Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Car Design
Any listing of fifty cars will always raise some controversy as to which vehicles should be included. Therefore it is important to remember that this book is about classic and inspirational designs, and overall the editors have done a pretty good job.

I actually tried to guess what would be included before the book arrived and only managed to pick some of the...
Published on 23 April 2011 by A. Grant

versus
15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Including the Austin Allegro and the Trabant
This book is a waste of money if you are buying it, a waste of time if you are reading it and a waste of space on your shelf if you own it.

Consider the title and then consider the Tracta, the Dymaxion, the TatraT87, the Piaggio Ape, the Buick LeSabre concept car, the Bertone BAT, the Trabant, the Bertone Carabo show car, the 1978 Lancia Megagamma and the...
Published on 29 Dec 2009 by W. N. Ramsbottom


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Car Design, 23 April 2011
By 
A. Grant (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fifty Cars that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty (Hardcover)
Any listing of fifty cars will always raise some controversy as to which vehicles should be included. Therefore it is important to remember that this book is about classic and inspirational designs, and overall the editors have done a pretty good job.

I actually tried to guess what would be included before the book arrived and only managed to pick some of the more obvious, iconic vehicles that are in the list. This really is one of the joys of this little book, because as you consider some of the cars contained within, the realisation dawns that classic automobile design is not all about sports and prestige models, although there are some, but also includes everyday transportation like the Volkswagen Golf.

Every vehicle is nicely pictured and accompanied by an interesting and informative write up. Overall this is a very well presented book and a good read for any car enthusiast, but be prepared for the fall out over what is, or is not included, great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fresh views on cars, 20 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Cars that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty (Hardcover)
This is a type of book which often caught my attention as a young boy, and surprisingly it even has the same layout as the books I remember from the 60's - not too big & flashy, with a sparsely coloured yet attractive cover. Perhaps not what you would expect today from a coffee table book but I think it is charming.
The contents is equally refreshing, with a slightly different perspective. The focus is on design solutions - not so much on contest performance and the well known racing car icons - but rather on ideas which have brought new thinking into car design, both with respect to function and to form.
The choice of automotive milestones can always be debated but I found the selection of cars in this book to quite well made and very interesting. The text is short but very informative and to the point.
I have learned much from this book and I like it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for a present, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Cars that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty (Hardcover)
Got this for my brother in law for Christmas as he is car mad. I am sure he will love it when we give it to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Including the Austin Allegro and the Trabant, 29 Dec 2009
By 
W. N. Ramsbottom (Seahouses, Northumberland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fifty Cars that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty (Hardcover)
This book is a waste of money if you are buying it, a waste of time if you are reading it and a waste of space on your shelf if you own it.

Consider the title and then consider the Tracta, the Dymaxion, the TatraT87, the Piaggio Ape, the Buick LeSabre concept car, the Bertone BAT, the Trabant, the Bertone Carabo show car, the 1978 Lancia Megagamma and the Austin Allegro. Just think how the world has changed because of the impact of these vehicles!

Of the rest, I would only include the Model T Ford, the Austin Seven, the original VW, two Citroens- the Traction Avant and the DS -, the 1957 Lotus Elite,the Mini, the Saab 96,the NSU Ro80 and the Land Rover. The remainder are not really notable for anything approaching world changing status.

Each entry in the book takes up a double page comprising a photo and some 300 words of text.

Very artistic, but poor value. Fifty Cars That Changed the World
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fifty Cars that changed the world, 2 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Cars that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty (Hardcover)
Bought this for my 13yr old son for Christmas. He loves it - very enjoyable and very interesting. It arrived in plenty of time and was very popular with everyone on Christmas Day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars slightly disappointing, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Cars that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty (Hardcover)
Book had the content I had expected but was smaller and less attractive in its presentation than I had hoped for as a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well received gift, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Cars that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty (Hardcover)
This was a Christmas gift for someone who loves cars. He says he loves dipping in and out of it, with a job and 2 small children, this is an ideal gift for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have enjoyed very much this book. All the key cars in history you will find here to enjoy. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a gift for my father, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Cars that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty (Hardcover)
bought this as a gift for my father who is a car enthusiast.good quality and affordable.ideal as a gift .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for a present, 14 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Cars that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty (Hardcover)
I bought this as a present - not yet given - and I think it will be very well received. It covers all the cars I used to love in the sixties, and some from before, with good illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fifty Cars that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty
Fifty Cars that Changed the World: Design Museum Fifty by The Design Museum (Hardcover - 5 Oct 2009)
11.43
Usually dispatched within 3 to 5 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews