped with no more than one per cent of the steps they took. That’s more than likely what would be true for absolutely any one of us, if we ventured into the unknown by starting a venture about which we actually knew nothing at the beginning. They certainly did not have ‘a privileged background’ or an inside track: they worked with what they had available to them and the rest was down to guts and determination.

Finally, yes it's hard, but the title says it all - "Anyone can do it". To coin a cliche: ‘it's not rocket science’, but it is akin to running in the Grand National. To establish a business and get it to take hold, there's a defined number of fences / barriers / hurdles to get over and, to reach the finish line, you do actually have to get over them. This book makes it clear what a lot of those hurdles are. Some of them may be simple, obvious even, but they are the hurdles that cause most people to fall over, stop short or just turn around and walk away. Those hurdles hold true for any start-up or young business.

If you really want to know what it takes to dig deep and find the determination to get over all of those hurdles, this is the book to read.

I particularly like the fact the book devotes most attention to where most of the work was – getting from zero to half a dozen shops. The book does cover the subsequent climb towards the 100 stores, and the eventual exit of the founders, but again it gives an insight into how this affected the founders and the further unexpected challenges they personally faced.

To the authors: thank you for writing this, it really is an inspiration to me at this particular time, with what I’d like to achieve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews