Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening and courageous
Enlightening because it helped me realise why I have not been an 'easy employee'. Courageous because the book shows just how many ways in which traditional corporate cultures nurture barriers, rather than paths, to progress.
The book is easy to read - well laid out, with lots of useful case studies and advice.
I suggest reading the last chapter first - I did,...
Published on 9 Feb 2003

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some sound advice but packaged in a cringeworthy way
The book promises no less than to start a creative revolution at work. In that it sets the bar rather highly - beyond what it can actually reach. On the other hand a lot of the advice in the book represents the currently accepted wisdom on the field of creativity (there is little about innovation in there).

Of the 6 chapters - on freshness, greenhousing,...
Published on 7 April 2010 by AK


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some sound advice but packaged in a cringeworthy way, 7 April 2010
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sticky Wisdom (Paperback)
The book promises no less than to start a creative revolution at work. In that it sets the bar rather highly - beyond what it can actually reach. On the other hand a lot of the advice in the book represents the currently accepted wisdom on the field of creativity (there is little about innovation in there).

Of the 6 chapters - on freshness, greenhousing, realness, momentum, signalling and courage, I found the first one most useful (even if the book did not bring much new to the topic). The authors rightly steer away from the creative individual paradigm to creating an environment, which fosters creativity through structure and procedure.

The book basically has content material for about 20 pages - an extended op-ed piece but has been stretched to full book length. The ideas, while simple and correct, are stretched out a bit and the book works better when one flips through it rather than reading it from cover to cover. On the other hand the cases used do not offer sufficient detail to be useful - they illustrate points nicely, without providing the context necessary for the reader to form their own opinion of whether the principles are confirmed or not. The final criticism is the layout and the language - it appears contrived on occasion (heavy use of the colour red, which is suboptimal for reading); the language in particular being one of the worse offenders in the management-speak category. I would give it a fourth star if it was written in good English instead.

If this is your first book on creativity, go for it - there is nothing wrong in it and it is a quick read. If creativity is a field you have been dabbling in for a while, you will find little new here and can safely avoid it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening and courageous, 9 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sticky Wisdom (Paperback)
Enlightening because it helped me realise why I have not been an 'easy employee'. Courageous because the book shows just how many ways in which traditional corporate cultures nurture barriers, rather than paths, to progress.
The book is easy to read - well laid out, with lots of useful case studies and advice.
I suggest reading the last chapter first - I did, and couldn't wait to read the rest of the book. And, if you're feeling brave, share what you're reading with your colleagues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wsdom?, 10 April 2010
This review is from: Sticky Wisdom (Paperback)
I am not sure is wisdom is the right word for this book but there are some top notch ways you can learn how to use creativity to address all sorts of problems and you will be guaranteed to have some very different ideas as a result. They hit the nail on the head when they say that anyone can be creative, and by using some of the techniques and tools they teach in this book even the hardest cynic will come up with great creative ideas. And have fun in the process!

It does have to be said that some of the approaches they suggest are harder to grasp and even harder to put into practice but everyone will find something that works as long as they are open to the approach and prepared to have some fun, be a bit silly and leave their pride at the door!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and practical reading, 20 Oct 2008
By 
S. Gale "Stephen Gale" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sticky Wisdom (Paperback)
If you are looking for a theoretical or academic book on innovation, this is NOT the book for you. If you are looking for a practical book, full of ideas - read on!

This book is well written and provides a lot of really useful and practical insights into the innovation process in real life. The one thing that shines through is the fact that this book is written by practitioners. The 6 main threads that run through the text come from the sharp end of being in the innovation business. As such, they have a certain "common sense" feel to them and I recognise many of them from my own working experience. The section on "Courage", in particular, I found very thought provoking. The examples used throughout the book help bring the material to life and help ground the advice in the real world.

Very easy to read and compelling. I read it over a weekend. Highly recommended for anyone interested in innovation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 23 Sep 2007
This review is from: Sticky Wisdom (Paperback)
Written clearly, without patronising the reader. A book created by masters of innovation. Good techniques and tips as well as really interesting applicable cultural perspectives for an organisation wanting to move it's product development strategy forward.

This book is well worth 8 quid as it will help shape/structure your thinking on being innovative, as well as providing you with a 'toolkit' of language to encourage supportive innovative behaviours in others, who are determined to think too critically about fledgling ideas before they have had a chance to grow into potential winners.

Whatif also was 2004/5 best company to work for in the UK which in itself gives weight to the ideas in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sticky Wisdom - Aptly Titled, 22 Feb 2009
By 
A. Conroy (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sticky Wisdom (Paperback)
This book is a must for the radical free thinking would be entrepreneur or business manager who wants to be more creative. It will challenge a lot of your day to day work place attitudes and behaviour patterns. It will fly in the face of conventional business practice and beghavioural models. It will make you see life differently - and you will take a lot of the ideas out of the work situation all together. It is a book for those who dare to be different but expect that not everybody will get it. Some of your colleagues will need some convincing that these unconventional ideas will work - but they will. Just try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the end, all businesses survive on innovation..., 15 Oct 2004
This review is from: Sticky Wisdom (Paperback)
After the "popping of the e-bubble" the last few years have been a tad hard for many businesses. Huge losses, unemployment (not so much in the UK) and a renewed focus on core activities have not made for the most innovative of environments. Now in 2004/05, with profits recovering, the next two challenges for business are innovation for growth and operational effectiveness for decreasing marginal costs and customer satisfaction.
"What if" is an innovation consultancy who offer a set of steps and practical ideas of how to enhance innovation in your business. This book is the follow up to "What If" (this is an improvement in layout, but you don't need both books). The innovation stages are great and it helped me to understand at a high level where my current team are strong and weak, but I think it is the practical nature of the ideas, tools and methods that is the strength of this book.
I really like the different ideas for enabling creative thinking - random connections, opposites, physical trials, focused "hothousing"...each will help you to advance from the normal set of brainstormed ideas that your workshops probably generate at the moment - how many of them couldn't anyone in your industry think of?
What if is a consultancy as well and it is possible that I might get to work with them sometime soon - I am really looking forward to trying out with the experts some of these techniques.
Mind expanding stuff when applied to your eveyday problems - might even help you enjoy your work more - now wouldn't that be a thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Practical, 2 Sep 2011
By 
Pidza (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sticky Wisdom (Paperback)
I am halfway through and I am not disappointed. The book has practical lessons. So far I have picked up one tip that I will implement in the next two months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tools to begin a creative revolution, 21 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sticky Wisdom (Paperback)
Since I bought the book about three months ago I've read it a couple of times - certain parts several times.

The book both gives you the tools to re-create a new creative vision for your company or department and the tools to use in everyday life when needing to develop an idea here and now.

One could discuss the line between a hand book and a pure commercial for their own company, and some of the anecdotes certainly are more promotional than illustrative. But that doesn't change the fact that this is a very good place to begin if you could use some help to develop a creative revolution at work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The must have, 20 Jan 2010
This review is from: Sticky Wisdom (Paperback)
Never thought I could learn so much from one single book. Leads you creatively while enhancing an easy reading, through what make an idea become a competitive advantage. To be read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sticky Wisdom
Sticky Wisdom by Daz Rudkin (Paperback - 19 April 2002)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews