Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good "Japanese" Cookbook
This book contains many tasty recipes, which have become favourites in my house, but occupies an awkward space between the Japanese and "Asian" cookbooks on my shelf. Harumi's recipes here are by and large an adaptation of traditional Japanese food, written with a Western audience in mind- most of the recipes lack a japanese name, and few "exotic" ingredients are used...
Published on 31 Jan 2012 by Andrew J. Tindall

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice recipes but not many of them
Having been to Japan and been on a Japanese cooking class I wanted some more ideas of Japanese meals to make. There are a few recipes I have really enjoyed but there does not seem to be much variety and I wanted more ideas for meals, rather than dishes.
I am still not sure how to put them together for a meal, and despite frequent mentions that Japanese cooking has a...
Published 21 months ago by Miss Pixie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends (Hardcover)
The recipes are great!
Easy instructions plus great info on where to buy the ingredients etc.
best buy.
would recommend if you wanna try making proper Japanese food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 7 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends (Hardcover)
I love this book. Wonderful food that looks great and is really simple to prepare once you have you essential store cupboard ingredients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and practical book, 4 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends (Hardcover)
This book contains less known and much more practical recipes for YOU - if you want to cook
Japanese dishes, as they are eaten in Japan. Lets ignore sushi and sashimi, or ramen (which is anyway Chinese)

I have some more books by Ms Kurihara and they describe well how to cook good Japanese home dishes.
Strongly recommended.

However, if you want to cook, prepare for a substantial initial investment in the ingredients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strongly recommended, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends (Hardcover)
An excellent book for a beginner in Japanese cooking. My daughter who lived in Japan uses it and recommended it to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Japanese food, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends (Hardcover)
For family and friends. This was on my Japanese sis-in-law's wish list so she was thrilled to receive just what she wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Tasty!, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends (Hardcover)
Good, quick meals with a nice variety and all ingredients available in UK. Good for those on a diet too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Japanese recipe book, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Miss L. G. CAMPBELL (Southampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends (Hardcover)
A really good Japanese cookery book, with recipes that are easy to cook and delicious to eat. A nicely presented book as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyday Harumi, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends (Hardcover)
I love this book! We have cooked several of the recipes from this wonderful Japanese tome and Harumi never fails to disappoint. Would recommend this book to anyone who likes Japanese food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good feedback, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends (Hardcover)
I love Japanese food but don't really cook it regularly. Bought this as a gift for a friend who recently moved to Japan for work. She has used it and loves it. According to her, the instructions are easy to follow and the pictures are beautiful which is always motivating when attempting to cook a new cuisine. Definitely a recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice and simple, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends (Hardcover)
Really like this book. Have cooked a few things from it and so far so good. It has a nice feel to it. Good intro to Japanese cookery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends
Everyday Harumi: Simple Japanese food for family and friends by Harumi Kurihara (Hardcover - 7 Sep 2009)
17.40
Usually dispatched within 9 to 10 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews