Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This transforms the business book market
Not only is this a fascinating read - giving a delightful insight into the world of voodoo and black magic, but it also encourages lateral thinking, independence of mind and true creativity. The way in which the dark world of voodoo is interlaced with the modern ties of corporations and big businesses is both refreshing and informative. The fact that the book gave no...
Published on 24 July 2001 by Linda McDuff-Matthews

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much voodoo not enough substance
Entertaining but a bit glib and not really that useful. If you're looking for something to read on the train and not looking to engage your brain this could be the book for you. If you're looking for something that really does tackle the key principles of business I'd suggest you try one of the many genuine contenters in this area.
Published on 30 May 2001 by ruske@hotmail.com


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much voodoo not enough substance, 30 May 2001
This review is from: Corporate Voodoo: Business Principles for Mavericks and Magicians (Paperback)
Entertaining but a bit glib and not really that useful. If you're looking for something to read on the train and not looking to engage your brain this could be the book for you. If you're looking for something that really does tackle the key principles of business I'd suggest you try one of the many genuine contenters in this area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This transforms the business book market, 24 July 2001
This review is from: Corporate Voodoo: Business Principles for Mavericks and Magicians (Paperback)
Not only is this a fascinating read - giving a delightful insight into the world of voodoo and black magic, but it also encourages lateral thinking, independence of mind and true creativity. The way in which the dark world of voodoo is interlaced with the modern ties of corporations and big businesses is both refreshing and informative. The fact that the book gave no sets of rules and no strict dictum to follow was in keeping with its theme of individual intelligence. I disagree with other reviewers on this page that the book should have been cluttered with complex management theories and lists of things to do. I urge everyone to read this, think about it and think about the life they are living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 31 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corporate Voodoo: Business Principles for Mavericks and Magicians (Paperback)
Some useful ideas. A bit long winded
I found that I was having to push myself to read it
Tough going
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Topical summary of number of ideas., 23 May 2001
By 
Mr. Michael J. Clarke (Howden, East Riding of Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corporate Voodoo: Business Principles for Mavericks and Magicians (Paperback)
Corporate Voodoo is an easy read with a number of thought provoking ideas. It is very up to date and unusually has a UK bias to the examples. I could see the influence of a number of other writers but they were all summarised very well.
The biggest criticism is that it does not develop the Corporate Voodoo strategy enough. It is in the background but it is difficult to tie it down as to what you should do. It encourages you to be a maverick or a magician, but doesn't really give clues how to go about it.
The book talks about a second book. I will be interested in what it has to say but hope it has more how to advice and less review of where we are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor and outdated, 16 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Corporate Voodoo: Business Principles for Mavericks and Magicians (Paperback)
A waste of my money. I bought this on recommendations and then found it was praising companies that are failing and criticising companies that are rebounding. Lots of silly filler - but no meat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, ... if you've got the voodoo, 17 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Corporate Voodoo: Business Principles for Mavericks and Magicians (Paperback)
very entertaining, up to date British biased book. Slightly trendy but the basics are there, and if you need help with business strategy this book is near perfect. Not for slow businesses or fans of M&S, BT etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly inspirational book - "magic" in fact, 4 July 2001
By 
This review is from: Corporate Voodoo: Business Principles for Mavericks and Magicians (Paperback)
I found this book absolutely extraordinary, inspiring - and just plain interesting. And I don't mean that the way people sometimes say things are "interesting" when they can't think of anything else to say either! No - it just hooked me in and then lead me on. I thought the structure of it was amazing and engaging and if you think about it - and act upon it - the contents just might change your life as well as your business. Can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captures the new, fast moving business dynamic, 12 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Corporate Voodoo: Business Principles for Mavericks and Magicians (Paperback)
Carayol and Firth take a radical (from the Latin radix : root) and irreverent view of modern business practise, with up to date case studies, mostly of well known UK businesses including Tesco, Vodaphone etc. and comparing with the less successful - Marks & Spencer, BT etc.
The difference is in the Corporate Voodoo of the organisations. The confidence to move quickly, be good enough not perfect, overcome the fear of change and taking risks.
Voodoo has the potential to create a new business paradigm - or could be just a new fashion - judge for youselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative & creative - a refreshing distraction!, 27 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Corporate Voodoo: Business Principles for Mavericks and Magicians (Paperback)
I find most business books take three hundred pages to state the obvious - but this one's different! Easy and fun to read, it remains incisive - and it's great to dip into thereafter. It gives a new perspective for the corporation and the individuals within it. Having been in a "Muggle" culture for years, I'm now lucky enough to work in an organisation that prides itself on adopting many of the principles of "Voodoo" - and I know which I prefer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating, readable insight into the Corporate world, 26 Feb. 2002
This review is from: Corporate Voodoo: Business Principles for Mavericks and Magicians (Paperback)
Packed with case-studies, challenging questions and words of Voodoo wisdom, 'Corporate Voodoo' is an enjoyable, informative and refreshing book on the new economy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Corporate Voodoo: Business Principles for Mavericks and Magicians
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews