Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A frighteningly realistic treatment..
I am reading this for the second time, this time much faster thanks to the useful highlighting that I had made in my first reading. Having been through a software development career in several start-ups, and looking back on the not so positive two years of IT economic depression, I find Crossing the Chasm particularly intriguing: The basic idea for a technology company to...
Published on 9 Mar 2003 by Hari Rajapakshe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book
It is a great book in some respects - particularly, the idea that many businesses fail after reaching early adopters because there is a huge chasm between selling to early adopters and mainstream. Beyond that the book is a bit boring and repetitive.
Published 10 months ago by Shantanu Kumar


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A frighteningly realistic treatment.., 9 Mar 2003
This review is from: Crossing the Chasm: Marketing and Selling Technology Products to Mainstream Customers (Capstone Trade) (Paperback)
I am reading this for the second time, this time much faster thanks to the useful highlighting that I had made in my first reading. Having been through a software development career in several start-ups, and looking back on the not so positive two years of IT economic depression, I find Crossing the Chasm particularly intriguing: The basic idea for a technology company to position its marketing and selling strategy to the right target audience, and more crucially, at the right time, and producing the right perspective.
First of all, I find some of the ideas in the book frighteningly reminiscent of my past experience, especially failures in marketing and sales strategy that our teams have undergone; Although many factors that contribute to the success or failure of an enterprise can be specific and circumstantial, Crossing the Chasm provides a thorough analysis of the generalised scenario. I also find some of the ideas in this book apply equally well to semi-autonomous groups within large organisations, as much as individual organisations.
Highly recommend to anyone who is interested in the technology entrepreneurship, and to the one who want to consolidate the past experiences in to learning instruments for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable book for Marketing Hi-Tech, 11 Dec 2001
This review is from: Crossing the Chasm: Marketing and Selling Technology Products to Mainstream Customers (Capstone Trade) (Paperback)
In fact, not only for Hi-Tech... it is also applicable for any high-change industry
Implementing innovative high-tech solutions usually involves a significant change to customers. Mainly depending on the aversion to change/risk, customers can be classified from those willing to try the newest, to those most conservative that are the latest to adopt, if ever, a new solution.
Geoffrey Moore presents his particular view on the technology-adoption lifecycle model, introducing the 'chasm' concept. Based on this model, and using vivid examples, specially from the software industry, the book provides excellent advice on the strategy to success for hi-tech products.
Basic reading for the hi-tech enterpreneur, as well as for those willing to sell new disruptive concepts.
After this one, you will have to read 'Inside the Tornado'.. If you want to save further, add William Davidow's 'Marketing High-Technology'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for salespeople at the bleeding edge of technology, 10 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Crossing the Chasm: Marketing and Selling Technology Products to Mainstream Customers (Capstone Trade) (Paperback)
This book was a revelation for me. I had failed to understand the reasons that prospects didn't appreciate the latest greatest technologies and bought from vendors of outdated systems (in my opinion) instead. Crossing the chasm explains different characteristics of people and what they buy and when they buy it and the reasons behind those compulsions. It also highlights how to break into the marketplace with new products in the most efficient way and how to structure your organisation to cope with demand. I have noticed that some big organisations demonstrate the techniques from this book in their promotional literature and web sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic must-read for anybody involved in product strategy for high technology., 24 July 2009
This review is from: Crossing the Chasm: Marketing and Selling Technology Products to Mainstream Customers (Capstone Trade) (Paperback)
This is a classic must-read for all people involved in product strategy for high-technology. Published in 1991 and updated in 1999, it introduced a very innovative way of how technology is adopted by different segments in the market. The book goes beyond theoretical models and really offers almost hands-on, very systematic approach on what the optimal steps are to market and sell your technology, and this depending on where your product is in the Technology Adoption Life Cycle.

If you haven't read it yet, don't hesitate any longer. Seriously. If you're short of time (hey - the book is only about 200 pages...) then I suggest you read the summary (free download, google it or check my blog for the link) from the nice people at Parker Hill Technology - but you will miss out on a great read by doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting insights, 14 Jun 2012
By 
Ahmet Tekelioglu (Istanbul, Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossing the Chasm: Marketing and Selling Technology Products to Mainstream Customers (Capstone Trade) (Paperback)
A valuable guide for startups and companies planning to introduce new products. It explains why a product that works for the first customer doesn't work for the others. It also explains the importance of niche markets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An ISV View of the Chasm, 12 Jun 2009
By 
G. Lowther (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crossing the Chasm: Marketing and Selling Technology Products to Mainstream Customers (Capstone Trade) (Paperback)
This book was recommended to me - and rightly so.
I have read 'Crossing the Chasm' and its successor, 'Inside the Tornado'.
As a technologist, the world of marketing seemed even less tangible than software, but this book really opened my eyes by providing an almost algorithmic approach to the phases involved in getting our product (TriSys Recruitment Software) from the 'glint of an eye' into being a market leader and best of breed with thousands of real-world paying customers.
The 'technology adoption lifecycle', 'whole-product offering', and 'D-Day' are now IT industry standard terms defined by the author in this landmark book.
I thoroughly recommend this book to anyone thinking of, or running their own technology business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Painfully familiar, 5 July 2000
By 
This review is from: Crossing the Chasm: Marketing and Selling Technology Products to Mainstream Customers (Capstone Trade) (Paperback)
This is a very enlightening book. I have worked in several companies that have had great products, but have fallen into the "chasm" the author talks about.
I'm starting my own up at the moment, and this book is my bedside read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful Revision of a High-Tech Marketing Classic, 22 July 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Crossing the Chasm: Marketing and Selling Technology Products to Mainstream Customers (Capstone Trade) (Paperback)
Crossing the Chasm deserves more than five stars for putting "a vocabulary to a market development problem that has given untold grief to any number of high-tech enterprises."
Crossing the Chasm is the most influential book about high technology in the last 10 years. When I meet with CEOs of the most successful high technology firms, this is the book that they always bring up. What most people do not realize is that Geoffrey Moore did an excellent update of the book in a revised edition in 1999. If you liked the original, you will like the revision even more. It contains many better and more up-top-date examples, and explores several new ways that companies have crossed the chasm that he had not yet observed in 1991 when the original came out (such as "piggybacking," the way that Lotus 1-2-3 built from VisiCalc's initial success).
If you plan to work or invest in any high technology companies, you owe it to yourself to read and understand this book. The understanding won't be hard, because the material is clear and well articulated.
The book's focus is on a well-known psychological trait (referred to as Social Proof in Influence by Robert Cialdini). There is a potential delay in people using new things "based on a tendency of pragmatic people to adopt new technology when they see other people like them doing the same." As a result, companies must concentrate on cracking the right initial markets in a segmented way to get lots of references and a bandwagon effect going. One market segment will often influence the next one. Crossing the Chasm is all about how to select and attack the right segments.
Many companies fail because innovators and early adopters are very interested in new technology and opportunities to create setrategic breakthroughs based on technology. As a result, these customers are not very demanding how easy it is to use the new technology. To cross the chasm, these companies must primarily appeal to the "Early Majority" of pragmatists who want the whole solution to work without having to be assembled by them and to enhance their productivity right away. If you wait too long to commercialize the product or service in this way, you will see your sales shrivel after a fast start with the innovators and early adopters.
The next group you must appeal to are the Late Majority, who want to wait until you are the new standard and these people are very price sensitive. Many U.S. high technology companies also fail to make the transitions needed to satisfy this large part of the market (usually one-third of demand). The final group is technology adverse, and simply hopes you will go away (the Laggards).
The book describes its principles in terms of D-Day. While that metaphor is apt, I wonder how well people under 35 know D-Day. In the next revision, I suggest that Desert Storm or some more recent metaphor be exchanged for this one.
The book's key weakness is that it tries to homogenize high technology markets too much. Rather than present this segmentation as immutable, it would have been a good idea to provide ways to test the form of the psychological attitudes that a given company will face.
The sections on how to do scenario thinking about potential segments to serve first are the best parts of the book. Be sure you do these steps. That's where most of the book's value will come for you. Otherwise, all you will have added is a terminology for describing how you failed to cross the chasm.
I also commend the brief sections on how finance, research, and development, and human resources executives need to change their behavior in order to help the enterprise be more successful in crossing the chasm.
After you finish reading and employing the book, I suggest that you also think about what other psychological perceptions will limit interest in and use of your new developments. You have more chasms to cross than simply the psychological orientation towards technology. You also have to deal with the tradition, misconception, disbelief, ugly duckling, bureaucracy, and communications stalls. Keep looking until you have found and dealt with them all!
May you move across the chasm so fast, that you don't even notice that it's there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 12 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossing the Chasm: Marketing and Selling Technology Products to Mainstream Customers (Capstone Trade) (Paperback)
It is a great book in some respects - particularly, the idea that many businesses fail after reaching early adopters because there is a huge chasm between selling to early adopters and mainstream. Beyond that the book is a bit boring and repetitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, though not for B2C mass market, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossing the Chasm: Marketing and Selling Technology Products to Mainstream Customers (Capstone Trade) (Paperback)
Be advised: one star rating is not a reflection of true value of the book. On the contrary, I put it here just as a red light warning sending a signal: this book is written with B2B and B2B only environment in mind. There might be some analogies but very distant and even Moore at some point admits one should be cautious with extending the reasoning behind the book onto B2C markets. So if you are intending to read the book from the practical business point of view, and professionally you are dealing with mass market environment (mass processes, high volumes, low prices, dispersed distribution etc) consider other books. Having said that, it was an interesting read, probably one of the best to introduce a reader to Technology Adoption Curve concept in a concise way. So it's far away from waste of time, it's just a pity there is no analogy for B2C market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews