Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No disappointment!
Wonderful book with beautiful pictures. Very inspiring and interesting for everyone who is charmed by the English countryside - foreigners like myself included. It does give a good insight in (old-fashioned) countrylife. Conran states that we should not forget where we come from, nor renounce our origins and this book does prevent this. Mission accomplished.
Published on 23 Sep 2010 by Bibiche

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elegant, but weighty tome
Filled with astonishingly beautiful images of the English countryside this is a triumph of the eye over the intellect, and perhaps no bad thing for all that. However, the sheer bulk of the book makes one hope for more. The wide margins and generous spacings inevitably make the text seem thin and almost empty, which is a shame as there can be no doubt that Jasper Conran...
Published on 15 May 2010 by The deep skimmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No disappointment!, 23 Sep 2010
Wonderful book with beautiful pictures. Very inspiring and interesting for everyone who is charmed by the English countryside - foreigners like myself included. It does give a good insight in (old-fashioned) countrylife. Conran states that we should not forget where we come from, nor renounce our origins and this book does prevent this. Mission accomplished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Country, 16 July 2010
By 
Juliet (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
This beautifully photographed book is a celebration of English-ness, with Andrew Montgomery's images capturing the romance of age-old crafts and quintessentially English scenes with disarming directness: young lads at a hunt gazing directly into the lens, a potter at work in a studio as sculptural as pots, the chocolate-box gardens of country estates and thatched cottages, players in an old-fashioned travelling circus, the Stow-on-the wold horse fair, Morris dancers in all their finery... Perfectly gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elegant, but weighty tome, 15 May 2010
Filled with astonishingly beautiful images of the English countryside this is a triumph of the eye over the intellect, and perhaps no bad thing for all that. However, the sheer bulk of the book makes one hope for more. The wide margins and generous spacings inevitably make the text seem thin and almost empty, which is a shame as there can be no doubt that Jasper Conran feels strongly about his subject. There are two of his own homes illustrated here so perhaps there is also something self absorbed about the endeavour too. Nonetheless, I am glad to own it, not least for the ravishing cover image which acts as a taster for the many gorgeous photographs inside. The ponderous weight of the book is not the only thing to make ones eyes water however, the hefty £50 price tag is enough to make one faint. Five stars for the eyes, but only three overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful coffee table inspiration book, 5 Jan 2012
Bought this as a present this Christmas for a relative on a design and textiles course - for anyone who loves the 'english countryside' style of design, this book is filled with beautiful photography and inspirational images. Or indeed, anyone who loves countryside living would love to have this on their coffee table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous tome, 11 Sep 2010
The content of this book is beyond expectation. The fabulous photographs of landscape and people show how much care, imagination and feeling have come together in an extraordinary publication. I hope this book will encourage people to search out the hidden beauty of our country. I share a love of Somerset and Dorset with Jasper Conran, but this book illustrates so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just sublime, 3 Jun 2010
By 
S. Wolff (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i can't rate this book any higher. it has so many awe-inspiring images and each of them takes a good deal of time to mull over. i tip my hat to jasper conran, but more so to the photographer, andrew montgomery, for his pictures are faultless. i can tell he woke up before dawn on many occasion to capture that morning mist. there are more images than writing, which is fine by me as it is such a monstrous size. i will treasure this book for a long, long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just wonderful and amazing value, thank you. The book was in very good condition, it was simply beautiful. Again thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely pictures, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country (compact format) (Hardcover)
A very nice, high quality book with lots of stunning photography. Some of the writing is a bit pretentious, and I don't particularly agree withe author on some points (such as the pages on hunting), but overall this is a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful photography book really..., 12 Jun 2013
By 
andysnap (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Country (compact format) (Hardcover)
The author in the book's title may be a renowned designer, but this is really a superb photography book by Andrew Montgomery. Superbly printed too, this is a wonderful book of the very best photography. Highly recommended and really quite inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a Xmas present for my designer son. Absolute gem of a book that has been carefully and thoughtfully put together in true Conran style!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Country (compact format)
Country (compact format) by Jasper Conran (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2012)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews