Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good little read
This is not a huge glossy coffee-table tome but a lovely size that fits neatly in your hands as you sit back and dive into its pages. The matt dust jacket and pages, while not to everyone's taste, makes a welcome change from all those super glossy books that are all style and no substance...for me this book has both.

When I opened it I had in my mind a list of...
Published on 9 May 2011 by S. Donaldson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing presentation
For a book associated with fashion it might have been reasonable to have expected a glossier presentation
But interesting - particularly the latter part of the book which covers a familiar period in our lives
Published 11 months ago by MISS L M ABBESS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good little read, 9 May 2011
By 
S. Donaldson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fifty Dresses that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty (Hardcover)
This is not a huge glossy coffee-table tome but a lovely size that fits neatly in your hands as you sit back and dive into its pages. The matt dust jacket and pages, while not to everyone's taste, makes a welcome change from all those super glossy books that are all style and no substance...for me this book has both.

When I opened it I had in my mind a list of dresses that just HAD to be in there if the book was to be of any real authority, and I'm pleased to say they were all in there. The dresses start with the 1915 pleated dresses by Fortuny, through the New Look of Dior in 1947, the mini dress of '65, the paper dress of `68 to "that" Versace dress modelled by Liz Hurley in 1994 ending with Hussein Chalayan's LED dress in 2007.

With each dress is a page of background, giving you information on the dress and its designer. The detail isn't overwhelming, there could be more, but this is for general readership and not necessarily for design or fashion students, although I think they would also benefit from this book.

There are no dresses missing that I thought should be there, although there are a couple that I personally thought were not really worthy of mention as changing the world. And as this foray into fashion finishes in 2007 there are some obvious omissions that could perhaps be added in future editions - I'm sure Lady Gaga will appear at some point.

Overall I'd say that this is a good book for those interested in seeing how fashion has progressed, and is informative for those wanting to know a little about the designs and their designers. It may even inspire some readers to look for further information and look more closely at fashion and how it changes the world .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Ms. Sophie M. Horton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fifty Dresses that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty (Hardcover)
Tried to find this book in several book shops but no one stocked it so I couldn't see what it looked like inside before I bought it as a gift for my mother. Not quite as I expected, thought it may be a little bigger/glossier, but the price was great, and my ma loved it (I hope!). Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect fit!, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Dresses that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty (Hardcover)
This books is interesting and gives an interesting insight to the fashion among the modern years without any tiring amount of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fifty dresses that changed the world review, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Dresses that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty (Hardcover)
Lovely book, nice addition to my fashion bookshelf
Nice quality pictures interesting assortment of dressed and good amount of text
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Dresses that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty (Hardcover)
My daughter loved this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing presentation, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Dresses that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty (Hardcover)
For a book associated with fashion it might have been reasonable to have expected a glossier presentation
But interesting - particularly the latter part of the book which covers a familiar period in our lives
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Designer Dress book, 1 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Dresses that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty (Hardcover)
My daughter was very pleased with this book! I bought it for Christmas and was pleased with it myself - very good value and very good presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars recommend people who are studying fashion, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Dresses that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty (Hardcover)
really interesting book and good for fashion course, worth the money and it help me with my fashion course and would recommend to those who are studying fashion and great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Happy, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Dresses that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty (Hardcover)
Very happy book arrived on time when said needed for daughters school work so happy with service thank very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Gift for a Friend, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Laura Grieve (Aberdeenshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Dresses that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty (Hardcover)
Bought this as part of a gift for a friend it's a lovely book and the dresses could all still be worn today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fifty Dresses that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty
Fifty Dresses that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty by The Design Museum (Hardcover - 5 Oct 2009)
£10.39
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews