Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good "Japanese" Cookbook
This book contains many tasty recipes, which have become favourites in my house, but occupies an awkward space between the Japanese and "Asian" cookbooks on my shelf. Harumi's recipes here are by and large an adaptation of traditional Japanese food, written with a Western audience in mind- most of the recipes lack a japanese name, and few "exotic" ingredients are used...
Published on 31 Jan 2012 by Andrew J. Tindall

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice recipes but not many of them
Having been to Japan and been on a Japanese cooking class I wanted some more ideas of Japanese meals to make. There are a few recipes I have really enjoyed but there does not seem to be much variety and I wanted more ideas for meals, rather than dishes.
I am still not sure how to put them together for a meal, and despite frequent mentions that Japanese cooking has a...
Published on 26 Nov 2012 by Miss Pixie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 8 May 2012
This review is from: Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends (Hardcover)
I got this book as a gift. I absolutely love cooking, especially Asian food, but didn't know a huge amount about japanese food. This book is brilliant, it has a list of ingredients that are good to keep in the kitchen for japanese cooking. I've already tried a few of the recipes and they are very easy to follow and use ingredients that can be found in the UK (you'll have to go to an Asian supermarket for some of them). The recipes taste amazing, I'm looking forward to cooking more of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends (Hardcover)
I have really enjoyed looking through the book and trying some of the recipes, they have worked very well. You can find most of the ingredients to hand looking on line or at a good Chinese shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for beginners, 21 Mar 2011
This review is from: Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends (Hardcover)
This book has some delicious recipes! I heard that this was the easiest, most simple book by Harumi. I will probably try the other ones out soon. My mother-in-law "stole" this book from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great - for the beginner, 1 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. A. White (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends (Hardcover)
This is for beginners - such as me who want to try Japanese cooking. It very obviously 'westernises' the recipes so you can use English equivalents. If you want something more authentic then this book probably is too simplified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends (Hardcover)
I believe the author is the japanese equivalent of Delia Smith.

Beautifully presented, delicious food. Very easy to make. You do need to make an initial purchase of japanese condiments incl sake, mirin, soy etc but you can use them for so many purposes that it's fine. I found everything in uk supermarkets so it's easy to do. I highly recommend this book. It's a great starting point into japanese cooking, and it will have many favourites in it. I have found it useful in deciding what to do with leftovers too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great cookery book, 28 Nov 2011
This review is from: Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends (Hardcover)
I was surprised how good the recipes were. Sometimes they looked complicated but once you've done the sauces and chopping everything cooks very quickly and easily. So far we have done a selection of six or eight various dishes and they all worked out very well.

It is very interesting how Harumi not only tells yo how to cook food but also instructs on little cooking tricks (like excellent rice, that we used on a regular rice, not japanese, and the outcome was wonderful) or the order of adding ingredients or how to "mince" leeks easily and quickly.

If you are concerned you will not find the ingredients where you live - they can be ordered online from the Japan Centre and other places. True, delivery charges make it more expensive and they are not cheap to start up with, but the outcome is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Western version of Japanese, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends (Hardcover)
It just does not sound Japanese but I would not be able to tell you why apart from the feeling that it tends to cater to the western palate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Quality Book, 20 Aug 2010
This review is from: Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends (Hardcover)
This book is absolutely gorgeous quality. The paper is nice and thick and there are lots of lovely pictures. Was surprised at how high quality it is for the price.
Have yet to cook any of the recipes! Just wanted to say that the quality of the book is much better than I had expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book! But condition was not NEW as described., 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends (Hardcover)
Not fussed enuff to send it back. But a note to Amazon, 2 corners of the book was knocked up so thats a bummer since Amazon stated the book as new. Otherwise the condition is ok. Bought the book for the recipes and it is really good. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to eat healthy and into Japanese food. Recipes are easy, even my husband said he dare try to cook something up for me using it. Comprehensive, no fuss easy cooking for a good satisfying Japanese meal...? THIS IS IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends
Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends by Harumi Kurihara (Hardcover - 7 Sep 2009)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews