Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


165 of 170 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very helpful book with simply delicious recipes
I bought this book at the same time as buying a 3-tier steamer I found it was just what I needed to inspire me to this new way of cooking. It is very clear and helpful and has a useful introduction. The recipes are easy to use and results are quite delicious. I recommend the couscous stuffed trout and Goat's cheese-filled peppers! The food is very nutritious and there is...
Published on 30 Jan 2002 by Mrs O

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this if you want ideas for an electric steamer
I ordered this because I recently bought a Morphy Richards electric steamer, and the instruction/recipe book is worse than useless. But so is this book - although the intro MENTIONS electric steamers, all the recipes have been tested using a stainless steel stove-top steamer. So a high proportion of the recipes tell you to cook food in the base, in the boiling water - or...
Published on 29 Jun 2011 by Greta Max


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

165 of 170 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very helpful book with simply delicious recipes, 30 Jan 2002
This review is from: Steam Cooking: 100 Delicious and Healthy Food Receipes for All Steamers (Paperback)
I bought this book at the same time as buying a 3-tier steamer I found it was just what I needed to inspire me to this new way of cooking. It is very clear and helpful and has a useful introduction. The recipes are easy to use and results are quite delicious. I recommend the couscous stuffed trout and Goat's cheese-filled peppers! The food is very nutritious and there is a wide range of dishes. A must for anyone who fancies learning to use a steamer creatively. I've already bought it for 2 presents for friends! My grandmother had an old-fashioned steamer but we were never served such delicious food. I had no ideas of what was possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this if you want ideas for an electric steamer, 29 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steam Cooking: 100 Delicious and Healthy Food Receipes for All Steamers (Paperback)
I ordered this because I recently bought a Morphy Richards electric steamer, and the instruction/recipe book is worse than useless. But so is this book - although the intro MENTIONS electric steamers, all the recipes have been tested using a stainless steel stove-top steamer. So a high proportion of the recipes tell you to cook food in the base, in the boiling water - or stock, which some of the recipes call for. The one thing my instruction book DOES tell me is: never put anything other than pure water in the base - no food, no stock. So - some good ideas if you have a stove-top steamer, not so good otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For adventurous cooks, 4 Sep 2009
By 
W. Hall "Enthusiastic eater" (Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Steam Cooking: 100 Delicious and Healthy Food Receipes for All Steamers (Paperback)
This book is for people who are experienced and are prepared to experiment with diverse cuisine. If you want a book to help you decide whether to buy an electric or stainless steel steamer then this book is not for you. If you want a book to give you times for individual vegetables then this book is not for you. If you want a guide to simple quick steamer meal cooking then this book is not for you. I was disappointed with this book as an introduction to steamer cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Steam cookbook, 16 May 2010
This review is from: Steam Cooking: 100 Delicious and Healthy Food Receipes for All Steamers (Paperback)
I was looking for a book of recipes to go with a new electric steamer that I had recently bought. Unfortunately, the recipes are not all for electric steamers as the description stated - "Recipes for all steamers"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never steamed before, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steam Cooking: 100 Delicious and Healthy Food Receipes for All Steamers (Paperback)
This is a great book and have used it well since recieved - new to steaming so is a good reference book looking forward to some nice meals using this method - excellent service arrived well before the prescribed date - amazing price!! will use this seller again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars who needs saucepans, 22 Nov 2012
By 
M. MEE "boot queen" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steam Cooking: 100 Delicious and Healthy Food Receipes for All Steamers (Paperback)
I had bought a steamer after seeing someone who raved about steaming and was thrilled with it but wanted to do more than veg so the book was a great inspiratiojn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First time steamer!, 20 April 2012
By 
Mrs. P. Rogers "Instruction seeker" (Cambridgeshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steam Cooking: 100 Delicious and Healthy Food Receipes for All Steamers (Paperback)
My first attempt at steaming was a success.Easy to use with great and for me surprisingly good results! It has increased my cooking skills and confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Posh Steaming, 7 April 2008
By 
Mr. G. Williams (Cardigan, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Steam Cooking: 100 Delicious and Healthy Food Receipes for All Steamers (Paperback)
If you enjoy your Dim Sum or Cod Focaccia followed by a Fettuccine Primavera, with a Berry Clafouti to finish then you might enjoy this book. For those who want good food, cooked simply then look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction at a very low price, 11 Sep 2014
By 
M. A. Harris "Little Chiseler" (Puckeridge, Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steam Cooking: 100 Delicious and Healthy Food Receipes for All Steamers (Paperback)
Not quite the source text I am looking for, but still a useful manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learning to Steam, 29 Dec 2010
This review is from: Steam Cooking: 100 Delicious and Healthy Food Receipes for All Steamers (Paperback)
Excellent wee book that takes you from the basics to some very interesting and tasty dishes.I needed a book like this to get started after buying my first steamer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Steam Cooking: 100 Delicious and Healthy Food Receipes for All Steamers
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews